We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #16 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 3rd time staying here. Room given to me seem smaller and smaller. Good to see that they are expanding and new facilities have been added.

Good location and safe parking. We walked to jonker, makotha parade, palawan mall and sightseeing.

A helpful staff by the name of Chye is always hanging around at the hotel offering help to all guests. I saw him bringing a guest around as a guide. He offered help to us during our stay too.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel. The room is clean comes with wifi, coffee/tea making facilities and tv. It does not have safe and fridge in the room.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SforSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    244
    143
    12
    14
See reviews for
137
96
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went on a cycling tour from Singapore to Malaysia. Our group booked rooms for 30 of us at Fenix Inn.
It is a no frills hotel and very affordable. The rooms are clean, has a TV and hot showers. I am also particular about clean rooms and bed. The room are clean and bedsheets fresh.
The key selling point of this inn is its proximity to the shopping, massage spas, restaurants just mere walking distance.
I enjoyed myself at this inn as I find it adequate for a tired traveler who just want a hot shower, a quick meal, a massage before jumping into a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main road. And if you hate climbing up the stairs, ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesTanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to Malacca as a group of friends and had booked 2 triple rooms. The rooms were without windows, and one of the rooms were located near the staircase. Hence, each time someone used the stairway, we could hear the footsteps, thankfully we were heavy sleepers.

Fenix Inn is located near shopping malls (with movie theatre, karaoake, arcades) and there's even massage centers opposite it. One of the malls were recently renovated and started bringing in international brands such as uniqlo.

Overall the rooms were clean, sufficient for a one night no fuss stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were finally given a room with window overlooking the main road. Good. The window was important to us as we feel claustrophobic otherwise. Bed was a little hard - we had backache the next day. A bonus was that it overlooks 'Little Nonya'. Nice eateries nearby. New dim sum restaurant a street away. Good and Chinese food, reasonably priced, at Transasia Restaurant nearby. Free valet parking service. Generally, polite and helpful staff. Thanks.
Vviien Ler

Room Tip: Room with window if you like to look out. Main building has better wifi connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Vivien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Though this small establishment, it's just simple with no frills. Affordable for most, families can book multiple rooms for parents & kids without burning a hole in anyone's pocket. Staying here, you're smack in the middle of all the shopping, movies, eateries & restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for a short trip.

Pros:
1. Close to malls
2. Close to main historic attractions
3. Free valet parking service
4. Fast check-in

Cons:
1. Shower head and pipe wasnt clean - there was fungus growing on it.
2. Cleaner vacuuming the floor at 8AM while we were still sleeping
3. You can hear noise from the next room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a very pleasant 5-day stay. It is just next to 3 large shopping malls, including the new extension of the high-end Melaka Megamall. Only 15 minutes' walk to Jonker Street. Staff were extremely helpful and responded to our concern of unreliable FREE wifi seriously. They made us free machine coffee 7am-5pm on request. When we booked the hotel shuttle to the bus station, the Duty Manager drove us in a car early in the morning. As there is no elevator in the 3-storey building, ask for lower floor if available. It was not hard to carry our heavy suitcases to the first floor.

Room Tip: Lower floor because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 432Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#31 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing