We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good rooms,excellent a/c, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heeren Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren Inn
Ranked #42 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, good rooms,excellent a/c, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

No more grumpy landlord, no more soft beds and bed bugs! Recently installed a/c is very effective. Only things missing are phones, fridges and international TV programmes, but there is a communal fridge available, so who needs the other things!
Central atrium makes the hotel user friendly for smokers.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room around the central atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITN087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

There is nothing special about the Heeren Inn, except for the really rude owner. After staying there one night we had just had it with him and had to get out. He lectures you about all the do's and don'ts for about 10 minutes upon check-in, tries to push you into upgrading to a larger room, and then charges you extra for a password for the wi-fi. (it's not included, as it usually is in hotels in Malaysia)
The next morning we had him banging on the door 30 minutes prior to check-out and again 5 minutes prior to check-out, when we told him to take a hike he got furious.

Really, there are 13 to the dozen of hotels like this in Malacca, it's not particularly cheap, and I'm sure you can find a much nicer place with some customer service in the mix, too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oslopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Couldn't find another place so due to the heat decided to stay a night. Rooms looked ok upon arriving, but where really dirty, the bed was way to soft and although i didn't see them, but the whole place screamed bedbugs.

The wifi costs 5rm a day and doesn't didn't work in our room. And the owner turns the wifi off at midnight. We told him about the not working wifi and he didn't want to do anything about it.

We stayed in the room right next to the stairs (1double +1single) and we found it was really noisy.

But the worst of it all was that he was not friendly at all, when we checked out he didn't even look at us, didn't say anything.

The only positive thing is the location, but since there are more than enough hotels around, just find another!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

The place on Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock is easy to locate and merely a hop and a skip from Jonker Walk.

Phoned in a last minute booking the day before and reserved the deluxe (king-sized bed) room at 98RM (no breakfast).

Our room's window shutter opened into the courtyard of the shophouse so it was nice and quiet. The air-conditioning was powerful (especially useful for beating the blazing heat outside) and the shower worked well. The lack of shower curtain meant most of the bathroom got splashed.

The inn would be perfect if not for the one downside - a very soft mattress. The experience was only bearable when lying on my back. Wonder if it is possible to request for a room with a firmer bed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

this place is quiet, clean and well situated in the heart of historical center Net price 98 RM for a spacious room with TV (no cable ), not inc. breakfast. They've a cheap and very good laundry service.
Reception can book taxi to KL airport RM160. Easy and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudineBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I stayed in Heeren Inn last weekend (Friday night) with my boyfriend. I Googled for the right information but as usual you get crappy one-liner reviews and no pictures. So here's my review of Heeren Inn. it was founded by a White guy during the colonial occupation in Malaya (now Malaysia) Guy went back to UK and sold it off to locals. Right now for the past 7 years its been managed by a Chinese couple (the wife is a pretty lady!), their maids and kids. Pretty much a family affair. Its located right IN JONKER STREET, so all you have to do is walk out of the hotel and you can pretty much tour all the hot-spots from there. Rooms are great (right now there is some construction going on at the back of the hotel, so try to avoid getting rooms at the back. I stayed in Room 208) My view wasnt great, all bricks and mortar but if you get the front or middle view its a bit cooler and less dustier. My room was very neat and well used. I loved the full-length window they had. It reminded me of my childhood spent in my father's shop. Mind you, old buildings in Malacca are more than 150 feet long, this hotel was probably 200 feet back to back.

Toilet:
Hot shower
Air Cond:
Moderate, adjustable
TV:
Not so good reception, local channels. No cable
Bed:
I took RM88 package so It was a medium size. For add RM10, you get King Size
Cupboard:
Big enough to fit your bags
Payment
CASH ONLY. Credit card not acceptable!
Breakfast
Not provided. Water filter on Ground floor
Home made cookies for sale (yes, really! she bakes them every afternoon with her maids)
Books left from previous travelers to read and pass time
WIfi all day long for RM 5 (per day)


Pros
I booked on phone ON THE DAY before I arrived (called in the morning, reached in the afternoon at about 5)
I reached there and I hadn't any cash on me as I had expected them to take Credit Card but then the lady said, it's ok, you can pay later!! Wohoo!! You can't get it any better than this!! And they don''t even ask for your IC/Passport. All you have to do is write in your details in a piece of form and you get your room keys right away! Check out was also a breeze. They don't ask for deposit, so all you got to do is return your keys and walk out!

Pet Peeves

My old disappointment was the size of the wash basin. It was cute and adorable but unable to sustain much water. If you are a tall person you will have to bend halfway. The toilet was positioned right next to the wall, so I had to sit sideways. Shower cubicle was nice.

How to get there

Take any bus from KL Pudu Bus hub to Malacca. Shouldn't cost you any more than RM 12.20. Make sure they go to Malacca Sentral!! From there, get any taxi (cost you only RM 15 to get to Jonker Street area) Most taxi drivers know the hotel names by heart.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is a decent choice in the heart of Malacca Chinatown. The main sites and dining options are right around you. I paid MYR 88 for a windowed room at the back. The A/C worked fine. There were no bedbugs and the owner was pretty friendly. They have free wireless access but only in the commons area, otherwise it is very weak, and only between around 8 AM and 11 PM. They have terminals for free internet access. The owner's restaurant recommendations were spot on.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#39 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinz Boutique Hotel
Vinz Boutique Hotel
#38 of 206 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heeren Straits Hotel
Heeren Straits Hotel
#18 of 206 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#16 of 206 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernloft Malacca The Heritage Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heeren Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren Inn

Property: Heeren Inn
Address: 23 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing