We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only the sauce.”
Review of Capitol Satay

Capitol Satay
Ranked #58 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“only the sauce.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

it was a small shop with a lot of customers waiting for places. we have to wait for one and a half hours to taste this infamous satay celup in malaysia. the price is quite cheap, one satay is 90cents. the taste is not delicious yet its not bad either. the only thing that make it special is the sauce. the ingredients of the satay is usual ingredient. the place is kind of dirty, and packed with lot of people walking here and there taking the satay and load up their tray from the satay fridge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irenewisarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    110
    103
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth queuing for”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had to queue even tho we got there around 10! Didn't have to wait long and the experience of eating here was worth the wait. The satay fondue awaits u in the middle of the table while you go and pick what u want to satay from the self serve fridge. Lots of choice in the fridge, not all of it recognisable, but for 30c a stick tis worth giving everything a try!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long to wait~”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

It's open at 5pm and we been there 5.45pm...it a line queue outside the shop...after waiting for an hour, finally our turn to try satay celup...what I can say it's just special on the satay sauce but the chosen ingredients are not variety...I think I will not visit there for second time...

Helpful?
Thank Peisun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting but wouldn't wait for it!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Was fortunate to get there near opening before 6pm and no line. You load up your tray with chicken, pork, shrimp and veges and then cook it hot pot style in a peanut satay broth. The staff were helpful and nice. It was interesting and ok but wouldn't say it was delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coolbreezetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Long Q .. Not Means Good Foods!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having read good review about this restaurant, and decided to try their satay celup.
The queue is terrible long.

The choice of food is good enough but not the best.
The food is so so only but I suppose it is the sauce that make it special.
The sauce looks like the traditional satay sauce but with a heavy herbal scent.
You will either like it or despised it. But it not to my liking.

If original steamboat would be much better.

Overall, no harm to experience for anyone who has never tried it before.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Satay also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Capitol Satay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing