We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Melaka
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travellers Planet Hostel(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayfarer Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,968)
Filter reviews
1,968 results
Traveler rating
793
842
246
58
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
793
842
246
58
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraits viewkids suitetea tree spathe executive loungebusy roadinfinity poolshuttle serviceshuttle busjonker streetclub roomfacing the searoom facingmahkota paradehigh floorchecking innice poolshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,155 - 1,160 of 1,968 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March 2013 and had an enjoyable stay for 3 nights. Weekends are the best time to visit Melaka. We arrived on a Sunday and saw it at its best with lots going on in the evening. By contrast Monday and Tuesday were dead and finding something to eat in Melaka could be problematic after 21:00. The resort was very quiet at this time.

The hotel is nice and cool and everything is new and works well. There is a well equipped gym and nice pool. The rooms were well cleaned though housekeeping kept forgetting to leave towels and took our soap each time. I'm sure guest aren't so wasteful as to want a fresh bar each day. The rooms are airy light and nicely furnished and the air conditioning works well and is quiet. The beds were nice.

The staff were very helpful and always friendly and actually contributed to us having a nice stay they were so friendly. Breakfast was very good. One of the best we had during our travels around Malaysia with lots of Choice and nicely presented and all tasting fresh.

The only gripe was the wifi. Having to pay in this day and age isn't on and there is an overly complicated log in system which required repeated attempts to log in each time. Thankfully the wifi was free when we checked our booking with our booking company.

Lobby evening drinks were expensive. There's a cheaper little bar behind the car park.

One thing to be careful of was the main road. There's a dual carriageway right next to the Holiday Inn and there's no crossing outside or nearly. Hence people perilously peer round bushes or run across fast moving traffic which is a bit unnerving. It can't be long before there will be an accident and seems strange a crossing isn't there's as there's a few hotels there and it's across from the shopping mall so an obvious place to cross.

A couple of helpful tips. If you want to book the tickets for the main bus back to KL airport or KL LLC the booking office is inside the hospital entrance around the corner from the 7-11 shop. They have an amazing canteen / buffet / restaurant next to the booking office for hospital staff and visitors. We had an amazing lunch there twice. It has helpful staff and picture boards and a vegetarian choice 2 courses and a drink £1.60!

I can definitely recommend a stay at the Holiday Inn Melaka.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markfennelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

At the Holiday Inn Melaka, you can always ensure that you will have 'Your Stay, Your Way.' We believe in looking after our guest and delivering personable and genuine service at all times.

We would like to thank you for your suggestion for free Wi-Fi. If we may, the management understands that it's a necessity these days and thus we are currently looking towards enabling free Wi-Fi to all. In the meantime, we are pleased to share that Wi-Fi is now free at the lobby area for 2 hours effective April 1 2013.

Stay Relaxed and Thank You for sharing your feedback. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Usually any hotel would like you to get off from their premises as soon as possible but what suprised me at Holiday Inn Melaka, not only i was allowed to delay my check out time buat i was also served with refreshment during check out. Wow... the first ini my whole life... Holiday Inn Melaka not only have the most friendly staffs but also know how to make the guests fell appreciated. Personally breakfast time is the best, great place and great food.

Room Tip: Any room will be okay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zas-rynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

An excellent place to stay, very friendly staffs, good service, clean, convenient to find good food nearby ( for those who doesn't dine in), reasonable rates, good breakfast.

I can consider this hotel to be d'best in Melaka city.

Room Tip: If possible try to get a sea view room, the higher the room the better view of the sea you can get. Anyway all the rooms are excellent, except that which view that you want, either the town view or the sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mahfuz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing. It’s always nice to hear good things about the hotel.

Your kind words are much appreciated as it’s a reflection of who we are. Rest assured that your feedback will be channeled to the team as I’m sure that it will further motivate them to do better.

Again, thank you for the feedback. We look forward to your next visit in the very near future. When at the hotel, we recommend that you try out Sirocco Italian Restaurant or Tea Tree Spa for a special 20% OFF.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel is located 10-15 minutes walk from the tourist attractions, but its pool with a view of Melaka Straits outweighs the disadvantage of that walk. If you are in Melaka to view attractions and relax at the rate of 50-50 this would be the place to consider. Breakfast has a good selection of food, worth a try. Rooms are spatious and hotel staff appeared friendly and professional. Absolutely a place we will consider next time in Melaka.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review.

We take pride on our proximity to the local attractions. Some guests may feel that traveling on foot to those locations can be a hassle. Just to share that for the benefits of the readers here, the hotel provides free shuttle, from 10am - 10pm daily to the local attractions in town. Nevertheless, we thank you for your patience and understanding.

Again, thank you for your feedback. The team and I look forward to welcoming you in the very near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Being in the service industry myself I'd say this hotel impress me with their very excellent service. Friendly, warm, welcoming, helpful & very attentive to their guests need.

No issues with the location as it's just perfectly located for visitors to see Melaka as a whole. The straits view was amazing! Cleaniness around the hotel as well as the room is top notch.

Could do a bit more on the wifi connection because it's pretty slow and it keep requesting users to keep logging in every few hours.

Overall i am glad i chose this hotel for my first family trip after being spoilt by many other options. My family love it & i so wouldn't mind staying here again because not only the staffs were lovely they recognise their guests. Kudos to the team!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Assistant Marketing Communication Manager at Holiday Inn Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing and we are grateful for your kind words.

Rest assured that your fair observation on our wi-fi connection is currently being looked into by the management. We apologize for any inconveniences caused.

Again, thank you for the feedback. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards,
Eric Ong
Holiday Inn Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews