We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kudos to Mr Chai”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“kudos to Mr Chai”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My 2nd time staying in the inn but this time using the 'senior citizen' promotion. Upon our check in they gave us a room on the 3rd level, we requested for lower level but was told the hotel was fully booked. So we walked up to the 3rd level and realised that we used the wrong stair so we started to look out for the signage and a staff assisted us and we walked up via another stairway to the 3rd level to the room. Upon seeing us panting, he shown concern and during our conversation we mentioned that the inn if promoting for senior citizen'' package should plan to provide the rooms at lower floors. He immediately called the reception and I guessed they told him there were no room, but he requested us to wait, and in less than 3 minutes he got back and moved us to the 2nd level. This was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    242
    140
    12
    14
See reviews for
133
94
38
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

hotel is clean and in the city center. Very close with mahkota parade mall, dataran palawan and mahkota hospital. Walking distance to Menara Taming Sari, Red buildings and Jonker. Hotel provide basic needs and plus with electric kettel, coffee and tea in the room. Hotel also provide pick up service from KLIA or KLC. Pick up service car is confortable and price not much different with taxi. Many food stalls nearby (chinese foods, indian, Mc Donald, choose what you want). Add more RMB 10, so you can get room with window. Price weekend (friday count as weekend), will be more expensive than weekdays. Mention you have Mahkota's hospital card, so you can get discount.

Room Tip: no elevator. So asking first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank congmawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was quiet and clean, their staff was friendly. The location is close to 2 big shopping malls and there was a Starbucks just in a few walking steps and alot of restaurants nearby. About 15mins away drive to jonker street. I enjoy my stay here and definitely will come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms vary quite alot in size & design, but they are clean & have all the mod-cons you need for a comfortable stay. The hotel is close to Melacca's shopping district with 2 big shopping malls less than 5 minutes walk. Jonka Street & other tourist sights are just 15 minutes away. But, it's the service thaqt grabbed me -fast, efficient & friendly. I couldn't say one negative thing about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel overall was clean and quiet. There is no elevator, so you need to walk up the stairs.
When we arrived, there were too many people checking in so there was no welcome drink or anything but its okay. :)
The rooms are not huge. Budget, but clean. Nice place to stay. Very near to Jonker street, malls, Starbucks etc.
Downside was the tight parking space.

Room Tip: Get first floor rooms so you don't have to walk up so many flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjunk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

fenix inn's location is just 3 minutes away from shopping area. There are 3 shopping mall in that area, mahkota parade mall, hatten square and melaka megamall. And if you go to melaka for medical examination in mahkota medical centre (mmc), the hotel had special price for mmc patient. Check at mmc website.

The hotel physical structure is good, still looks new and modern. The room is quite small, but very clean and service was good and friendly. Room with window availability is limited since its locate at commercial complex building. If you go there by car, maybe you'll find difficulty, since it has limited car park.

Room Tip: dont pick room near stairs, as it more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyRandias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Johor, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fenix Inn's environment very nice, and also at a good location
There are many shopping complex there and also near to jonker street, in front of the Hotel is DAORAE KOREAN RESTAURANT
And also the car jonkey and counter service is totally nice...

Room Tip: If you're 5 people, U can choose Family Quay room and request add 1 more bed (RM40)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing