We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impression Counts ..”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #16 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Impression Counts ..”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayover @ Fenix Inn on 11 to 12 Feb.

Pros
Accessable to malls and eateries (McD, Starbucks, Grocery store etc)
Reception is a swift
Clean and pleasant environment
Kettle available in room
Wifi reliable
Parking reliable

Cons
Really need to walk up individual rooms (family with small kids to take note unless u dont mind)
Bathroom toiletries are minimum

Overall my stay with Fenix Inn was a pleasant one except for the location of our room. We have room with window BUT when we drew the curtain, our window overlook the corridor : (

Will put Fenix Inn into my option to stay on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Norish,
Thank You for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your most recent trip to Malacca! We sincerely value your feedback which will enable us to improve further

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and also our facilities and services during your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused in which we do not have lifts available in our hotel however, we are delighted to offer our Bell Service who will handle all your requests on luggage handling

We have certainly taken note of your suggestions for our improvement this year.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future for a more comfy and refreshed stay!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    244
    143
    12
    14
See reviews for
137
96
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Good and concerned valet parking staffs, friendly & knowledgeable reception staffs, affordable price. Room wise spacious and clean (new building), room C55, C56 & C59 on the 2nd Feb 2013. Good working air-condition also with consistent WIFI network (24hrs WIFI free service). TV with interesting channels and room with sufficient lightings. Bathroom with nice hot shower. Perfect location, walking distance to shopping malls and tourist attraction (Menara Taming Sari area). Hotel area peaceful and safe not that type of noisy roadside hotel during wee hours.

To more improve on service & accomodation, we suggest mini-bar (fridge) in rooms and in-plant hotel restaurant. Also a water hose near the toilet bowl for after use, there is only a tap.

Overall experience, good, reliable and will choose this hotel on my next visit to Melaka. To the hotel management & staffs, I appreciate all our request are being fulfilled from requesting ground level (eventhough we need to take the stairs to ground level??), side-by-side rooms, extra bed and to the extent of very fast and efficient delivery of the iron & ironing board upon request to all our rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mira_Arn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Mira_Arn,
Firstly, please allow me to Thank You for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable for us to improve further

We are certainly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location, security, rooms, facilities and services provided by our hotel during your stay. We have taken note of your suggestions for our improvement this year.

Furthermore, we are constantly looking forward for enhancement in our facilities and services in stages this year and our team and I look forward to welcome you and your family back to our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited Fenix Inn on 3rd February 2013. Value for money. Excellent location for Tourist going to Jonker Walk and A'Famosa. Nearby shopping malls, Dataran Pahlawan & Mahkota Parade. If you are just looking for a clean, comfortable and private bathroom without five stars hotel facilities (They do provide towel and shower gel), we strongly recommend Fenix Inn. Not our 1st time staying in Fenix Inn but always our 1st choice of first-class budget hotel when visiting Melaka. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: 1. Rooms are clean, secure and with private bathroom. 2. WIFI in room available. 3. Parking availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jack H,
A very big Thank You for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent trip to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your time for the feedback which will allow us to further improve

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services and the location of our hotel which is within close proximity of various entertainment, shopping, eateries and places of interests.

We have most recently renovated the rooms in our new Express wing and will continue to upgrade our Fenix wing in stages this year. Our team and I are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for a more comfy experience in the future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor but there were so many bad things about it, I don't even know where to start.

First impression of this place was very nice. Reception was clean and spacious and the air-condition was good. Checking in was a breeze and we even got a glass of juice each while waiting. (Btw, we were charged an extra RM2 per night for some kind of tax that was not stated anywhere on their website). Location was good as well. Unfortunately that's where it all ends.

There were no lifts but we did not mind as we already knew about it. The room however, left a lot to be desired. It was nothing like the images online. The floor was dirty and there were stains on the wall. The shower curtain in the bathroom was 1/4 of the way off the floor. The whole room grossed me out. I had to keep reminding myself that it was only for a couple of nights and it's not like we will be in the room during the day.

I called housekeeping as there were no soap in the bathroom. There was a knock 2 minutes later and I thought to myself, at least they have good service. Boy, was I wrong? It was someone from Housekeeping who hardly spoke English asking what I wanted.

The place is next to a Karaoke so can be quite noisy. What's worst was people shouting on the street in the middle of the night.

On our last day, we requested for a shuttle to the bus depot which cost RM20. It was all paid for and we reminded them of it at checkout. We were told that it was all fine. I enquired after 15 minutes have gone by the requested time and was told it wasn't coming. They will call a taxi for us instead and I was told it will be a couple of minutes. Five minutes went by, they guy told us it will be another 10 minutes. We had enough by then and went to look for a taxi ourselves, which took us less than a minute.

I know it's a case of you get what you pay for but we stayed at a few other places during our trip and none of the places are remotely close to how bad this place is.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear syoke,

Firstly, let us thank you for choosing our hotel as your ideal place to stay during your most recent trip to Malacca!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our lobby services which includes welcome drinks, cold towels and a fast check-in during your arrival. The RM2 tax per room per night is a compulsory Malacca Heritage tax payable on departure by every guest. This law was introduced in April 2012 and is a must for all types of accommodation in Malacca

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in which you found our cleanliness in your rooms below your expected standards and also the communication skills by our housekeeping staff an issue. Rest be assured, we have immediately looked into the cleanliness issue and constantly looking into training our team members to communicate effectively with our guests during requests

Our hotel shuttle service is a new addition to the facilities and services provided for the convenience of our guests in regards to transportation requirements and we have looked into this matter to ensure your experience will never re-occur in the future to any of our guests

Furthermore, the hotel has undergone some refurbishment works in our new Express wing and we will continue to upgrade our facilities and services in our Fenix wing in stages this year to ensure a more refreshed and comfy stay for all our guests.

On behalf of the management and staff, our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay and our team and I look forward to welcome you and your family back for a more pleasant stay during your next future visit to Malacca!

Best Regards,
Vivek Vadevelu
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was impressed when we turned up here as part of our G Adventures tour (some of the places we had stayed in left much to be desired!). The reception is large and clean, and we had a cold towel and juice on arrival. I didn't see if there were any lifts as we used the stairs. I would hope there is as it might be a bit awkward with lots of luggage. The room is small with no fridge, but it was good for what we needed. The bathroom is cosy as well, but the space to shower is decent. There's a shower curtain, but make sure you use the floor towel provided as you can't help but get the floor wet. I found the bed to be comfy and I had a good night's sleep, the sheets felt good quality as well. There's plug sockets by the bed and bed side lights, saving the need to get up when you're already half asleep.

The location is good, with a shopping centre just across the road. But the main road does get very busy so you have to be careful when there's no pedestrian crossings. It's about a 10/15 minute walk to the historic sightseeing areas/China town with lots and lots of rickshaws decorated in a vast array of colourful flowers pumping out Gangham Style! It's a decent place to stay for a night or two, more than that and I think it would get too cramped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Aisha K,

Thank you for staying us as part of the G-Adventure group during your trip to Malacca recently. Your feedback is valuable to us in order to further improve our facilities and services!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lobby services provided during your check-in. We have also taken note of your suggestions on improvement in our rooms. We will be enhancing our rooms, facilities and services in stages this year for a more comfy guest experience!

We certainly look forward to welcome you back again to our hotel should you be visiting Malacca in the future!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is in a good location. Just across the street is the shopping mall and near to many eating places. Valet parking was good. They were fast and helpful, as well as check-in was prompt.
The place is basic, value for your money but do not expect 5 star setting. Took the hotel MVP to Jonker Street for RM10 and was impress that the manager does the arrangement and come out to tell us the MPV will arrive in 10 mins. Coming back from Jonker St, we took a local taxi. We were charge RM15 for the short ride back.
Mine only negative feedback is the beds are too hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear dino1963,

A very sincere Thank You for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Malacca! We appreciate your feedback which is valuable for us to further improve on our facilities and services

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also our Valet Parking service! Our Valet Parking team take pride in the round the clock services provided and ensure the safety and security of our guests vehicles

Our newly introduced Shuttle Services, which provides services for our guests transportation needs, within Malacca and to other states in Malaysia, is being enhanced from time to time and we are happy to hear that you were serviced well during your stay!

We have taken note of your feedback on your experience with our bedding, rest be assured we will look into this matter

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future for comfy and refreshed experience!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

just got back. place is basic, bit no frills. no fridge in room. newer rooms are much better, slightly more spacious, better looking and functioning bathroom and tv reception. if you happen to use their 15RM shuttle service, make sure the counter staff process your request. we were told to give advance notice, which we did, but end up waiting for half an hour before the car came. and this was only after we took the initiative to check with the staff again, which happens to be the manager.and all this while nobody bothers about us sitting at the reception sofa (after receiving payment from us).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank woosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear woosy,

Please allow me to thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! Your feedback is valuable in order for us to further improve

We are glad to hear that you find our rooms in our new wing - Express, spacious and nice. These rooms were recently renovated to provide a more comfy feel to our guests. The hotel will be embarking on more enhancement of facilities and services in stages this year in our main wing.

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused in which you experienced delays in our shuttle service. The shuttle service is a new service introduced in Q4 of 2012, providing trips within Melaka and other parts of Malaysia and we are certainly working on areas of improvement in this department to ensure non occurrence of similar issues such as delays

We hope that you will come back and stay with us for a more comfy and refreshed experience in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#61 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#32 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
387 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing