We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night in straits view room.
Basement carpark available.
Check in was smooth with welcome drinks and cookies.
Room was spacious and clean.
Standing shower in the room, not sure about the other rooms.
Mahkota Parade Mall is just across the hotel but you have to make a mad dash across the busy road. The famous Jonker street is a 10-15mins walk.
The hotel is rather pricey compared to the rest of Melaka.
Will stay again if guaranteed comfort and safe parking is required.
Good if you intend to drive out all the time otherwise walking to places of interest will take awhile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michouetmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

For the benefits of the readers here, we would like to share again that it's dangerous to cross the highway located in front of the hotel. Instead, we advise our guests to use the dedicated crossing located not too far away from the hotel. Alternatively, the hotel do provide complimentary shuttle service that takes your to some prominent places in the city.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you again for everything. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    792
    209
    47
    18
See reviews for
740
400
68
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend, and although familiar with the IGH brand of hotels, this one just didn't leave up to expectations.

Being a Platinum Ambassador of IHG, I was told we were upgraded to an executive suite on check-in, but found out at the room that it was not. Got a call the minute we entered out room and I told the lady that this is definitely not a suite! Although I was forgiving about this, but I felt this should never have happened at the front desk. You don't tell me that it is an executive suite, but instead in reality, it was a deluxe room.

Not on.

The Club facilities - oh, I enjoy Club facilities on all my travels - but this one just punches the air out of the balloon. Located on the 3rd floor, the facilities are downright plain and not of the level I expected. Its passing off at an extreme. And the service attached to the Club, if there was service - was at best AWOL or incomprehensible. The staff knowledge of local attractions and things to do were beneath earth level. Not the best of PRs nor hospitable. Wife puts it to "see the kind of guests that stays here, you'd understand why" observation.

All in all, disappointing for an IHG brand to be abused in more ways than one.

Perhaps the Hatten across the road might be a better choice for our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It's disappointing to learn about the shortcomings during your recent stay.

For that, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.

At the Holiday Inn Melaka, we take the comfort of our guests close to our heart. Hence, we would like to assure you that your feedback will be promptly looked into by the management to avoid similar recurrences in the future.

Again, sorry for the inconveniences caused. We hope that this isolated incident will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in the future. Should you have any further concerns to share, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a short break with my sis and a night stay at holiday inn was a great one. Breakfast is nice and superb. Staff is super nice and friendly. Was a good stay and definitely will be back. Location is not that attractive but with the shuttle service driving us around the town was a good one. Hmmm.... The driver who drives us to Dataran Pahlawan at 4pm yesterday was superb nice and he fetch us back at 6pm. Thank you to him.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlythekimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are very much appreciated as it's an enforcement and motivation for us to strive harder. Rest assured that we will continue doing what we do best - adding valued to your stay.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you again for everything. We look forward to welcoming you back at the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Location is close to all the tourist attractions the only bad thing is that you need to cross a road. Vans are available at certain times to bring you anywhere in the city. Hotel room looks great especially for a holiday inn. Great swimming pool overlooking the sea and nice clublounge with the same view. You will be treated very well by the staff , club lounge is a plus to have nice cocktail hour from 6 pm to 8 pm. Special tnx to shah for the great service and kindness he provided to us in the clublounge

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words are very much appreciated as it's the reflection of the hotel. It's with such feedback that empowered us to strive harder in reaching our goal - 'Great Hotels, Guests Love.'

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. At your next visit to any of the Holiday Inn or IHG hotels group, do visit our website to take advantage of our getaway deals. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in many Holiday Inns over the years travelling with 2 kids, now on our own we had a straits view room, unfortunately the haze meant not much of a view. the service was excellent and the breakfast are by far the best anywhere, we were here for 5 days and it really felt homely as the staff recognised us and even knew what beverages we liked for breakfast and were on the table as soon as we walked in. It was a very short 10 min to get into the centre of things but also nice to be able to walk away when we wanted to rest, would recommend it anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for straits view, if there is no haze it would be nice, lots of earth works going on but I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGrumpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience.

We are very grateful for your kind word. It's indeed our pleasure to consistently extend our personable and down-to-earth service, so that you can feel like at 'home.'

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. On you next visit to any of the Holiday Inn or IHG hotels group, do visit our web page to take advantage of our great getaway deals. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Checked in to this hotel together with my family. Staff were extremely helpful and polite the moment I stepped into the lobby helping me with the baggage and check-in. Rooms were clean with a clear view of the straits of malacca and the bed was soft with a choice of firmer pillows. Hotel staff were prompt in their housekeeping and room service while the lobby staff were pleasant and constantly smiled at arriving guests. Good spread of breakfast every morning throughout our stay there. A great hotel with superb hospitality indeed and certainly makes one feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay.

At the Holiday Inn, we love to welcome everyone as part of family. That is why we always strive to deliver our down-to-earth and personable service so that you can feel at home.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you again for sharing. We definitely look forward to your next visit - 'home.'

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked for my family, which as my parents, my sister, my wife and my three kids for 3 club rooms. They upgraded one of the room to a suite which is huge, while the club room are more than adequate as well.

There is no beach, but we knew that before hand, and The Jetty has quietened down from its hay days but it suits my family vacation just nice. It's close to two medium size shopping malls with good cafes, including a Malaysia famous Najede cakes, these are wonderful, and also local Malacca style hainanese chicken rice balls and Malacca style (aka "old town') coffee.

The only bits that are only just satisfactory are that the morning breakfast rush (not enough staff to manage the whole place while the hotel is booked solidly full) and the long wait for the lifts (why only three passenger lifts when they built the hotel) given that its' a 20 storeys hotel building.

The other pity is that they don't have a children's club to cater for the young ones given that this hotel is a popular choice amongst holidaying families.

The great thing is that this hotel provides regular mini bus to shuttle you to the Mahkota shopping centre and the very popular Jonker street and they pick you up at the pre-agreed time back from the dropped-off location. Thumb's up!

The endorsement of this hotel is complete when my kids asked when we will come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's always nice to hear positive feedback from a satisfied guest.

Having said that, rest assured that the management will look into your feedback for our future improvement.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,350 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing