We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fawlty Towers' in Melaka”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Day one:
We arrived in the evening about 11pm. The driver, who the hotel had organised to pick us up from the airport, asked us directly for payment. When we queried with the front desk, they told us they contracted out this service and we should pay the driver directly. We had not been informed about any of this. We paid the driver.
We had booked a deluxe king size bed room with city view but were told because the hotel was full, we had been given a standard room single beds room.
We queried why, as the booking was made weeks before and were told the reason was because the hotel was full….After much discussion we were told we would be given a room with king size bed the following day. For that night, we were given a room by the elevator. However, upon opening the door to this room, we discovered this room was already occupied! (The occupants got quite a surprise!) We returned to the front desk.
Many apologies were given for this mistake but no explanation could be found for this error.
We asked to speak with the manager and requested a letter explaining the mistake.

Day two:
A cleaner walked into the room without knocking with the Do Not Disturb sign in place on the outside door knob!
At the front desk we were told a new room would be issued. It was explained to us that the front desk and IT expert had spent till 1am trying to work out why the double occupancy mistake had been made but they still did not know. In compensation we were promised a room upgrade, a letter of explanation, a meal for two at one of their restaurants, access to Executive lounge....
Upon our return from sightseeing, we were given the presidential suite (!!!!!!)- king size bed, kitchen with microwave, kettle, fridge (with complimentary drinks) but there were NO utensils, crockery, etc in the kitchen!!!.
That day our friends arrived with children, having booked adjoining rooms and a city view (and confirmed the booking by phone). They were told there were no adjoining rooms city-facing! They were ‘upgraded’ to rooms facing the Strait and given access to Executive Lounge.
We all ate dinner in hotel at Sirocco restaurant. One particular meal was ordered and arrived but was not at all similar to the meal specified on the menu. It went back to the kitchen and returned almost as described but with an extra sauce on the side.

Day Three:
We all ventured to the Executive Lounge for breakfast. Food from the menu was served differently to the description i.e. no accompaniments.
That evening our friends were challenged by staff as to why they were in the Executive lounge (their room number was not one that usually had access to the EL); this query was made by the same staff who served us all breakfast in the morning.
Later in the day we ordered meals from one of the hotel restaurants to be delivered to room; 40 minutes later a phone call to say that the dish ordered was not available. (crab - special dish of the month)

Day Four:
Upon check-out there was no reference to any of the complaints; plus on reveiw of the bill, no meal was discounted from the bill as promised. There was also no letter of explanation forthcoming to this date.

On top of the these 'Fawltyesque' incidents, all rooms we were in were noisy; there is construction taking place on the Strait side of the hotel and the expressway is on the other side. There is obviously no double-glazing.
The lighting is extremely poor in all the bathrooms we visited and trying to find the light switches which would turn on the lights or the fan in the bathrooms took considerable exploration. The switches for the bathrooms were placed all around in other rooms at what would seem to be random locations.
Recommendations to management:
Your staff are very pleasant but are obviously have not been upskilled to the level of service required for their jobs. I would apply this comment to front desk, restaurant and cooking staff. This is definitely not the fault of the staff themselves but a massive error perpetrated by the management of this hotel. There were too many instances where staff were unable to professionally carry out their duties. The responsibility for staff training must come back to the management.
The hotel itself is clean and bright and the location for exploring Melaka is good. However booking here has its issues.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelicityMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear FelicityMF,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Melaka.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Situated along the Mahkota Parade road, Holiday Inn Melaka is actually just beside/ opposite The Jetty by walking distance. Was staying in several hotel in Melaka on business and by far, I find that this is the best place to stay. I have asked one of the hotel manager which assist me to the café that the hotel has been there for almost 6 years. However, the place has been managed/ maintained so well that it literally looks brand new.

The concept for the hotel is pretty much fresh contemporary which house some very helpful staff that is attentive when request is made. I have made a few feedback and request on my room and it was attended immediately. The size for the room can be rather small if compared to any other 5 star hotels but the layout are nicely designed. However, not all bathrooms come with long bath and were told that you need to request up front if required. The room I stayed is facing the straits of Melaka on looking The Jetty. Internet/ wireless is not included to the room package and the 3G/ mobile service in the room can be very weak. I would like to recommend the hotel management to look into this limitation.

On overall, getting around the place if you are staying in this hotel can be a waste of time. Would not recommend if you are planning to see the heritage site but suitable for business travelers. I would definite to recommend to business travelers if the 3G/ mobile service is improved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CK T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

We are in pursuit of excellence and it is vital for us to deliver our promises of ‘Great Hotel, Guest Love’. Hence, my team and I would like to thank you very much for your views on the hotel.

I personally have looked into the limitations you mentioned. Please leave this to me and rest assured that your review will help us seek for continuous improvement and rise up to the expectations of our esteemed guest.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Melaka in the near future, please do not hesitate visit our hotel website and enjoy great savings off your stay.

While at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning Sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

When I entered the lobby, I was amazed with the lobby as it was spacious and well kept!! Did not have to wait for the check in, sufficient manning at the front desk and was served with a delicious cookie while getting checked in! I was served by Zariz I think, was wondering if he was the FOM as per the welcome letter in the room. I was given a twin bed first, but I was cool with it but as we had our 16 month daughter with us, we requested for a King and was immediately moved. View was of the Straits of Malacca! NICE!! Breakfast was good nothing to complaint. Only problem was the internet. Very hard to connect and kept dropping everytime I have connected within minutes. Hotel needs to buy extra licenses for the internet coverage during weekend period when the hotel seems to be filled. Other than that.. Comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartholomeusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your feedback.

With regards to your comments on WiFi, we have recently upgraded our internet services by improving the signal strength on each floor through additional access points and bandwidth. Random checks are being done by my IT personnel, checking on signal strength especially during peak times.

However, I appreciate your feedback and interest in out hotel. Such feedback will further fuel our passion in terms of managing a ‘Great Hotel Guest Love’.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and encourage you to visit our hotel website and enjoy great savings off your stay.

While at the hotel, please indulge in our award winning Sirocco Italian Restaurant and Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE.

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was on a business trip to various locations in Malaysia and Singapore - Holiday Inn Melaka was the best hotel by far. Especially I liked the service: always helpful, very friendly.
The room was perfectly clean, very spacious with a nice sitting area. Then the breakfast: such a big variety of food, different sitting areas, fresh eggs, waffles, etc. - a perfect start to a day.
I liked the SPA treatments very much as well as services like the shuttle bus to the city center.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnMyWay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin-JY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us.

Your comfort is our main priority and I truly appreciate your compliments..

Your review will further fuel our passion in terms of managing a ‘Great Hotel Guest Love’. Should your travel plans bring you back to Melaka in the near future, please visit our hotel website to enjoy great savings off your stay.

And while at the hotel, please dine at our award winning Sirocco Italian Restaurant and pamper yourself at the Tea Tree Spa with special discounts and the Kids get to Stay and Eat for FREE …

Once again … Thank You

Warm regards,

Alvin J
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Chose this hotel based on its proximity to the Mahkota Medical centre, where we had to get the bus back to KLIA, but turned out that the busy highway makes it near impossible to walk and cross the road! Anyway, the hotel has a regular shuttle to the Clock Tower/Jonker street area, and to the mall, for its clients, and hence makes it easy for us to at least visit the main area of interest.
Staff are friendly, and the hotel has an excellent breakfast selection, both Western and local Malaysian delicacies.
We were booked into one of the Strait view rooms, and the room is quite spacious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadiwi56a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing and Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to learn about your unpleasant encounter while crossing the busy highway in getting to Mahkota Medical Center. Likewise, I do agree that it's unsafe to use the highway to get to the hospital. Hence at the hotel, we always advice our guest to use the designated pedestrian crossing or alternatively do let us know if we can assist with transportation.

Thank you again for sharing. The team and I definitely look forward to welcoming you at your next visit.

If that it is in the not too distant future, please visit us at our webpage to take advantage of savings off your stay. While at the hotel, please indulge in our awards winning Sirocco Italian Restaurant and pamper yourself at Tea Tree Spa with great savings! Oh.. and Kids Stay and Eat Free too!

Stay Cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a 2 night stay just last weekend, it is a fantastic hotel with nice sea view and great service.
Just one small incident which our room was delayed when we arrived, at first we were told our room would be ready in 45 mins to 1 hour and so we had lunch at the lounge whilst waiting for the room. However when we checked with the reception 1 hr late, we were told it would be another 30mins. this did deeply disappoint us as we had driven over 2 hrs from singapore and needed a rest before going out to enjoy the sights of Malacca heritage city.

Good point is that the receiption Ms Bavani actually took note that we were seated at a corner seat of the lounge (not in direct visual view of the reception desk) and brought our keys to us when it was ready, we deeply appreciate her great attention to details like this and applaud Holiday Inn for having such attentive which makes all the difference to a weary tourist upon arrival.

Subsequently we encountered great service every where within the hotel and also need to compliment the restaurant breakfast crew. Despite overwhelming number of guests during breakfast, the staffs and floor managers never fail to come by to clear our plates and one even noticed i was looking around for the coffee corner and promptly attended to me.

Overall its a great hotel to stay in and i understand a new extension is expected in 2 years time on the reclaimed land by the jetty and i certainly am already looking forwarded and making my plans when it is ready.

Great place to stay!

Room Tip: if you like sea view, ask for it to face the sea and the pool, nice to relax with a drink by your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesmondChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The club rooms were a bit disappointing in size but adequate, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was also quite small for such a room. Nibbles and drinks in the executive lounge were interesting and we very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the balcony. Service was excellent throughout. The pool area is reasonable, but at the time we were there the view of the sea was very unattractive, due to mechanical diggers on the sands. The gym and massage facilities were very good. All in all a place to stay if you want good quality on the ordinary side of luxurious!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MalRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing and Communications Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. I'm glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Having that said, I regret to learn that you found our club room were disappointing in size. If I may, most rooms at the Holiday Inn Melaka are approximately 32sqm in size which were configured to allow enough space for rest, leisure and business in the same time.

I am also sorry to learn that you find the view from our swimming pool is unattractive due to the ongoing works. We can assure you that the work is only temporary to make ways for new attractions to the city.

Above all, we hope that at your next visit to Melaka, Holiday Inn will still be your choice. Should you have any further concern to share, please feel free to e-mail us at welcome@holidayinnmelaka.com.

Stay Relaxed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#15 of 169 in Melaka
1,689 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#12 of 169 in Melaka
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#3 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $55 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing