We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special food”
Review of Capitol Satay

Capitol Satay
Ranked #62 of 669 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Special food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Like the gravy. The special taste of the spices they added in the gravy, its just different from what we ate for the groundnut satay gravy. Variety of satay to choose from. But is just take too long to wait for the seats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank shinjoe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    104
    100
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so-so, not much variety”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

i had personally wait for 4 hours on 10/08/2013 (Sat) just for the Capitol Satay celup.when reach our turn, i actually quite disappointed with the choice we had. Honestly, the satay source is salty and the choice is not much. The shop owner should improve the choice . . we had spent RM68 for 2 adult. Every stick is RM0.90 but the big prawn price much expensive.Overall the food still not bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank f_hslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unusual experience and tasty too”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to this restaurant because everyday we saw a cue outside and went to see what all the fuss is about. We weren't disappointed. You sit around a table and they ladle the satay sauce into a heated bowl. You then go and get uncooked meats/fish and veg and cook it in boiling satay/. Very good value for the money and a nice dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarijmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There's a lot of queuing with this shop. Shops operate at 5pm and soon there will be a queue waiting outside (5.10pm for me). The satay sauce is nice, and the price is quite reasonable. It won't be a filling meal, so visitor can still visit the shop after a meal. price is 0.90RM per stick, plate are different price

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank i-link06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Long Wait”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Expect for a 60 to 90 minutes wait before getting a table in the 1-shop restaurant. Location is quite central, but parking is a bit hard to locate closeby, so be prepared to take a walk if you're driving. Each stick costs 90 cents ($0.30), which is reasonable, but the portions are quite small. On average for 2 persons with drinks, expect to pay around RM20 ($6.50).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mseera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Satay also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Capitol Satay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing