We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Melaka
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fresh seafood”

Ikan Bakar Parameswara Restaurant- Umbai Melaka
Ranked #103 of 969 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 28, 2017

The service was fantastic as I visited the restaurant on 24 Dec 2017. The place is expanding with bigger crowd, initially I thought it would take long time to serve. Amazingly we served within 45 minutes. The food was served fast but remains very delicious. While waiting for our food, my family decided to add the signature dish of Malacca, asam pedas ikan pari. They were very systematic and additional order was added to my earlier order and came almost at the same times. The unique about this place, the seafood was served with nasi lemak (rice cooked in coconut milk). The payment can be made using credit card and well divided between 2 payment counters based on table number. After we enjoyed the food, the sun came down. I was very happy taking my landscape photos.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nizar_AbdulManap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2017

been here before when they were still small restaurant but now it's become very big place.
however disappointment with the food not delicious as before. totally different.
for seafood/ ikan bakar you have to pay extra 2 ringgit to put chili on them. sotong tepung too dry and not delicious as well.
the drink not sweet as well.

Too pricey as this place become the tourist attraction.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

A 20 minute drive (14 kms) to this very local place where you can eat seafood, fish, meat, … You have to big stables: one clearly for locals and one or the tourist. Trupang Those 2 places are 3 minutes from the big road. So if you turn to the Port St, you will see some small food stables. Go to the right, follow a dark path with the car, and after 3 minutes you will get to IBAR ….

We checked both places and preferred the local one (personal preference). The crab is RM50/KG/prawns RM80/KG (prices nov 2017). You can chose how much you want. You can e.g. just order 4 prawns as an aperitif. Staff and other customers are helpful.

Besides the resto’s there is not much to see. But if you look for cheap and good food, this is the place.

To get there:
* We just Uber to get to Umbai, but Uber doesn’t pick you up at Umbai.
* We tried Grab afterwards and eventually we got one - so be aware that getting back can be difficult.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pemsels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for fresh seafood for dinner, then umbai is the place to be. There are quite a number of restaurants here but the most famous one is Parameswara. It served variety of fresh seafoods flr u to choose from and cooked according to ur liking. One tip about visiting this place is you must arrive early. Otherwise, u gonna have parking problem coz zo many people go there. Overall, a good dinner place serving fresh seafood.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank TShahrizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

We drove from Holiday Inn Melaka to Umbai Jetty as per Trip Advisor. That type of traffic at 8.15pm from Ciry to the Jetty using waze is best and guided to avoid heavy traffic..after 30 minutes drive finally reach the entrance from the junction..traffic was at standstill...patiently queing to find car park...on right side have many other fish grill restaurant...so we didnt stop there...another 15 minutes waited for our car to move on..and finally found a house offers Rm 5 per car parking.

Once park..we walk all the way..5 minutes walk to Rest Parameswara..huge restaurant full of people seated..some earing some waiting..but the key view..snake long Q waiting to order Fresh Seafood at the Counter...

We decided that this must be very good restaurant but we could not wait..we move on back to the other Restaurant and settle down there for our late dinner..

The trip teaches us..dont go so late..go early..dont go on Saturday or Holiday..else we see only..not eating..Maybe next time...

Yes..the other Restaurant we ate..are 3rd time we eat there..have total of not wrong numbered shop..1 to 9..honestly..varieties of choices of seafood and good services. Butut really, just a journey worth the try and happy to see the owner and staff all with smile and friendly. The food, taste, souce chilli..are really just so so. Nasi Lemak ask them for hot one else those packed for sometime is harded..

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank fcl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ikan Bakar Parameswara Restaurant- Umbai Melaka also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Ikan Bakar Parameswara Restaurant- Umbai Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing