We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see”
Review of Dauphin Street

Dauphin Street
Ranked #7 of 73 things to do in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots to see”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A walk down Government Street and Dauphin Street are highly recommended. In the evening the view from the Sky View Lounge on the top floor of the Holiday Inn Downtown is spectacular.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    150
    82
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the live musicians by the popcorn shop”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

So many iconic restaurants here, only so much room in the stomach. Never disappointed with food or drink. The people were very friendly. Especially enjoyed the math professors from Southern Alabama University who were playing for us on Sunday at about noon. After the parade the night before, it was another flavor of Mardi Gras. Wonderful historic district!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHoosierWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nights sleep”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Quality Inn after being told that the original hotel we'd intended to stay at had no available rooms. We were very tired from traveling for 11 hours and I wanted a nice hot shower and a good nights sleep. The room had a jacuzzi tub and I thought this was going to be great. To my dismay the jets didn't work and the shower was so tiny I couldn't even bend down to wash my feet. The bed was a king size and the pillows looked as if they belong in a baby's crib. The one good thing I can say, at least I didn't have to sleep in my car and the black woman at the front desk was pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Meandering through history and Southern vistas”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The great part about walking down Dauphin Street is the feeling of walking through history...in the early 1800's. The building have been kept in a restored condition, the magnolia trees are sending their perfume wafting through the air, and there is an overall feeling of Southern comfort all around. I love walking on this street!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Go, if you want to save it”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I agree with the person who wrote "very sad." It is sad. Every time I visit, more and more shops and restaurants have closed. Then some open, but then they close -- some within a year. There are, however, some good food and drink establishments (particularly the LoDa Biergarten), so we need to patronize them -- before they're gone, too. There's still some nice architecture and lovely old oak trees. Also, there's "art walk" which is (I believe) the first Friday night of every month (possibly the second). The local art galleries stay open late and usually serve drinks and snacks while you look at the arts and crafts. It's a fun evening. But basically, we have to support Dauphin Street, rather than just lament it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SROVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing