We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not NOLA's Royal Street, but they're trying”
Review of Dauphin Street

Dauphin Street
Ranked #7 of 70 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
201 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not NOLA's Royal Street, but they're trying”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Someone once said Mobile is the "city of perpetual potential." Favored with so many great features -- mild climate, spectacular Mobile Bay at the mouth of the magnificent Tensaw watershed, a 250-year-old history, gorgeous historical districts -- it seems to be determined to shoot itself in the foot. Like so many cities, it cut out its heart in the 60s-70s by tearing down its oldest neigborhoods to build freeways, cut itself off from its waterfront, allowed ghastly strip development to suck all the commercial vitality of the city core, squandered money on spectacular boondoggles, and finished it off with white flight that has reduced the tax base and created racial tensions. Nonetheless, there is hope. As more and more people get sick of the sprawl along Airport and remember the days of leafy parks and small shops downtown, restaurants and bars are reopening all along this once lovely street. Slowly but surely, long-abandoned buildings are being renovated and turned into classy offices, residences and retail stores. And the lovely parks are still there. With an influx of European sensibilities accompanying the much-anticipated arrival of AirBus, perhaps that potential will finally be realized with the implementation of the ambitious but exciting downtown redevelopment plan that was drawn up some years ago. We can always hope.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    142
    76
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mini Bourbon Street, Birthplace of Mardi Gras”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The day time scene is good many great restaurants, Downtown is beautiful in the spring. Night life is great, bars for any preference many have good bands, not just local, on the weekends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots to see”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A walk down Government Street and Dauphin Street are highly recommended. In the evening the view from the Sky View Lounge on the top floor of the Holiday Inn Downtown is spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the live musicians by the popcorn shop”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

So many iconic restaurants here, only so much room in the stomach. Never disappointed with food or drink. The people were very friendly. Especially enjoyed the math professors from Southern Alabama University who were playing for us on Sunday at about noon. After the parade the night before, it was another flavor of Mardi Gras. Wonderful historic district!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHoosierWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nights sleep”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Quality Inn after being told that the original hotel we'd intended to stay at had no available rooms. We were very tired from traveling for 11 hours and I wanted a nice hot shower and a good nights sleep. The room had a jacuzzi tub and I thought this was going to be great. To my dismay the jets didn't work and the shower was so tiny I couldn't even bend down to wash my feet. The bed was a king size and the pillows looked as if they belong in a baby's crib. The one good thing I can say, at least I didn't have to sleep in my car and the black woman at the front desk was pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing