We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value budget accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number Twenty Guest House
Ranked #109 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of a long honeymoon trip in south east asia. The guesthouse, although really a hostel, is clean and comfortable but basic. Shared bathrooms are fine but on our floor they were located between our room and the breakfast area which was a little weird. The room itself was very comfortable but with wooden floors throughout anyone moving around could be heard.

Breakfast is very basic is nothing more than cereal and toast. Kept us going until lunch.

Number Twenty has excellent location right in the centre of Melaka which makes it idea for a quick stop over. All in all and good option I would recommend. Pity about the non too friendly guy on reception.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonniepalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Number Twenty Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 36 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

After reading these reviews I realise that it wasn't just us, but the night shift host was rude to everyone. Like a Gay Malaysian Basil Fawlty. Three things he did to annoy us. When I couldn't get the hot water working in the shower he was rude and pissed off about having to help. Secondly, when we asked him if he could book a taxi for us to go to the bus station for the following morning, he refused and told us to walk down the street with our luggage. And finally, when someone looks you in the eye and says "good morning", you may not think it is, but just fake it, honey! It is polite to acknowledge them. Otherwise people will put reviews on the website like this and others, and you will loose business. Lonely Planet got it very wrong about this place. Thankfully, we were there mid week and the karaoke bar stopped quite early. We loved Melaka, but only stayed one night- thankfully we had not planned to stay longer. I doubt we would of if we had the chance because there is a nasty vibe at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrienations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel as a family of 4, we selected it based on good advice from the Lonely Planet and booked it in advance. Upon arrival, the "host" said that usually he does not accept children because they are noisy and with the wooden floor any noise is transmitted to the whole hotel. So he asked us to pay attention for them not to run or shout. Nice start. We immediately liked the place and cosy atmosphere, the room was very basic and we knew from the LP that we had to share bathroom but that was OK. We were there in the middle of the week, so it was very calm and some days we were the only guests (this is probably why he accepted a family with children. The breakfast in the morning is very minimalist (toasts, butter, jam, cereals, coffee, tea, milk). We asked for more milk since the children don't drink tea or coffee. The "host" told us milk is limited to one glass per guest since it is very expensive. We insisted but he was reluctant to give more - so we ended up buying extra milk from the supermaket for our breakfasts !
The place is very good looking but it does not deserve the naming of "guesthouse": any questions from us seemed to be toot much to ask, and we did not even get a "good morning" in the morning - total lack of minimal curtesy. We would certainly not recommend this place if the location and the building were not so nice, and the wi-fi free.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LauSteTDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

i have to say this place is located at the most strategic place in Melaka town - right on the most famous tourist spot, Jonker Street. very convenient place to stay. i only stayed there once btw. finding this GH is not hard as it's very near to the Jonker Street entrance. if u drive there, there's ample parking space nearby.

we got there at lunchtime in a blazing hot afternoon sun and it took the host 30mins to open the electronic gate for us. on the hindsight, the security there is quite good. the host, a middle-age guy, didnt greet us at all, let alone smile. i really found that is quite rude as we already tolerated being outside the GH for quite a while and he didnt even apologize. there are couple more guys working at the GH and none of them are friendly. maybe the actual host was on leave during my time there and they were just helping out. even so, they shouldn't acted that way.

despite that, the rests of the GH is nice,cosy and very clean. their rooms are quite basic with queen bed, pillows, towels, AC and a mirror. there's only sharing shower room on each floor.

i probably will stay again at this place (after the 'unfriendly' host retired)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

loved the interior.. lovely decorations.. east meet west concept.. nice room.. fully air-cond with shared bathroom.. very convinent as the historical places, souvenare just minutes away from the guesthouse..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This is a 'guest house' and the low price reflects that. It's an old wooden building with wide corridors and wooden floors. There is an air of calm away from the busy street outside. The rooms are large, very simple and very clean. The bathrooms are shared. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a very relaxed vibe here. If only there was a place like this in every town! We liked the location on a busy market street in the old Chinese part of town. Because of the construction of these old houses there isn't much sound separation between the rooms but I would choose to stay here every time.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hey_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

It's a really nice space and right on historic Jonker Street. It does look a bit spartan as other reviewers have observed but I don't mind it that much. The rooms are clean and newish.

The dealbreaker is really the timber floors and soundproofing (or lack thereof). If you get inconsiderate fellow guests (as I did) who talk loudly at 1 am, drag things around at 6 am, and walk like elephants all the time, you can kiss goodbye to a good night's sleep.

Staying there on weekends it can be trying because of the noise and music from the Jonker Street bazaar that pervade the guesthouse until around midnight. You also have to wade through crowds every time you want to get to or from the guesthouse.

I think a better bet would be one of the guesthouses along the parallel street called "Millionaires' Row". At least it isn't thronging with crowds and noise, although it does see pretty heavy motor traffic.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sayang Heritage Residence & Guest House
0.0 mi away
Home In The Garden
Home In The Garden
#35 of 135 in Melaka
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lekiu House
Lekiu House
#85 of 217 in Melaka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana House
Ohana House
#73 of 217 in Melaka
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heeren by the River Hotel
Heeren by the River Hotel
#57 of 217 in Melaka
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Twenty Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Twenty Guest House

Address: Twenty Guest House 20 Jalan Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Number Twenty Guest House Hotel Melaka
Number 20 Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing