We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room price is worth it”
Review of City Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Park Hotel
Ranked #132 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

- Low price if book from booking.com.
- Toilet clean and big
- Tv channel not clear
- Breakfast not much choice but still not bad (Nasi lemak, bihun & mee goreng, bubur & roti bakar, cordial, tea & coffee)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juwa2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We booked into this hotel as a last minute stopover in Melaka.

Driving to the area, we didn't really have a good opinion as it was rather dark (we arrived at about 7.30pm) and secluded.

Looking at the exterior of the hotel, we felt a bit better.

We checked in (got the 'promo' rate of RM112/night inclusive of breakfast), no lift, we walked one floor up.

Open the door and... well what were we expecting?

It wasn't very clean, the carpets looked horribly dusty, and there was hair everywhere.. :/

The door handle to the wardrobe was broken. TV old. Bathroom, old and stained shower curtains, towel rails rusty. Aircond seemed to need repair as it was put at 16degC and it wasn't even cold... it just didn't give us a very good feeling, and not to mention, not a very 'clean' feeling at all.. the room felt like it had not been cleaned in a long while...

That said, we enjoyed the breakfast and to be honest, the breakfast served was good for a budget hotel! The nasi lemak sambal was absolutely delicious! It was a 'pacifier' after our experience in the room!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Book at agoda with a deal of 30sgd per room. Wifi is only avaiable on the lobby and certain rooms on the first floor.

Room wise, there are 3 channels on the tv, and poor noise proof wall. i can hear the kids talking in the next room.
In the morning, we had choices of fried rice, fried noodles, fried vermicelli, bread and cereals, just your average meal, nothing fanciful. But plenty of eatery within 30mins walking distance.

The bed is directly under the air con, so i had a perfect view of the back of the air con, which is a dust ball haven.

Location wise, there are almost no shops around, except for a veg restarant opposite the hotel. so at night, its pretty isolated.
However, its near a theme park, its like 5mins walk away from the hotel, and directly opposite the theme park.
There are coffee places with free wifi and live band/singers just opposite the theme park. For coffee lovers, the haitian coffee shop is a must try, they open till 2am.

Last but not least, most taxi do not want to pick up at the hotel. The receptionist tried like 3 companies, but we got rejected, might be dued to Hari Raya too.

Room Tip: first floor, for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johntjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

it was a random trip to Malacca, we got to town about nearly 10.30pm. Got the last 2 rooms in the hotel at a relatively cheap price, about RM 112 per room for the peak period (Sat night during the school holidays). This was inclusive of breakfast for 2.

For a budget hotel, it was definitely serves its purpose (basic toiletries & towels, *slumberland bed!*, breakfast and definitely aircon during this hot season). About 5minutes drive to the Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade, Taming Sari Viewing Tower, the museums, forts (if you know the short cut from Dataran Pahlawan).

Breakfast (if you do not have the coupon) will be at RM7 per pax. They serves nasi lemak with delicious anchovies sambal, 3 different kinds of fried noodles, toasted bread with butter & jams, cereal & milk, orange juice and the norm of tea and coffee. For a budget hotel which serves breakfast, it was GOOD!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed there for 2 nights, but regretted from our 1st step into the room!
Room - Carpet seems dirty, how dirty I have no idea, because it is printed with strips colours, worn-out colours . Curtain was stained with black patches. Bed was not comfortable at all.
Toilet was worst! Shower curtain was dirty, black stains all over at the bottom areas. Towel rack which was suppose to be in chrome or metal has turn rusty! And the clean towels are there! Yucks! Toilet door was in black colour, but it seems to be patched many times, till the wooden door looks…horrible! Toilet floor was not clean, with many dirty stains around the corners.
There’s 2 single seat sofa, both in black colour, but its also covered with dust around the edges.
Location – It might be walking distance to the shopping areas, but my advise for those late-shoppers, do not stay out till late night, because its almost total darkness while walking along the alley back to hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Authmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I've stayed with my 2 kids on early Dec 2010, and strongly recommend this hotel for those who're looking for a budget place to stay. With breakfast provided, quite place, and a walking distance to the hot spot in Malacca, Im not regretting for choosing City Park as the place to stay during my recent holiday with my kids.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandanjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

a good hotel to stay especially for single traveller or for the business trip.
quiet
easy parking
good service and friendly reception
happening at night
recommended

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hafizarazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#61 of 168 in Melaka
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#9 of 168 in Melaka
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Hotel

Address: No. 1 Jalan Melaka Raya 26 | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $24 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your City Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing