We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good experience- but...”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Generally good experience- but...”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Booked a club room at the hotel after having a good experience in June. As usual, the room was well-appointed and everything worked as it should. But once outside the room, things didn't seem so good anymore:

Club lounge: generally quiet and "exclusive" but when it came to the breakfast service, things got really bad as the food was not just limited in variety, but it didn't even look appealing. Even the ala minute orders of eggs took much too long to deliver. Bowls were missing for cereal and asking for fresh milk or anything not displayed took too long to address. It didn't help that there was only 1 staff to manage 20 over people's breakfast needs.

Lift lobby: to my amusement, a box of donuts left at the 18th floor lift lobby on the trash bin was not cleared for more than 24 hours.

Gym: the equipment was rusty and dirty- just generally poorly maintained.

General encounter with staff (especially the expatriate jacket wearing ones) was dismal. Unlike other hotel chains like the Hilton, their behavior was cold and even when eye contact was made, no smile or greeting came forth. Even at the breakfast service at the club lounge, I saw one of them stroll in for a coffee, notice that the place was short handed, made a phone call for more back up, and then did nothing to help his staff make guests feel more comfortable.

I will say that apart from the nice clean room, there's no much to expect from the Holiday Inn's claims of hospitality, Or positive customer experience

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoilt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Spoilt_Traveller,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Melaka again during your return trip recently.

We are glad that you are happy with the room and with reference to the rest, we regret the inconvenience caused. Rest assured your comment has been channeled to the respective department for further improvement.

We thank you for your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Melaka soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    794
    209
    48
    18
See reviews for
741
400
68
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Got a room facing the sea on the 15th floor. The view from the room was good.
The location of the hotel is great, there is a shopping mall across the road and it is about 10 - 15 mins walk to Jonker Street & St Paul's.
The pool is facing the Melaka Straits, good place to chill out.
Did not try the breakfast too many other things to eat around town.
They have an Ipod docking station (iLuv) in the room we love..
Just one down side, we indicated in our booking that we needed a room from 3, but found on arrival that they have run out of extra bed and had to settle for a room with 2 bed instead of 3.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chingyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Very efficient , friendly & helpful staffs. Fast to response.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limahjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Good stay.
Excellent Location.
New building so that rooms are in excellent condition.
Breakfast fine but rest it is normal.
Staff are okay not that much professional @ check in as well as @ restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuttan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

A group of us stayed here between Dec 1 and 3, on the 13th floor.

The best thing about this hotel is the service. Staff were friendly and helpful, and whenever we needed attention, we received it promptly. For example, when we called the front desk cos we had a problem with the safe, someone turned up to look into it within minutes.

Next to the reception desk in the lobby, there is a telephone that connects you directly with the general manager if you're not happy with the service or have any issues. During our buffet breakfast, we had regular and prompt service from the wait staff.

The food at es-sence restaurant where we had breakfast was tasty and satisfying, if not spectacular. There was a good selection of Oriental and Western fare.

The rooms were spacious and clean, with a radio/alarm clock/iphone speaker in every room.

The hotel is located next to the main shopping malls - Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan. However, a very major and very busy road separates the hotel from the malls, and there is no pedestrian crossing. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus service to get around this problem - the bus leaves at hourly intervals between 10am and noon, and every 2 hours thereafter till 10pm. It stops at Jonker Street and outside Dataran Pahlawan megamall. The bus arrives on time every time and the drivers are friendly and helpful, like the rest of the really excellent staff at the hotel.

For those who carry a laptop, there is high speed Internet access via ethernet cable in every room, and the first 2 hours are free of charge. Alternatively, there is a 24-hour business centre where Internet usage is free if under 1 hour, and RM6 per hour for extended usage.

The hotel cost us about US$80 a night, which is totally reasonable considering the excellent service and location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahidaASingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Dear Shahida,

Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Melaka during your recent trip to the historical Malacca.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay here and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed 1 night at this hotel recently. Pluses - very comfortable bed and pillows, good front desk staff, good straits view, interesting bars and restaurants close by. Minuses - food is average, Sirocco restaurant is small, Sirocco bar is too open and public, room walls are too thin, no separate shower cubicle. Overall, a decent hotel but there is certainly room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I arrived from Kuala Lumpur to a warm reception of friendly people with refreshing cold towels. They immediately took everything under control, and although I did not include breakfast in my initial reservation, asked if I wanted it and I am glad I said yes! The hotel lobby is bright and airy. Little kids love to run up and down the lobby, but it's a big space and if I were still a little kid I would want to do the same. This certainly should not be a problem for anyone at 3 in the afternoon! My room overlooked the city as I had requested, and the view at night was really lovely, with the heart of the old town illuminated in red. The concierge was very helpful in arranging dinner that night at a restaurant in the Portuguese settlement, which should not be missed, as the food was great. It's only a short cab ride away from the hotel. They also made my arrangements for onward bus travel to Singapore, easily and efficiently. The breakfast buffet the next morning was a nice surprise with traditional western breakfast items, Malay breakfast items that are a different experience, and also a Japanese buffet. While sushi in the am is not my style, I am sure the Japanese guests enjoyed it as it all looked fresh and well presented. I had some laundry done, and it was returned the same day. I did not visit the spa, but it appreared to be in traditional Malay buildings to the right of the infinity pool, which I did use, overlooking the ocean. The management also left a notice in my room about the problem with the road cutting the hotel off from the town. It is crossable during the day, but at night one must walk down a bit to go under it. The reward for this is walking through a very nice development of new buildings done up in colonial style, with shops and restaurants that may tempt you from going further into town! The hotel is well aware of the problem and urge guests to sign the petition to the city government to erect a crossing, which I certainly did. When it was time to check out I blurted out loud, 'Idon't want to leave!' A couple checking in right next to me said to themselves 'Did you hear that?' I meant it too. This is the type of hotel where you feel welcome the moment you arrive, and that stays with you the entire time. I had staff members saying hi to me all the time, asking how I was enjoying myself. I would not hesitate to go stay here again. Melaka is beautiful enough to return to, and this is, in my opinion, the best place to stay. I enjoyed my stay here, and you will too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear Bklynbubba,

Good day to you!

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel. With your feedback, we will endeavor to maintain our good work if not do better so that our Guests will continue to have a positive experience. We look forward to having you again during your next trip to Melaka.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing