We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #17 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for a short trip.

Pros:
1. Close to malls
2. Close to main historic attractions
3. Free valet parking service
4. Fast check-in

Cons:
1. Shower head and pipe wasnt clean - there was fungus growing on it.
2. Cleaner vacuuming the floor at 8AM while we were still sleeping
3. You can hear noise from the next room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swim_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    239
    140
    12
    14
See reviews for
132
93
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a very pleasant 5-day stay. It is just next to 3 large shopping malls, including the new extension of the high-end Melaka Megamall. Only 15 minutes' walk to Jonker Street. Staff were extremely helpful and responded to our concern of unreliable FREE wifi seriously. They made us free machine coffee 7am-5pm on request. When we booked the hotel shuttle to the bus station, the Duty Manager drove us in a car early in the morning. As there is no elevator in the 3-storey building, ask for lower floor if available. It was not hard to carry our heavy suitcases to the first floor.

Room Tip: Lower floor because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 432Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great location. Walking distance to all amenities. Value for money. Clean rooms. Excellent hospitality. Definitely worth staying there again. Kudos to all staff for their warmth reception. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UMeNUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My 2nd time staying in the inn but this time using the 'senior citizen' promotion. Upon our check in they gave us a room on the 3rd level, we requested for lower level but was told the hotel was fully booked. So we walked up to the 3rd level and realised that we used the wrong stair so we started to look out for the signage and a staff assisted us and we walked up via another stairway to the 3rd level to the room. Upon seeing us panting, he shown concern and during our conversation we mentioned that the inn if promoting for senior citizen'' package should plan to provide the rooms at lower floors. He immediately called the reception and I guessed they told him there were no room, but he requested us to wait, and in less than 3 minutes he got back and moved us to the 2nd level. This was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

hotel is clean and in the city center. Very close with mahkota parade mall, dataran palawan and mahkota hospital. Walking distance to Menara Taming Sari, Red buildings and Jonker. Hotel provide basic needs and plus with electric kettel, coffee and tea in the room. Hotel also provide pick up service from KLIA or KLC. Pick up service car is confortable and price not much different with taxi. Many food stalls nearby (chinese foods, indian, Mc Donald, choose what you want). Add more RMB 10, so you can get room with window. Price weekend (friday count as weekend), will be more expensive than weekdays. Mention you have Mahkota's hospital card, so you can get discount.

Room Tip: no elevator. So asking first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congmawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was quiet and clean, their staff was friendly. The location is close to 2 big shopping malls and there was a Starbucks just in a few walking steps and alot of restaurants nearby. About 15mins away drive to jonker street. I enjoy my stay here and definitely will come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms vary quite alot in size & design, but they are clean & have all the mod-cons you need for a comfortable stay. The hotel is close to Melacca's shopping district with 2 big shopping malls less than 5 minutes walk. Jonka Street & other tourist sights are just 15 minutes away. But, it's the service thaqt grabbed me -fast, efficient & friendly. I couldn't say one negative thing about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing