We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the bed, the toiletries n the bf!”
Review of Holiday Inn Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melaka
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2007

What attracted me to Holiday inn was becos it's new. Overall, service fr reception and cafe was...courteous but a little cold. Somehow their greetings and services did not make u feel warm and welcomed...a little plastic!

Room was big, clean, but one of my pillow n blanket had a bad smell. I suspected the smell was left behind by the previous occupant! Ha ha! It's great that this hotel's double bed was a good quality King-size bed. It's really comfortable!

Swimming pool is a disappointment if u hv children who need to waddle in kids' pool. It is so small and boring (just a small squarish pool) tt i bet your kid will not be interested to jump in! The adults' pool maybe a little congested during peak season as it is a little small too. Otherwise, the setting created makes swimming there quite relaxing.

Nevertheless, i still enjoyed my stay. Love the huge toilet with standing shower. Love the toiletries provided by Tea Tree Spa, unlike many other hotels' toiletries! Love the swaying palm trees planted just outside the hotel, makes me feel tt i'm holidaying!

Not forgetting the bf buffet...yum yum!

Stayed: December 2007
13  Thank Deboet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,843)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 1,843 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2007

I stayed there over the weekend and the hotel room and the facilities met expectations as they're new. However, the services and management of the place were lacking. For example, there were 2 of us but we were only given 2 small towels and when I called house-keeping for 2 big towels, the staff informed that they were unable to provide them as they're running out of towels due to high capacity. After much negotiation, we manage to wrangle one extra towel. The toilet bowl had old stains and it did not looked like it was throughly cleaned for a while.

Though the room has a good view of the sea, we also had to put up with disturbing sights of dead and decomposing birds that were on the roof of the annex building.

The hotel was not full capacity (only up to 14 floors were opened), there was already insufficient parking space. Plus, it was crowded during breakfast and additional tables have to be placed along the corridor to cope with the crowd. Nevertheless, the buffet breakfast spread was good.

Overall, this hotel didn't meet expectations esp when it's supposed a global chain of hotels with some sort of service and room maintenance standards.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveller_603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Brand new hotel with lots of space, parking and large rooms. We had a straits facing room and its beautiful. The buffet breakfast and dinner is value for money. Best of all Kids Eat Free. My kids loved the swimming pool and the large lobby area to run around (not that I encouraged them for the noise created).

Housekeeping is efficient, with baby cot delivered as requested. Perhaps due to the promotion, there are bus loads of tourists and group travellers. We cannot have early check-in and the breakfast is packed with people. Nevertheless, the hotel is design to accommodate such large crowds as the dining area can be extended and food replenished timely. Pity the housekeeping staff who work hard to keep up with the guests. I have to say they did a good job just to be able to honour the 3pm check-in time.

I think after the promotion period, things will be back to normal. The service will be even better. Its good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank davidhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

i went there last week i.e on 6-9 December 2007. My first day there was quite ok..but the only problem occured during breakfast time.. i admitted that there were a lot of guesses there in the morning..but the problem is the service there was very slow.. i have to wait about 15mins for new dishes to be replaced..and it was tasteless..not much choices to be made..

but one thing is good about the hotel is the location in downtown.can just walk to mahkota parade and dataran pahlawan.but u don't worry if u don't have transport as they have shuttle van going around melaka town.every 2hours..

the swimming pool is quite ok..not so interesting but the view was ok

the staff need to be more friendly..

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank d_irfan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

The Holiday Inn Malacca is a brand new hotel with a beautiful view to the Straits of Malacca. It has a cleverly designed swimming pool that seems to flow over the building and blend in with the Straits of Malacca. My friend's husband tried the massage and spa and was very happy with it. However, unlike the Men's spa which has a jacuzzi, the Ladies spa only has sauna and steam room.
My room was spacious and looked clean but on closer look, I found a stain on the duvet cover. My friends too found a stain on their bedsheet in their room and had to place a towel over it in order not to have to sleep on the stain. Looks like housekeeping has to do a better job. Furthermore, after I had checked out of my room, I had to use the toilets on the Lobby Level but found every toilet cubicle to be dirty.
The buffet breakfast was good as there was a good variety of juices, fruits, nuts, salad, eggs, noodles, etc. I especially liked the freshly made pancakes.
I found the location of the hotel to be alright as it was possble to walk to the various attractions and my favourite Peranakan restaurants on Melaka Raya.
Overall my experience at the hotel had been good and yes, I would stay at the hotel again.
But the next time I go to Malacca from Singapore, I would take a bus that goes directly to the hotel (like what the previous reviewer did) instead of one that goes to Malacca Sentral as the taxi ride from Malacca Sentral to the hotel costs 15 Ringgit and the ride from the hotel to Malacca Sentral 20 Ringgit. Furthermore, I would not take a bus that makes a rest-stop at Yong Peng (as the place is filthy esp. the toilets). Unlike the previous reviewer who was lucky to travel on a clean and comfortable bus, the Transtar bus that I travelled on to Malacca was dirty and badly maintained. The curtains were tethered and torn and the back of the seat in front of me was falling off. I have read on the Forum page of this website that it's best to travel to Malacca by Transtar as it uses its own buses but this is not true. This was also confirmed by a Transtar staff who said that Transtar only uses its own buses for the Singapore-KL route and not the Malacca route. For the return journey to Singapore, we took a bus that was galloping like a horse. According to my friend who was travelling with me, it was probably because the shock absorber of the bus was spoilt. Another thing that left many of the passengers on my bus unhappy was that the bus driver disappeared for more than 50 minutes during a rest-break of 20 minutes (this time was announced by the driver when we got off the bus) at Yong Peng. When he finally returned more than 30 minutes late, there was not a word of apology. When asked why he was late, he just said that he went to take his shower.

Stayed: November 2007
16  Thank Ann_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Went on a 2 Nite hotel stay package with Five Star Travel. (The coach was perfect, seat was comfortable & coach is clean)
The Coach drove us right to the doorstep of this hotel (right next to mahkota Hotel, Melaka) & it was such a wonderful feeling to be welcome by the doorman with everything new around me.
The check in was abit slow (Someone step in btw my checkin to ask about his reservation) but nevertheless it was all done under 15min. The checking Out was also slow due to many people checking out at the same time & also a glitch with their computer system. We have a 1hr late check out ( Hotel check out time was 11am but we request an extension & were given until 12noon).

Our room was on a high floor as per my personal request to the Hotel. Room was big for a twin room & everything was new.

Bathroom (Was a good size)
The amenities in the bathroom was perfectly good (TeaTree product) with other standard 5star Hotel amenities . We have a bathtub, with a good massage type shower head.

Bedroom (big too)
In The room, There are beverages (Tea & Coffee bag) complimentary for guest & the electric kettle was new too (Nothing in the fridge - Which is good, as I used the empty fridge for drink that I bought from the supermarket (Which is cheaper). Cup & glasses are provided.

There is Ironing Board, Iron, 2 Bathrobe inside the closet & A room Safe that don't work for me (After trying more than 5 time.(following the instruction). A LCD TV that have channel like: Phoenix, Channel U (SG Channel), Channel News Asia, BBC, Local TV & Others. There is internet connection in the room & connection was easy. A side day chair by the window which over look the beautiful city.

Bed was abit hard (make one feel new) but atleast it is Not sinking in the middle yet.

The 2 Big shopping is just right across the road from the Hotel (Mahkota Parade & dataran Pahlawan). They are still trying to complete the extension to Dataran Pahlawan Mall with a Carrefour. Many stores in both Mall (A Big Padini Concept store).
And the famous San Shu Gong Local product store).

If you are lazy to walk to the Red house (The Stadthuys-clock Tower), the Hotel provide complimentary shuttle service to this place & also To Dataran Pahlawan Megamall. The service depart every 2hr from 10am to 10pm. And will pick you up & back to hotel too. You will need to book the trip with the hotel (For both going out & picking up back).

Pool? Gym? I leave that to my next visit, which would be real soon & hope they dun increase their rates. As they have apply for star rating and i hope they are successful. Everyone in the hotel was very helpful & courtesy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
24  Thank Me^Only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My experience with Holiday Inn was good. A brand new hotel in the heart of Melaka city. Just a stone throw away from Melaka most happening shopping mall, Mahkota Parade.
I've booked the cheapest room in the hotel, which is the city facing room. To my surprise, the room is very spacious. View from room is not bad at all.
Just as the previous comment mention, everything is new, so there is nothing to complaint about! Love the room, love the bathroom, love the pool, and most importantly, love the friendly service!
The price for a massage at the TeaTree Spa is a bit steep though.
I did get to try their buffet breakfast. Lot's of variety and taste good.
The food at the Kopi Counter at the lobby is also not bad.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Melaka and this is definitely the only hotel I will recommend from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank UncleHooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melaka

Address: Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
#2 Business Hotel in Melaka
#4 Family Hotel in Melaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $53 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Melaka is the choice for families and business travelers who are looking for a relaxing base with award-winning service, close proximity to shopping and business district, all in a new contemporary setting. This hotel in Melaka boasts an unrivaled location, residing on the stylish waterfront overlooking the Straits of Melaka, with easy access to the hidden gems surrounding Bandar Hilir or shopping around at Melaka Raya. Retreat to the 275-rooms including deluxe, suites, and Kids Suite with featuring Wi-Fi Internet service throughout the hotel. Soak in the fun at the hotel's infinity pool complimented by a picturesque view. Conduct business and meetings in comfort with its state of the art function rooms and pillar-less ballroom, all with floor to ceiling windows for natural sunlight. Discover a brand new you at the Balinese inspired Tea Tree Spa by pampering yourselves with its wide range of treatments. At es.Sense kitchen, indulge in the international favourites and local inspired cuisines such as Baba Nyonya and authentic Peranakan. Then there is Sirocco Italian Restaurant, a relaxed dining outlet serving the best wood fired pizza in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melaka Hotel Melaka
Melaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing