We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gd place to stay for price paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gd place to stay for price paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very gd location and safe parking(if you are driving). We walked to jonker, makotha parade, palawan mall . Very clean rooms, very comfortable for us.
Can hear people talking or footsteps when they pass by (usually morning/night when ppl go in or out) but other then that it's really a gd place to stay. added a bed for the kids and still V spacious.
Has free wifi

Room Tip: All rooms are gd the noise lvl is minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsPiglet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    239
    138
    12
    14
See reviews for
132
93
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd time staying here. Room given to me seem smaller and smaller. Good to see that they are expanding and new facilities have been added.

Good location and safe parking. We walked to jonker, makotha parade, palawan mall and sightseeing.

A helpful staff by the name of Chye is always hanging around at the hotel offering help to all guests. I saw him bringing a guest around as a guide. He offered help to us during our stay too.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel. The room is clean comes with wifi, coffee/tea making facilities and tv. It does not have safe and fridge in the room.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SforSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went on a cycling tour from Singapore to Malaysia. Our group booked rooms for 30 of us at Fenix Inn.
It is a no frills hotel and very affordable. The rooms are clean, has a TV and hot showers. I am also particular about clean rooms and bed. The room are clean and bedsheets fresh.
The key selling point of this inn is its proximity to the shopping, massage spas, restaurants just mere walking distance.
I enjoyed myself at this inn as I find it adequate for a tired traveler who just want a hot shower, a quick meal, a massage before jumping into a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main road. And if you hate climbing up the stairs, ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesTanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to Malacca as a group of friends and had booked 2 triple rooms. The rooms were without windows, and one of the rooms were located near the staircase. Hence, each time someone used the stairway, we could hear the footsteps, thankfully we were heavy sleepers.

Fenix Inn is located near shopping malls (with movie theatre, karaoake, arcades) and there's even massage centers opposite it. One of the malls were recently renovated and started bringing in international brands such as uniqlo.

Overall the rooms were clean, sufficient for a one night no fuss stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were finally given a room with window overlooking the main road. Good. The window was important to us as we feel claustrophobic otherwise. Bed was a little hard - we had backache the next day. A bonus was that it overlooks 'Little Nonya'. Nice eateries nearby. New dim sum restaurant a street away. Good and Chinese food, reasonably priced, at Transasia Restaurant nearby. Free valet parking service. Generally, polite and helpful staff. Thanks.
Vviien Ler

Room Tip: Room with window if you like to look out. Main building has better wifi connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Vivien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Though this small establishment, it's just simple with no frills. Affordable for most, families can book multiple rooms for parents & kids without burning a hole in anyone's pocket. Staying here, you're smack in the middle of all the shopping, movies, eateries & restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for a short trip.

Pros:
1. Close to malls
2. Close to main historic attractions
3. Free valet parking service
4. Fast check-in

Cons:
1. Shower head and pipe wasnt clean - there was fungus growing on it.
2. Cleaner vacuuming the floor at 8AM while we were still sleeping
3. You can hear noise from the next room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing