We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #21 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is in a good location. Just across the street is the shopping mall and near to many eating places. Valet parking was good. They were fast and helpful, as well as check-in was prompt.
The place is basic, value for your money but do not expect 5 star setting. Took the hotel MVP to Jonker Street for RM10 and was impress that the manager does the arrangement and come out to tell us the MPV will arrive in 10 mins. Coming back from Jonker St, we took a local taxi. We were charge RM15 for the short ride back.
Mine only negative feedback is the beds are too hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dino1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear dino1963,

A very sincere Thank You for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Malacca! We appreciate your feedback which is valuable for us to further improve on our facilities and services

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also our Valet Parking service! Our Valet Parking team take pride in the round the clock services provided and ensure the safety and security of our guests vehicles

Our newly introduced Shuttle Services, which provides services for our guests transportation needs, within Malacca and to other states in Malaysia, is being enhanced from time to time and we are happy to hear that you were serviced well during your stay!

We have taken note of your feedback on your experience with our bedding, rest be assured we will look into this matter

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future for comfy and refreshed experience!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 492 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

just got back. place is basic, bit no frills. no fridge in room. newer rooms are much better, slightly more spacious, better looking and functioning bathroom and tv reception. if you happen to use their 15RM shuttle service, make sure the counter staff process your request. we were told to give advance notice, which we did, but end up waiting for half an hour before the car came. and this was only after we took the initiative to check with the staff again, which happens to be the manager.and all this while nobody bothers about us sitting at the reception sofa (after receiving payment from us).

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank woosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear woosy,

Please allow me to thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! Your feedback is valuable in order for us to further improve

We are glad to hear that you find our rooms in our new wing - Express, spacious and nice. These rooms were recently renovated to provide a more comfy feel to our guests. The hotel will be embarking on more enhancement of facilities and services in stages this year in our main wing.

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused in which you experienced delays in our shuttle service. The shuttle service is a new service introduced in Q4 of 2012, providing trips within Melaka and other parts of Malaysia and we are certainly working on areas of improvement in this department to ensure non occurrence of similar issues such as delays

We hope that you will come back and stay with us for a more comfy and refreshed experience in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our focus was to find a budget hotel, and Fenix Inn seemed to fit the bill.
Hotel is quite central, walking distance from old town. There are a lot of options for eating, and a short walking distance to a mall, which has a supermarket, and some shops.
The hotel itself has several buildings behind the main entrance, so we had to walk through a small alley to get to our room. It was a bit of a challenge climbing the stairs carrying our baby's buggy, but we got around it. since we stayed at this back building, street noise was ok.
the room has the bare minimum to make it a memorable place to stay, but overall the place was clean and just very basic. The hotel photos seem a bit unrealistic compared to the reality, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sre_jbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear sre_jbb,

Firstly, thank you you for choosing us as your hotel of choice during your recent visit to Malacca! Our feedback here is highly appreciated which will enable us to further improve in our facilities and services

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the location of our hotel which is close proximity of many shopping and food outlets! On the down side, we sincerely apologize for not having lifts in our property which caused in convenience to you. However, we do provide round the clock Bell service for all our guest who require assistance with luggage handling and assisting of our elderly guests

We will be enhancing our facilities and services in stages this year and our team and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I like the location of this hotel. It is near the major shopping complexes in central malacca. It is also near many restaurants offering local chinese and nyonya cuisine. The room is basic but clean. I wish they would hang the shower curtain lower so that the bathroom remains dry.
Room service is poor. It took many calls and many hours later before we could get extra towels and an extra bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbocyberdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Jimbocyberdoc,

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice during your recent trip to Malacca! Your feedback here is appreciated in order for us to further improve

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the location of our hotel which is within close proximity of shopping and food outlets. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in which our Housekeeping delivery time for your request was delayed. We have looked into this matter and will ensure proper training on delivery time to be met for all our guest requests

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back again in the future for a more comfy experience!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The room is clean except for the noise that come from the Karoke Pub next door, My room was the last room and share the wall with the pub, could hear the bass blasting away.
When I was there, the water heater was not working, the service man was not very professional, could not tell between hot and cold, I have to insist that he need to change the water heater and he finally agreed to it. he manage to change the water heater.

Room Tip: request for room away from the karaoke pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear yks007,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your recent visit to Malacca! We also sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable for our team to further improve

Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay in which you experienced issues with your water heater system. We have looked into this matter in all our other rooms as well and will best ensure this issue will not re-occur. In regards to the noise from the next door karaoke, we have spoken to the management of the outlet and will monitor this situation from time to time

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back in the future for a more enhanced stay!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was really the best budget hotel in Malacca. The hotel is near the Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade which make us easier to shopping. Besides, the hotel also have shuttle van where it can bring us to the place that we wan to go. This was nice:) The room charges is average , cleanness olso very good... The most important is services, Their services is excellent!!! Is really a best hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear LeeFB,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your visit to Malacca in Dec 2012. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable for us to improve further

We are extremely delighted to hear that you have rated us as one of the best budget hotel in Malacca! On top of this, it is fantastic to hear that you find our services excellent and I am sure our team will find your feedback a huge motivation factor to further improve!

We will be enhancing our facilities and services in stages this year and our team and I look forward to welcome you back for a more comfy stay in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

was at Melaka for only one night and friends didn't want to pay much for a hotel room that we hardly spend time in - that's why I've decided on Fenix Inn

We had change of plans several times and I had to email Fenix inn several times to change rooms etc - they were prompt and efficient in replying - one bonus point!

The location was fantastic! Very near to Shopping centres and coaches from Singapore do stopped nearby. There's convenience store, souvenirs shops and good restaurants nearby

Service was fantastic - efficient and polite. We even engaged their shuttle services and luggage service (Free) etc - price was good and service was good too.

Rooms are expected to be smaller but they are very clean and well-maintained. Basic stuff - e.g. hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, towel, shower gel/soap were available. There's water cooler / hot water on each floor too. But mind you that there's no lift - you might need to climb 2 floors up.

For RM 153 per room (standard twin/double-no windows) - I have really nothing but compliments for this first class budget hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satoyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear satoyuriko,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback which will enable us to further improve

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our reservation replies prompt, good location and our service fantastic! Your feedback will be a huge motivation for our team to further improve.

We have most recently enhanced our facilities and services and our team and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#33 of 167 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#11 of 167 in Melaka
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $26 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing