We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Heeren Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heeren Inn
Ranked #36 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was travelling solo for the weekend and I arrived in Malacca at 10.30am after a 2.5hr from Johor. I wandered around looking for a basic clean hotel that was an easy walk from the action. I stumbled upon Heeren Inn & I asked at the desk about a double room with own bathroom. The rate was RM90 per night which was a lot cheaper than other places I had enquired at. I asked to see the room & it was great; own shower & toilet, double bed, desk, TV and small wardrobe plus air-conditioning and a window which opened. The hoteI is 1 street from Jonkers Walk with lots of restaurants fro breakfast, lunch & dinner and quite a few small bars also. Jonkers walk also turns into a night market every night. I stayed for 2 nights and it was exactly what i wanted at the right price. They also gave me a free parking space at the rear of the hotel.
My recommendation is whenever possible travel to your destination then find accommodation. You can then shop around and get what you want in the right area for the right price.

Room Tip: The most of the second floor rooms have exterior windows. Ask for one as the you can get fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisadolphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The location is great, 2 minutes walk to all the main sites and restaurant you will go to, fort, jonker walk. Yet located in a quiet street, quiet enough you will not hear the night music buzzing. There is nothing fantastic about the hotel itself or its service. The owner is a no nonsense guy, will not likely go out of his way to help you in a sticky situation. Clean enough beds for those who are not too picky. Triple room and family rooms available is great for the budget minded. Most rooms are not carpeted, I like that because its less dusty. Some don't like that as it can be more noisy. Good value for the location. The 4* rating is purely for the Location, Value and Sleep quality NOT for the service. I stayed here every time I am in Melaka for 15 years. No complain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows facing outside, for less damp and sun light will help sanitize the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenderlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Reasonable price for what we got.

The bathroom sink was a bit small but that wasn't much of a bother. My family of 4 took the family room and the beds were comfortable and clean.

The ceiling and walls in some places need a bit of a paint job, it looks like it leaks when it rains. The guy at the counter was not the friendliest though...

But all in all we had a wonderful nights sleep, and the place was clean and homey.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a long window on the corner. If you open it, people can see inside your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonhagedorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

For the price it seems like a pretty good option.
We also slept very fine due to the rooms in the back, that had no noise from the street.
The service was professional poleight, but nothing more.

We could stay here again, but I dont think that we would return to Melaka.
The city seems to be pretty overrated.
But taste is different!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Malacca is a fantastic destination in Malaysia. The city is well known for its historical center, listed as UNESCO World Heritage Site. To experience Malacca the best way, we always make sure we stay at a guesthouse near Jonker Street.

Parallel to the popular Jonker Street there is Heeren Street with many guesthouses for travelers with various budgets. Hotel Heeren Inn is a decent guesthouse where you can have a room for less than RM100 per night. The location of the hotel is perfect; you reach Jonker Street after a 2 minute walk. We stayed there for two nights (check in 04/11/2010) and had a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms are quite basic, but have all that is needed for a few nights stay in Malacca. All are air-conditioned. Toilet room is tiny; the shower, sink and toilet are all packed in tiny area. Communal fridge and hot water are available on the ground floor!

If you are traveling on a budget, then Heeren Inn might be the right hotel for you.

Room Tip: The room at the back of the hotel is biggest and it has a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chanced upon this hotel while looking for another guesthouse with a similar name. After taking a look inside some of the rooms, we decided to camp here. At RM90 for a standard double bed, it cannot get better than this. We got a very clean room,albeit a little small, with fresh towels and bed sheets. The bathroom was also quite clean with hot shower and good water pressure at all times. The AC was a bit too powerful so remember to ask for an extra blanket.
Contrary to one of the reviewers who complained about smoking everywhere - we noticed that this hotel was smoke-free (so were most of the streets in Melaka).Overall, I would rate this as a good, no-frills hotel, ideal for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family of 3 stayed from Aug 30 to Sep 1, 2011 in the family room. Henry and Marica are warm and excellent hosts. Inn is in the center of Melaka's tourist core area. Given the lack of quality accommodations in Melaka, would recommend Heeren Inn. (Holiday Inn is a bit too far from the tourist areas, and a brand new luxury property, Rio de Casa, is located next to the Melaka river, are other alternatives.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#33 of 166 in Melaka
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
5 Heeren Museum Residence
5 Heeren Museum Residence
#25 of 166 in Melaka
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#47 of 166 in Melaka
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heeren Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren Inn

Property: Heeren Inn
Address: 23 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heeren Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing