We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with professional staff”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it from the moment I arrived. There is always a member of staff who greets guests at the door and the check-in process was swift .

The Hotel Inn Melaka is ideally located next to Makotha (an established apartment style accommodation) and across the road from the big shopping mall. The hotel only provides a free return shuttle service to famous Jonket Street!

The room was very spacious and clean with ample space for our bags. The bed and pillows were very comfortable also.

One of the features of this hotel is the infinity pool which is a welcome relief to all guests when it is hot & humid.

The other outstanding service is the spa which I enjoyed a 2.5 hour pampering session which included a full body exfoliation, full body massage and milk bath laced with roses which cost only A$150 which took place in one of its 3 balinese style huts! I will certainly recommend this for weary travellers and those who want to be indulged.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyagerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Dear Voyager Brisbane,

Thank you very much for staying with us. The management team is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience in our Peranakan inspired Tea Tree Spa.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the team here in Holiday Inn Melaka is looking forward to welcome you back!

Have a GREAT day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2009

I wanted to try this hotel after reading some nice reviews. I was provided a smoking room w/o being told. The smell was unbearable and with 2 young kids with sensitive nose I requested for room change only to be told hotel is fully booked with ZERO attempt to help address the problem. When I threatened to move out to nearby Equatorial if they cannot help me and asked for Equatorial hotel phone number, the receptionist checked her system and gave me the number of a competiting hotel....I cannot believe they cannot even be bothered to retained an unhappy customer. As my kids were all eagerly wanting to enjoy the pool, I stayed. My wife in fact spent over RM100 to buy a aromatherpy set at body shop to disperse the smell. It did not helped much and my kids suffered stuffy nose for the whole night. I regretted not moving out.
When I checked out I fedback to the front office manager who promised to call me back or response to me. I have never been contacted.
I have no issue if there are indeed no rooms but at least an attempt should be made to freshen up the room - like air freshener and change of pillow who smelled of smoke. I had similar experience with other hotels and that was what they did which I appreciate.
The hotel is in a nice location and the rooms are new and comfortable. It's sad the service was a let down.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiaoxuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Holiday Inn Melaka as your recent trip.

As we are dedicated to providing you with the genuine personal service and gracious amenities in your travel experience, my team and I would like to extend our humble apologies as you and your family did not experience the entire Holiday Inn Brand service and product standards as expected.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you and your family back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Check in was prompt and handled efficiently by the front desk personnel. They were full of smiles and welcoming us. The room which we booked was really something that we liked as we had two kids with us and it was the Kids Suite. There was a double decked bed for our kids.
Conveniently located to the Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall which is within walking distance. The hotel even provides shuttle service if you prefer not to walk.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImpressedFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Dear Impressed Family,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear about your wonderful experience in Holiday Inn Melaka.

Thank you for the sincere compliments on our team and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back with us.

Have a great day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Check in was slow as the hotel was fully-booked over the weekend. I was attended by a staff (presumably new) who is not sure of what she could or could not do. However, another colleague came to assist and I was upgraded to the executive rooms at no extra charge.

The rooms are spacious and clean, sheets are crisp, good quality toiletries and great choice of coffee and tea was available. The restaurant staff were very helpful and efficient. I must also credit the porters who were also very alert. In general, the staff were commendable.

The location is average, one to needs to walk a bit to reach the shops, for shopping and sight-seeing places.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeIE70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2009

Dear JoeIE70,

Good day. We have reviewed your comments with us. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look into the speed of check in by our new colleague as mentioned. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us and have a wonderful day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Big Spacious room with a good sea view and clean bathroom with amenities. Grand Entrance with a spacious lobby. With the hot weather in Malacca, the refreshing iced cold lemon drink was really a plus. Lovely pool , clean water, well equipped gym.
My husband's favorite part of the trip was daily cocktails at the club lounge. Delicious canapes and great wine!
Service was excellent, especially the concierge team. Staff were always ready to lend a helping hand. Great that the hotel has a shuttle service to the attractions and to town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIM_MARCOM, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2009

Thank you very much for your review Grace.
We are glad to hear that your husband loves the cocktails served in the club lounge and our colleagues have rendered great services throughout your stay.

Our team is looking forward to your return and have a GREAT day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel with excellent customer service. The moment we got to the hotel, the Manager, Mr Simon Tan and his team gave us a really warm welcome. From then on, it was fantastic service all the way. From the person who checked us in, the bell boy, the waiters, the life guard .. all were ready with a warm and friendly smile and ever willing to render us assistance. Mr Simon Tan and his team made us feel very, very important indeed. We look forward to staying at Holiday Inn Melaka again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funstastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginie18, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

Thank you for your recent recommendations and compliments. We are glad to be able to render a satisfying service to you. Looking forward to your return and have a great day ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This was a mother's day trip and thanks to tripadvisor....I read all the reviews to decide where should I stay in Malacca and here I found the Holiday Inn in the heart of its city!!!!Absolutely beautiful hotel with an impeccable service staff.I was very impressed from the time I made my reservation till I did my check-in at the executive lounge.All went smoothly.The room had a spectacular Malacca view and all furniture seems looking all new.I stayed in a suite with connecting room, for a family of 4 .Next,we had our lunch at the Essence Restaurant, we were surprised and overwhelmed that all mothers and children dine in for free!!!!The buffet was awesome,really good spread and the service was superb!I was speechless..the offer was to good to believe.Incredibly,a nice touch of a 5star, I will definately be back with friends next time!!You've got to try it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talulladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginie18, Marketing Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2009

Thank you for your recent recommendations. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our Mother's Day - All Mum's Eat Free Promotion. We are looking forward to you and your family's return. Best wishes from all of us in Holiday Inn Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
602 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $54 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing