We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and great value to Stay”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #23 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was really the best budget hotel in Malacca. The hotel is near the Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade which make us easier to shopping. Besides, the hotel also have shuttle van where it can bring us to the place that we wan to go. This was nice:) The room charges is average , cleanness olso very good... The most important is services, Their services is excellent!!! Is really a best hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear LeeFB,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your visit to Malacca in Dec 2012. We sincerely appreciate your feedback which is valuable for us to improve further

We are extremely delighted to hear that you have rated us as one of the best budget hotel in Malacca! On top of this, it is fantastic to hear that you find our services excellent and I am sure our team will find your feedback a huge motivation factor to further improve!

We will be enhancing our facilities and services in stages this year and our team and I look forward to welcome you back for a more comfy stay in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 497 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

was at Melaka for only one night and friends didn't want to pay much for a hotel room that we hardly spend time in - that's why I've decided on Fenix Inn

We had change of plans several times and I had to email Fenix inn several times to change rooms etc - they were prompt and efficient in replying - one bonus point!

The location was fantastic! Very near to Shopping centres and coaches from Singapore do stopped nearby. There's convenience store, souvenirs shops and good restaurants nearby

Service was fantastic - efficient and polite. We even engaged their shuttle services and luggage service (Free) etc - price was good and service was good too.

Rooms are expected to be smaller but they are very clean and well-maintained. Basic stuff - e.g. hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, towel, shower gel/soap were available. There's water cooler / hot water on each floor too. But mind you that there's no lift - you might need to climb 2 floors up.

For RM 153 per room (standard twin/double-no windows) - I have really nothing but compliments for this first class budget hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satoyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear satoyuriko,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent trip to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback which will enable us to further improve

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our reservation replies prompt, good location and our service fantastic! Your feedback will be a huge motivation for our team to further improve.

We have most recently enhanced our facilities and services and our team and I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

impressed service at frontdesk,served with juice and hot towel :)room's condition is average,family room without window but air circulation is ok(honest notification from inn earlier before I make booking),air cond is well functioned odourless,walking distance to Dataran Pahlawan Shopping,Hatten Mall,A Famosa,Menara Taming Sari,RM15 to Junker Street by taxi,RM180 from Inn to LCCT (need to inform the Inn earlier for arrangement).For early bird can have breakfast at China Town Restaurant for Dim Sum which is also nearby Fenix Inn

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricca11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Ricca11,

A very big Thank You for your time and valuable feedback which will allow us to further improve on our facilities and services

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed the services provided by our Front Desk team. We are also excited to hear that you like our room and also the location of our hotel, close proximity to many places of interests and eateries in Melaka

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back again in the future and do keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

i've been to malacca a couple of times and prefer Fenix Inn..everything worth going to is just walking distance (the hill, jonkers, malls, food stalls)... and its peaceful and neat... best budget hotel i've been to in any asean country so far...

Room Tip: there are rooms at the building at the back... away from the streets, more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear MaLiro,

Thank you for choosing Fenix Inn as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your valuable time and feedback which will allow us to further improve

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The hotel has undergone some refurbishment work in stages recently and further enhancement works next year in order to provide a comfy guest experience

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

good clean place for sleep, and convenient jump off point to shopping malls (with food court), transpo (either taxi or bus) and tourist spots. they got a business center/internet cafe on the ground floor. felt safe to walk to this place even at night.

Room Tip: opt for a lower floor if you many bags to carry. light sleeper? choose a room that's not so near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaLiRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear RainXiao,

Thank You very much for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your time and valuable feedback which will allow us to improve further

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services during your stay

We have just completed some refurbishment works in our new Express wing and will continue to enhance our facilities and services further in stages next year to provide our guests a more comfy experience

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future and do keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel located in a small residential areas, two story building. I have to carry all my luggage, crossing a small yard by working. When I reach the main building where I live, no elevator, I have to carry my luggage to go up stairs step by step. The hotel is under decoration, Indoor bad smell is caused by house decoration mainly, and make me worry about formaldehyde. Inside room is clean, and bed sheet have good quality. Besides, the mattress is comfortable. Overall, I don't think it deserve the best value hotel in Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainXiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear RainXiao,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your most recent visit to Malacca! Your feedback is certainly valuable for us to improve further!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay in which you had difficulties with your luggage. We do provide Bell Service to all our guests who require assistance with their luggage during Arrival and Departure as we do not have elevators in our hotel at the moment.

Our hotel has just completed some renovation works in our new Express wing including a brand new lobby for check-in and check-out, for the convenience of our guests who are occupying the new wing.

We are planning to constantly improve our facilities and services in stages this year and next year as well in order to provide a more comfy guest experience

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The first day when i check in around 4pm, i have to wait for maybe 15 to 20 minute to get my room. I thought wasn't it supposed to be ready already? Anyway, it is fine as long i get my room.

Well, the room seem ok, just that the floor doesn't feel right to me. Feels like a little sticky to me.
Besides the floor, every thing is ok to me.

The location is strategic, every thing is just within walking distance.
You can find yourself restaurant, shopping mall, cab or anything. it is very convenient though.
And you have a parking valet here, that is a plus! I leave my car here and go straight to my plan.

I was hoping it will be nice if the hotel has it own cafe. Just that i no need to go search for food in the early morning as i can settle right away in the hotel. That day is Sunday in the morning, seem that lot of restaurant didn't open yet.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenYEw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear KenYEw,

Thank you for choosing us as your ideal hotel during your recent visit to Malacca! We sincerely appreciate your feedback which will enable us to further improve

Please allow me to apologize for the delay in getting your rooms ready during your arrival due to some unforeseen circumstances. We will definitely improve on getting our rooms ready on time during the peak season or days.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also the Valet Parking service which is provided free of charge to our guests. Thank you for the suggestion for a cafe within our hotel in which we have taken note. Furthermore, we are currently upgrading and enhancing our facilities and services in order for a more comfy guest experience

Our team and I look forward to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#80 of 168 in Melaka
132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#53 of 168 in Melaka
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
174 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#20 of 168 in Melaka
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $28 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing