We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #21 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to Malacca as a group of friends and had booked 2 triple rooms. The rooms were without windows, and one of the rooms were located near the staircase. Hence, each time someone used the stairway, we could hear the footsteps, thankfully we were heavy sleepers.

Fenix Inn is located near shopping malls (with movie theatre, karaoake, arcades) and there's even massage centers opposite it. One of the malls were recently renovated and started bringing in international brands such as uniqlo.

Overall the rooms were clean, sufficient for a one night no fuss stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DawnKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 492 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were finally given a room with window overlooking the main road. Good. The window was important to us as we feel claustrophobic otherwise. Bed was a little hard - we had backache the next day. A bonus was that it overlooks 'Little Nonya'. Nice eateries nearby. New dim sum restaurant a street away. Good and Chinese food, reasonably priced, at Transasia Restaurant nearby. Free valet parking service. Generally, polite and helpful staff. Thanks.
Vviien Ler

Room Tip: Room with window if you like to look out. Main building has better wifi connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Vivien77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Though this small establishment, it's just simple with no frills. Affordable for most, families can book multiple rooms for parents & kids without burning a hole in anyone's pocket. Staying here, you're smack in the middle of all the shopping, movies, eateries & restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for a short trip.

Pros:
1. Close to malls
2. Close to main historic attractions
3. Free valet parking service
4. Fast check-in

Cons:
1. Shower head and pipe wasnt clean - there was fungus growing on it.
2. Cleaner vacuuming the floor at 8AM while we were still sleeping
3. You can hear noise from the next room

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a very pleasant 5-day stay. It is just next to 3 large shopping malls, including the new extension of the high-end Melaka Megamall. Only 15 minutes' walk to Jonker Street. Staff were extremely helpful and responded to our concern of unreliable FREE wifi seriously. They made us free machine coffee 7am-5pm on request. When we booked the hotel shuttle to the bus station, the Duty Manager drove us in a car early in the morning. As there is no elevator in the 3-storey building, ask for lower floor if available. It was not hard to carry our heavy suitcases to the first floor.

Room Tip: Lower floor because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 432Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to all amenities. Value for money. Clean rooms. Excellent hospitality. Definitely worth staying there again. Kudos to all staff for their warmth reception. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UMeNUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My 2nd time staying in the inn but this time using the 'senior citizen' promotion. Upon our check in they gave us a room on the 3rd level, we requested for lower level but was told the hotel was fully booked. So we walked up to the 3rd level and realised that we used the wrong stair so we started to look out for the signage and a staff assisted us and we walked up via another stairway to the 3rd level to the room. Upon seeing us panting, he shown concern and during our conversation we mentioned that the inn if promoting for senior citizen'' package should plan to provide the rooms at lower floors. He immediately called the reception and I guessed they told him there were no room, but he requested us to wait, and in less than 3 minutes he got back and moved us to the 2nd level. This was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#11 of 167 in Melaka
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $26 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing