We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool”

Battleship USS ALABAMA
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
USS Alabama Battleship Memorial Park Admission Ticket
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Gulf Coast Ducks Triple-Splash Duck Boat Tour
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At Mobile’s Battleship Memorial Park, you don’t have to look very far to find heroes. From the Battleship USS ALABAMA to the Submarine USS DRUM and over 25 aircraft, the spirit of military pride is alive and well.Aboard the battleship you will be able to explore 12 decks. Among those, you can climb inside gun turrets, get locked in the Brig, man a 12mm gun and much more.Also at the park, you will be able to go below and explore inside the oldest Submarine on display, Submarine USS DRUM. In the Medal of Honor Aircraft Pavilion as well as in the park, you will be able to view many rare and historic aircraft. A few in our collection include: A-12 Blackbird Spy Plane, OS2U Kingfisher, F-86L Sabre Jet, B-52 Bomber, just to name a few. While in the pavilion, don’t forget to take a ride on the Flight Simulator and experience flight without ever leaving the ground. It’s an unforgettable experience for the entire family. All tours are self guided. Allow approx. 2.5 hours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a national treasure and should be enjoyed by everyone. Please take your kids to learn about our great history

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,101
    607
    84
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for history buffs”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved how much of the ship was open to view. There are three self-guided tours that take you across nearly every deck, up to the bridge. We visited on a warm day in January which was nice as there wasn't a crowd to compete with. Don't forget about the sub tour on site too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tempesttwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Military Discount only for Active Duty”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Being from San Antonio, a big military town.. Here a military ID gets you a military discount - PERIOD. This place, only ACTIVE Duty and Retired Active Duty. So the ladies and gentlemen of the armed forces reserve who also put their lives on the line to defend this great country don't quality for a discount. When i approached the Executive Director about it he was rude about it. Sad, for a place making money by displaying MILITARY memorabilita to "dis" such an important part of our military family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Esmeralda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stopped by here when we had some downtime during a quick trip to Alabama for a wedding. We didn't follow the tours, just wandered around on our own. It was fun! Lots of history and great displays. You definitely need to be pretty mobile to get around - lots of stepping over raised doorways and stairs, but it wasn't exhausting or anything. I would recommend anyone in the area check it out once, it is a great display of our country's history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyMcG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and daughter enjoy visiting the battleship and they go often. A great place for tourists visiting our area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappycamperAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battleship USS ALABAMA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing