We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a 3 year old and a 75year old always makes it tricky to accommodate everyone's tastes and Holiday Inn did that for us. Great value, great service and great location. Requested connecting rooms and got them. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Everything was clean and comfortable. For a family that travel all over the world on a regular basis, I am sometimes pessimistic, Holiday Inn proved me wrong, love it. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aadavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

It's has always been our long time commitment at the Holiday Inn for you to have 'Your Stay, Your Way.' To us, nothing is more rewarding than to be able to add value to our everyday heroes - our dear valued guests.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    792
    209
    47
    18
See reviews for
740
400
68
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my parents, my wife and children, for two nights. The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. There was a welcome drink and cupcakes too. The rooms were nice, my wife and I had the seaview room overlooking the infinity pool.

The good thing about this hotel is all the attractions are within walking distance: historical sites, the Taming Sari gyro tower, the Maritime Museum, river cruise, malls and McDonald's if you need your dose of junk food. Since traffic in Melaka can be horrendous on weekends, it is best that you go around either on foot or by a trishaw. My wife walked all the way down Jonker Street from the hotel. Of course when we travelled with my parents and the kids, we took the trishaw. The ever-helpful lads at the Concierge could help arrange for the trishaw to pick you up at the hotel. There is also the hotel's shuttle that could send you to some of the places provided you book your seat.

The coffee house has a good array of servings for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A word of warning: it could get very busy during the weekends especially for breakfast that you might have to wait to be seated. The F&B staff are also friendly. They always have grilled items for dinner. That's worth a go.

The infinity pool is excellent. Mind you, this too gets crowded on a weekend. But I guess this goes for all hotels with a swimming pool in Melaka.

The bed's nice and comfy, and as a sucker for rain shower, I enjoyed the shower as well.

Would I return? Most definitely. I would say this was one of the more memorable hotel stays in Malaysia for me.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We got a room facing the sea at pretty good rates. So it was extremely pleasant to relax in the room overlooking the Straits. The breakfast was good too. Location may not the best if you want to visit the town, but it is just 15 minutes walk. There are a couple of shopping close by where to buy stuff (food court not so good).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krsto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us.

At the Holiday Inn, you can always be at your best when you can have 'Your Stay, Your Way.' This is why we always strive hard to deliver our 'Stay Real' culture to each and every guests.

Again, thank you, Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family of 2 kids for a weekend. It was the first day of school holidays for Malaysia, and the last day for Singapore, so we expected the crowd. With a wedding going on in one of the halls at the same time, you can imagine the chaos at the lobby. We arrived slightly early hoping to get an early start. Bad idea, as we had to join the queues of other guests checking out. Being a priority club member didn't help. Tip for next visit, arrive just before check in time to avoid the check out crowd on busy days. It might have helped there was a dedicated check in counter, oh well.

The room is consistent with the other Holiday Inn hotels we have stayed in. The two double beds room is ideal for a family of four, and that is our choice most of the time. I agree with the other reviewers at the level of service from the hotel staff.

I am, however, disappointed in a few things. First, the buffet breakfast was a nightmare. Yes,it was crowded as expected. But some of the food like potatoes, vegetables and cocounut rice were undercooked. The eggs were burnt. The coffee was terrible. The fresh juice were severely diluted. Secondly, there was a strange policy at the pool to limit guests to 2 towels per room. I was there with my wife and two daughters. After some negotiations, we were offered 3 towels and was told to share! And lastly, I wished the shuttle service to main attractions (e.g. Jonker street) was more frequent. During our stay it was every two hours, and we had to reserve.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank yeemeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We Thank You for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Good to hear that you were pleased with our rooms and the service provided.

Having said that, it's disappointing to learn on the ares where we could have done better.

If we may, we do have a dedicated check-in counter reserved for only PCR members. However, we regret to learn that we could have done a better job with traffic control during your check-in.

As for your comments on our buffet breakfast, we are sorry to learn on the shortfalls. Rest assured that this has been communicated with our F&B Manager and the Kitchen side to avoid similar recurrences in the future.

In relation to the towel service, we are sorry to inform that this policy is to ensure that we have enough towels for 275 rooms in a day. Sure enough that we will look into having more towels for everyone.

As for our shuttle service, we do admit that there are high demands for shuttle service on a busy weekend. Which is why the hotel have 3 shuttles that departs once every hour from 10am - 10pm daily.

We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Should you wish to speak to us, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived at Holiday Inn, hot and bothered after a 2 hr taxi ride from KL. Check in was efficient and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Had dinner at Italian Restaurant and food was fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Serenity pool was great. Caught courtesy bus in morning into town and that was a bonus. Walking distance to town. Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

At the Holiday Inn, it's has always been our long time commitment for you to have 'Your Stay, Your Way.' That is why you can always count on our Stay Real service, personable and genuinely yours.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. Do visit our webpage where you could take advantage of our Stay Escaped promo with up to 30% off room rates, free breakfast for 2 and free high speed wi-fi internet, dine in at Sirocco Italian Restaurant for a special 30% off and indulge at Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% off. Oh, did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat Free?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

No surprises here. Clean room, decent bed although a bit lumpy. Choice of firm of soft pillow already set out on the bed is a nice touch. Check in was quick and fuss free since I had priority club membership. Decent breakfast spread followed Nya quick check out. If the bed just had been a little better I'd give it 5 stars.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustbusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Being a Priority Club Member does has its perks when checking in at any of the Holiday Inns. For instance at the Holiday Inn Melaka, you could enjoy benefits such as free wi-fi, high speed internet access, quick check-in, priority rewards points as you spend and many more!

We appreciate your fair observation on our bed. Rest assured we will look into in for the betterment of all.

Stay Relaxed and stay at the Holiday Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Do visit our website to take advantage of our Stay Escaped promo where you can get up to 30% off room rates, free high speed internet usage, free breakfast for two. Dine in at Sirocco Italian Restaurant for a special 30% off and indulge at Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% off. Oh, did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat FREE?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After the experience of Holiday Inn, Penang, Holiday Inn, Melaka, was a bonus. A very big open modern concept, the reception area was very welcoming, with very cheerful and lovely staff. Check in was a breeze, and before we knew it, we were comfortably settled into our room. The bathroom here though was slightly smaller than Penang, but that was not an issue. Comfortable bed and good lighting with Wifi access. They gave out 2hr complementary Wifi usage available only at the Lobby which was pleasant anyway, listening to live music by a 2 persons band. Big spread of buffet breakfast both cold and hot, wide selection of fruits, and great coffee/cappuccino. Staff were efficient and the one lady that cooked scrambled eggs or omelet was fast given the high demand. The hotel was busy and noticed many families w children. The shuttle service was on time which made getting to the many interesting places,, convenient. Taxi for airport was also right on time. Surely Holiday Inn Resort, Melaka made our trip all worthwhile and happy. Melaka is of course a wonderful destination and with all these other services well packaged and efficiently delivered, there is no doubt that its tourism will continue to flourish. I would stay there again if ever there is a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fu'a H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay both at the Holiday Inn Resort Penang and Holiday Inn Melaka.

At the Holiday Inn, you can always count on us to look after you. It's like at home, you can truly be yourself and just Stay You.

We thank you again for sharing and look forward to welcoming you back again. Should that be in the very near future, do take advantage of our Stay Escaped promo where you can get up to 30% off room rates, free breakfast for 2 and free internet, dine in at Sirocco Italian Restaurant for a special 30% off and indulge at Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% off. Oh, did we mention that Kids Stay and Eat Free?

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,350 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,601 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing