We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staffs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #6 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

From check-in to check-out all staffs -receptionist, concierge, bellboys- has been very kind and helpful.
This made our 2 days stay very agradable.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing city offer also interesting views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tian2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    760
    201
    43
    18
See reviews for
713
390
66
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

made booking via expedia.com.sg & was looking forward to the trip. i wish i could attach the booking for everyone's view.

specifically requested for king bed for 2 rooms & 2single beds for 1 room. turned out at check-in that ALL rooms with king beds were taken. we could not understand, especially it was non-peak (tue-thu) & the booking papers presented showed all details, and matched what they had. the lady did not seemed too pleased when we requested that she check again. waited for 20mins and she returned to announce that she has only 1 room with the king bed, too bad for the other room. no effort seen for suggesting options to us for upgrade with additional charges, no apologies offered. nothing.

except for the king bedded room, the other 2 rooms were pathetically small. all rooms do NOT come with bathtubs. we went back to the counter to enquire & were told 'not all rooms have bathtub, you know?'.
well, so much for the overrated service.

the breakfast was mediocre, nothing to shout about. even the national dish, nasi lemak tasted awful. we had great nasi goreng from the in-room dining menu though!

location was ok as we drive. if you don't, do consider Equatorial.

will not stay in this property again, nor recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celia_low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Located in city centre, across the road from Mahkota Parade Mall. Crossing the road is a hassle cause there isnt a bridge. The location is otherwise superb. The rooms have either city or sea views, and both are enjoyable. Rooms are large and clean, beds are very comfortable. Baths are well fitted and come with toothbrushes, toothpaste, shampoo...etc. Room had coffee/tea maker. There is no separate shower, and showering in the bathtub will inevitably wet the bath floor, in spite of the shower curtain. The included breakfast is excellent, with very good variety. It's a 15-minute walk to Palawan Mall, and a 20-minute walk to Jonker Street. Lifts are busy. Free covered parking. Checking-in and out was reasonably smooth. Room service was slow though. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is strategically placed on reclaimed land (it is safe though) with 1 side facing the Straits of Malacca and the other facing the city. The side which is facing the Straits of Malacca is also facing the artificial jetty, Pulau Melaka (Malacca Island - reclaimed artificial island) and a swimming pool. You need to ask for the room facing this view if you like sea view. If you are city person, ask for city view.

On our second trip, we did not go for the hotel food, but my memory of the food here have been pleasant (last trip on Y2009). We ate out in nearby Jonker (Hang Jebat) street and Melaka Raya town which is nearby and cheap too (if you like to venture local food like Chicken Rice ball, Satay Celup and etc). There are lots of Caucasian food but I have not tried any. Use your GPS to locate the food locations. All the old historic, recreation and shopping is within 1km (0.6miles) walking distance from hotel, ask for a map from the hotel staff.

Some slight complaint only, which there is an error also from our part as well as we mistakenly booked 2 single bed instead of 2 queen bed, we asked for additional bed but the bed took ~2hrs to arrive to the room. The front desk is not too happy when I asked for 2 queen bed and pointed my errors (which I admit is our fault). Our hotel stay experience could be better without our registration incident.

Holiday Inn have few more upcoming attractions at the artificial jetty and nearby Pulau Melaka.

To summarize, the hotel stay is a great strategic with great view stay for the money.

Room Tip: Sea lovers, please choose straits view :), you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaikBoonHng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The first thing the bellboy did when I entered the hotel was to offer to carry my bags and then direct me to the reception for check in.

Check in was a bit of a hassle because we came early and had to wait for housekeeping to clean up the rooms before they could check us in. The staff promised to call us once a room was ready, but we managed to get a room only after we approached the reception about 1.5 hrs later. Not much of a problem though, since we did arrive earlier than they anticipated.

Room was pleasant, and it was nice that we got the sea view too. Loved the pool- it was clean, big, quiet (it was a sunday afternoon) and it overlooks the jetty too. For families with small children, they provide floats and a small waddling pool too.

It's at a really convenient location, just minutes away from the Dataran Pahlawan (huge mall) and slightly further from where Jonker Walk and Christ Church is.

Service was impressive as well, asked for towels and ice (gave us much more than we requested for, actually) and they'll always send them up promptly. Concierge staff always willing to help with our questions about directions and dining places too.

The only negative would have to be their food. Room service is really overpriced for what they offer. Considering how much delicious and cheap food there is everywhere else in Melaka, we should have just dragged our lazy selves out of the hotel instead of ordering in :(

Other than that.. Thumbs up for Holiday Inn Melaka! Will probably stay there again on my next trip to Melaka.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

My company had a management outing recently and stayed at the hotel for stayed for 2 days, one night. Overall impression for me of the hotel was a good one. Food was good, room was nice, the hotel was well maintained. One complaint though....a few coffee cups laid for use during our coffee breaks did not look so clean. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: better to get a room facing the Straits of Malacca
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzoIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed one night in a club room with my wife and baby. The hotel looked pretty new and the room was nice in a holiday inn sort of way. Service was generally good and all our requests were taken care of. Just two minor complaints. First when we went to the restaurant for lunch, the waiter told us we could only have the buffet. Later we met one of the staff in the lobby who to us we could of course order whatever we wanted off the menu. The other thing was that we had requested a baby cot in our room booking and had again reminded the receptionist at check in. When we got to our room however there was no cot. This was quickly corrected though after a phone call.
Generally the staff were friendly and v helpful. The club lounge staff in particular were very attentive. The hotel location was good - near enough to the sights and shopping. We had a good view of everything from the city view room.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Property: Holiday Inn Melaka
Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers alike who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing