We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Upon entering the room, the carpet was slightly wet. There is no mini bar (fridge) in the room we stayed too, not too sure was it because we only stayed for a night. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, but they have to since there are a few hotels to choose, least to say the newly opened Hatten hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Your kind words are very much appreciated.

Having said that, we would like to apologize for the minor glitch in the room. We pride ourselves on attention to details and clearly we could have done better this time. Rests assure that we will look into this for our future improvement.

Thank you again for everything. At your next visit to the Holiday Inn, please do visit our website to take advantage of great saving off rooms, free breakfast and Wi-Fi internet, and special 20% discount to dine at Sirocco Italian Restaurant, or get pampered at Tea Tree Spa. Oh.. Kids Stay and Eat Free!

Regards,
Eric Ong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    784
    208
    47
    18
See reviews for
735
398
68
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked 2 ocean view rooms and stayed 1 night in Holiday Inn Melaka on a Saturday in August 2013. Being a Platinum Elite member is a BIG PLUS as I received club floor lounge access. If you are travelling with small children who enjoy swimming in the hotel swimming pool, I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE upgrade with charge or requesting complimentary upgrade to club floor if you are have Platinum Elite or Ambassador status. The benefits of staying in club floor has lots of extra amenities, free 2 pieces laundry per stay(not instant, need to wait till 8 pm the next day for the clothes to be returned, not able to use this if stay only 1 night, would recommend the hotel made the turnaround time shorter for 1 night guests), 1 plate of wrapped fruits in the room, all day beverages in club room till 11 pm, free cocktail and snacks from 6 to 8:30 pm, late check out till 4 pm, free breakfast in club room or can dine in Es-Sense Kitchen WITHOUT charge and the list goes on....Front Desk will provide a card that lists the amenities of club floor guests upon check in. 2 computers and TVs in club room for guests who has access to club floor and this is especially good that I have an elderly father who can relax in the club floor watching TV and being served coffee or tea or juices while I watched the kids swimming outside as the swimming pool is located outside of the club room. Once the kids finished swimming, they can showered in hotel room and go to club room to play their favorite games on the computers while sipping juices and eating snacks provided during the evening, all included as a club floor guest. Ocean views in room is facing the Melaka Straits, I think is awesome view. The city view is not bad too as they cannot get us 2 ocean view rooms on the same floor, we had to get a city view in order to be on the same floor. Free daily shuttles going to Dataran Pahlawan and Jonker Street BUT NEEDS to book in advance, once full, will need to wait for the next slot which is either 0.5 hour or 1 hour apart, I believe. I HIGHLY recommend that the hotel should make this complimentary shuttle service more frequent during the evening and night time based on number of guests. We are a party of 6 and they should be able to accommodate us especially on the drop off and pick up at Jonker Street with last shuttle at 10 pm and the return service is fully booked, they are not willing to provide transportation after 10 pm to the 6 of us as the 10 pm slot is FULL. We thought being Malaysian, though not local Malaccan, we can find our ways around Jonker Street by driving there ourselves but we were lost going to Jonker Street as we missed the 2 parking lots that the hotel showed us on map. We went round and round the area finding our way back to Jonker Street for 1.5 hour...Yes, no kidding, at 8 pm, the traffic from Holiday Inn Melaka to Jonker Street is very congested and since we are lost, every where we turned, VERY CONGESTED that the kids crying and complaining why we stayed in the car for so long. In additions, we nearly got a ticket as we originally parked along the street near Jonker Street. Luckily, after exiting the car, an elderly local told us that the street here is Blacklisted and guided us to a parking lot that is 4 min drive. When we headed back to our parking lot at 10:30 pm, we saw the enforcement officer started issuing citations on all those vehicles parking along the streets nearby Jonker Street. Therefore, if you are driving to Jonker Street, DO NOT ATTEMPT to park along the streets around Jonker Street. Try your very best to look for parking lot that charges a nominal fee of RM5 per entry. Otherwise, you will need to deal with the citation ticket. Alternately, you can take taxis too if the last pick up shuttle is full but is RM15 from Jonker Street to Holiday Inn Melaka due to the heavy traffic but is worth it rather than the citation. Therefore, this is my only gripe about Holiday Inn Melaka for not able to extend the late shuttle pick up to meet the demand when it arised and empowered those in charge of shuttle services to take care of every guest who has the needs and not follow the protocol, no service after 10 pm shuttle is fully booked.
All in all, the 1 night stay ended WELL and GREAT!!! I STRONGLY RECOMMEND F&F to stay at this hotel when visiting Melaka!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starofjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Melaka.

We are indeed very grateful for your kind compliments. It's with such positive words that inspired us to continue striving towards our goal 'Great Hotels, Guests Love.'

Having said that, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our shuttle service. Comfort of our guests has always been a priority and we always do our best to ensure our guest is well taken care of. The management will look into this and we thank you for sharing and for your patience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope that at your next visit to Melaka, Holiday Inn will still be your preferred choice. If that is in the near future, please do visit our website to take advantage of great saving off rooms, free breakfast and Wi-Fi internet, and special 20% discount to dine at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or to get pampered at Tea Tree Spa. Oh... Kids Stay and Eat Free!

Regards,
Eric Ong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a short trip to Malacca while visiting Singapore. Very impressed. On arrival, greeted by staff with warm smiles, friendliness and felt genuinely welcome. Room was spacious. Though room was facing the city and other reviewers have commented on the traffic noise, we didn't notice it much. Arrived on National Day and traffic to Jonker Street area closed for festivities. However, reception staff and shuttle bus driver really went out of their way to ensure we could use the shuttle to get to where we wanted. Sumptuous buffet breakfast. Very happy that we chose the Holiday Inn. Will definitely return if we go to Malacca again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKSrGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Your kind words are much appreciated as it's the reflection of the hotel. To us, it's always empowering to receive positive feedback which has further motivates us in striving towards 'Great Hotels, Guests Love.'

Thank you, thank you and thank you. At your next visit to the Holiday Inn Melaka, you must visit our website where you can take advantage of great saving off room, free Wi-Fi usage, free breakfast, special 20% off to dine at Sirocco Italian Restaurant or to get pampered at Tea Tree Spa. Oh... Kids Stay and Eat Free!

Regards,
Eric Ong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Even though we arrived at 4pm they said the room was not ready. It was only after we made a fuss then only they gave us our rooms. Certainly do not expect this type of service for the price we paid. Other than that the hotel was clean and the breakfast was not bad

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share. We regret to learn about the minor glitch during check-in.

This isolated incident certainly is not a standard of the Holiday Inn Melaka. We will definitely look into it and will take drastic actions to improve this area. Nevertheless, thank you for letting us know and for your kind patience.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We do hope that this circumstance will not not deter you from staying with us again.

Stay Relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segamat, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Worth the money you paid. Nice clean with sea view.Close to shopping mall, nightlife pub restaurant. Room big clean, nice view and great staff.We stay for one night and will definitely stay again when we visit again. Will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing. It's nice to hear good things about the hotel.

Indeed, the hotel takes pride with its proximity to the attractions in the city. While the local attractions are within walking distance, we do provide free shuttle service which operates from 10am - 10pm, daily.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit in the not too distant future.

Stay Relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want to stay in a brand new and modern hotel right in middle of Melaka town, then there is no best place to stay other than at Holiday Inn Melaka. The room rate is very reasonable given all the services, facilities and food that you can get. The staff was very courteous. The room is spacious, very clean and amazingly beautiful, couple with great view of the Melaka Strait. Food and beverages selection at breakfast are excellent. We stayed for one night, and by the end of it, wished that we should have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here whenever we come and visit Melaka again in the future, and recommend the same to those who want to stay in Melaka.

Room Tip: Choose room with strait view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. The team and I are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We are grateful for your kind words as it's a testament of the hotel and our people. Rests assure that we will continue doing what we do best - adding value to your stay, and giving you 'Your Stay, Your Way.'

Thank you again for everything. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to Melaka.

Stay Relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Modern furnishing for family holidays. Food variety suits the family members. A good sleep and working environment when you combine your holidays with the conference task. In terms of staff, friendly when attempts to room services and at the restaurants. However, during the conference, some more improvement need to be done, while the food served looks good, those who are duty during this session should be more friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHabibah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Your kind words are much appreciated as it's the reflection of the hotel. It's with such feedback that empowered us to strive even harder in reaching our goal - 'Great Hotel, Guests Love.'

We have also taken note on your suggestion to improve our level of service. Rests assure that more training will be implemented as an effort to improve in this area.

Thank you again. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to Melaka.

Stay Relaxed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing