We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with nearby shop area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Ranked #104 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Relatively new and clean hotel with basic amenities. Just a few minutes walk to nearby shop lots (food, bakery, 7-11 etc). About 15-20 minutes walk to Jonker Street.

At night the area can be a little quiet. The receptionists are not the friendliest but they are efficient enough. Breakfast is so-so: good enough to fill your stomach but not enough to tingle your taste buds.

I'd say this is slightly expensive for backpackers but the price may be okay for family vacation. The twin room is just moderately sized but the attached bathroom is relatively spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yukana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Bed had bed protector. The pillowcases had protector too. Clean sheets, bath etc. good location. The housekeeping could improve by shutting the 'door' quietly. keep it up!!!............................

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Midcity Hotel with my family in June which is peak season. Hence hotel was quite packed. In spite of this, the check-in process was smooth. We booked 2 deluxe rooms and was allocated rooms 601 and 602. Only one cardkey was issued for each room. We tried to ask for extra card keys but was told by the receptionist that only one extra card key can be issued per check-in despite booking 2 rooms - strange rules.

The rooms are clean and new. Plenty of space to put luggages. Complete toiletry sets were provided (shower gel, comb, toothbrush, shaver, cotton bud etc). Bed is firm but fairly comfortable. I like the lighting concept in the room - bright and good. However, we have some minor issues with the aircon unit in room 602. It was not able to cool the room at all. We called in a hotel technician to assist us. Help came within 10mins and issue fixed. The other issue was that on the hotel website, it states that the hotel provides statellite channels, but only 6 local channels were provided, however we manage to catch some worldcup matches thru one of the channels.

The hotel location is reasonably good, with a number of nonya, chinese, korean restaurants nearby. It's livelier at night. Most resturants open till quite late during the weekend. Only10 mins walk to the city malls.

Hotel breakfast was not too impressive though. Minimalist but food were refilled timely.

Although we encountered a couple of minor issues, overall I would rate this hotel somewhere between satisfactory to good. I will definately come back and will recommend Midcity hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HW_TEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed in a family room,with 2king size beds.would have preferred with 2single beds for my teenager but the receptionist said only possible with a family suite ..no free upgrade was given,like what another reviewer had got..guess it was the peak period. Thats why..Overall, nice size and the best thing was the shower! My kids really liked it. Near eateries, 10mins walk to Palawan and mahkota parade.free parking and away from the crowd but stil convenient.dont expect too much for breakfast though.. Good price overall..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VCHMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went there last weekend and stayed for one night. This hotel was newly opened and we get the price at a very good rate due to the promotion. The location is next to restoran tiga abdul and just 5 minutes away to A' Famosa, river cruise and dataran pahlawan.
The room is very small and for muslim, it only can accommodate one person at one time for prayer. As for buffet breakfast it is very limited choice with only bread, fried rice, coffee, tea, orange cordial, fried chicken, sosej, cornflakes and fried mee.
If based on their normal board rate, i think there would be other better choice surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zue065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is very near to the main attraction at Melaka as it only a walking distance to secret recipe and etc. Not very far from Dataran Pahlawan and Plenty of place to enjoy local food such as Asam Pedas and satay. The staff is very helpful and always smile. Room condition is superb as it is a new hotel. breakfast is okay although they served in ala carte instead of buffet because not many guest during my visit . I got room facing the "Selat Melaka" and it is nice enjoying the view during night. The roof cafe are still under construction "I think as no sign of people visiting". overall I am satisfy during my visit and surely come here again.

Room Tip: ask for room facing Strait of Malacca and if you travel with family please ask for the family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My friend booked this hotel via Agoda. However, she has booked the date wrongly. So she has called up the hotel personally and informed to change the date and the front desk personnel said ok. Upon arrival, they couldn't find our booking and when told about the changes, nobody seems to remember the changes. So the front desk staff re-entered our booking date and upgraded us to a junior suit. We were happy to b upgraded and there was a single bed and a double bed. ( we booked a deluxe room with an extra bed) Over all was good. Parking behind the hotel is free, but it is limited. If you choose to park your car right in front of the hotel, then make sure you buy the coupon and place it in your car wind screen. Breakfast too basic and not that great in taste. But no problem, lots of good food outside d main road.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shu Fen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#46 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#24 of 168 in Melaka
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#55 of 168 in Melaka
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
AL33 Leisure Hotel
AL33 Leisure Hotel
#84 of 168 in Melaka
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#81 of 168 in Melaka
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midcity Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midcity Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 499 Jalan Melaka Raya 12, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $25 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midcity Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Midcity Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing