We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly service, great price”

Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 701 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, friendly service, great price”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend is a vegetarian and we found some excellent options. The Spinach with Your Choice was amazing. If you order a Lassi then go for the Big size.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Damien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    423
    110
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Genuine”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were three couples who wanted to sample non-hotel food, so we asked the hotel for a good restaurant. The Pak Putra Tandoori was suggested, and we were given directions, because it was a short walk from the hotel. On arrival half of the car park was taken up with tables, because inside the restaurant it was packed. The restaurant is ‘dry’, but the food was just great. In an earlier life I visited Pakistan and India and loved the local food – the Pak Putra Tandoori brought memories flooding back. They cook for the local sub-continent community, not the western palate and we all loved the food. Only heavy rain stopped us walking the short distance to try them again the following night, alas it was our last night in Melaka.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Food in Melaka for Price”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I visit here for work, you would never expect this restaurant to have as good as food as it does. The seating is in the parking lot and it is usually very crowded. I suggest the butter chicken and garlic double cheese naan. My colleagues enjoy the tandori chicken. Honestly you can't go wrong.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tried but did not seem to match my expectation”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Drove over to the restaurant to eat but ended up eating our dinner at the nearby Restoran Laksamana Hakka Zhan instead on Mar 16 (Sun). Our initial impression from a quick drive by and glancing at the restaurant indicated relatively average ambience. Be aware that there is no air condition in the restaurant and it can be a bit crowded plus smoky from the BBQ-ing of tandoori chicken & naan.

With such great reviews here, we thought we should indeed try some of their dishes. So, we did a take away of the tandoori chicken and a plain naan. However, we changed our mind and decided to eat in the restaurant even though they had already prepared the take-away. A bite of the tandoori chicken and the naan clearly showed a wide discrepancy between what we expect and what we actually tasted.

The aromatic taste of the typical tandoori chicken and naan is somehow missing! We could not agree with majority of the good reviews done here! The quality is far from the type of tandoori and naan that we used to eat back in Singapore (such as Muthu Curry, etc) but I do agree that the price there can be relatively inexpensive... Don't think I will be back anytime soon ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious, nice staff, cheap”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I went here on a busy Friday evening, but waiters were very attentive and smiling and everybody got served immediately. The food was very delicious - I tried butter chicken and two types of naan bread and loved all of them. Mineral water was served ice-cold in a bottle - first time in Melaka I had water served cold! Prices are very very cheap and everything is just perfect if you just manage to find the place..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Pak Putra Tandoori & Naan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing