We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front Office under-staffed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #18 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Front Office under-staffed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is my second stay at Fenix Inn. Thumbs up for the renovated rooms. However it makes no sense to always have only 1 person at reception. This is understandable for slower periods e.g. overnight....but in the late morning when many people tend to check out (and check in!) customers are forced to wait for up to 25 minutes, specially if they have inconsiderate guests in front asking inane questions + the receptionist is too meek (or nice) to excuse himself to help the others in the queue.

This is additionally frustrating when we can see a number of admin staff through the glass-doors of their office, sitting around chatting....and another staff member managing a totally empty "Business Centre"!

A word about the rooms: the doors are extremely thin. It is impossible to fall (or remain) asleep when people talk in the corridors or the vacuum cleaner is switched on. The gap under the doors is rather wide. This means that light from the corridor streams in, once again not helpful for the light sleeper.

This hotel remains a good deal: staff are just as friendly as I remember, great car jockey services in an area where parking is a nightmare, literally a few steps to good shopping, and lots of good eats around. But Malacca has an increasingly number of good hotel options. It will take more than a renovated room to hold onto customers, when they have been subjected to inexplicable long waits.

Room Tip: Behind the hotel are 2 very good eateries, both within a couple of minutes walk. The chinese stir-fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear springmoon,

Greetings! Thank you for sharing your 2nd review on Fenix Inn. We read with regret that part of our services didn’t meet up to your expectation. I had personally already forwarded to the concerned departments as well persons your constructive observations to take immediate action accordingly to avoid such situation happens in the future.

Please accept our apologies for the unwelcome wait. We do normally have two Front Office Assistant during peak period. The two associates are really to facilitate the check in / out process and act as concierge (when applicable). However, there are times when variable volume in arrivals can create bottlenecks in service. This may have contributed to your wait to be served. We will definitely try to do better.

Thank you once again for sparing your time in completing this review and bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service. Your comments will definitely help us to serve you and all our guest better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    239
    140
    12
    14
See reviews for
132
93
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I love going to Malacca and will travel there every few months to relax. Tried a few other hotel but still finds Fenix Inn the best value. For the price and location and cleaniness, nothing else to ask for. Plus they recently upgraded the room, make it a even better place.

Would like to specially thanks Arif for everything. All my friends whom has stayed there love the place !!!

Room Tip: Was told from Jan 2012 onwards, am able to book the family suite and deluxe room via online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keikeitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear keikeitan,

Greetings from all of us! It's such a pleasure to receive nice compliments from a satisfied guest like you. It's definitely encouraging to hear your positive experience while staying with us.

YES, we will definitely upkeep the standard of our services & rest assured that utmost attention will be provided by each & everyone of us here to all valued guests.

Once again, thank you very much & have a beautiful day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Pro = good location near to shopping areas and walking distance to jonker street, value for money stay. Good aircon and valvet services and reception personnels were warm n friendly.

Cons = no lift, noisy during the nite(next door is ktv). More water cooler.lastly check in time 2pm too late.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyanngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear happyanngel,

First of all, we are honored that you have selected Fenix Inn as your recent trip.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your valuable feedback on additional water cooler to be included and we will address this issue in due time. Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

I arrived one day earlier than my original reservation and the staff at the Fenix Inn kindly shuffled their bookings around in order to accommodate me in their last available room.
The rooms themselves were rather small but very clean so perfectly adequate for a traveller who likes to have a comfortable bed to sleep in after exploring the local area.
The hotel was an easy walk to the local attractions, the two major shopping centres and also local restaurants.
.A major downfall of the hotel is that the room walls are paper thin so when guests in nearby rooms were talking loudly it echoed right through the hotel which kept me awake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisono7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Allisono7,

Greetings! First of all, thank you for staying with us. Rest assured that the valuable point which you have highlighted pertaining to the sound insulation has been channeled to our Maintenance Department for future improvement. Please accept our apologies should the disturbance had distracted your sleep.

As always, we continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

If you have any clarification please don’t hesitate to email us. Thank you & good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

The location of this inn is good. Its close to Dataran Pahlawan, aka huge shopping mall and the old red city. All within walking distance. The rooms are small. i stayed in one which has no windows. So when i woke up in the morning, it feels at night! Toilet were clean and descent. But the price was expensive. It cost me about S$75 for 1 night. The room also reminds me of sleeping in a 4 men berth travelling on a ship. Nonetheless, it is one of the so called cheapest inn i could find in Melacca. Oh another thing is their jokey services is good and the guy, Segar was very friendly and helpful. Ask him any questions and he will try his best to get the answers for you.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have no windows. So do request one if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear brandern,

Greetings! Thank you for patronising our Inn recently. We were indeed honoured to have you here with us. Moreover, we thank you for your time and valuable feedback.

The points have been well-noted and we definitely look forward to welcoming you and family back again in the not so distant future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Was charged an early check-in fee although i called prior to arrival & was assured that rooms are available.Arrived 1hr before check-in time, an after the admin process & reach our rooms already 1:30pm.
Already fatigue of driving long distance, i couldn't argue more with the staff as all she said was " i don't know, hotel policy".
On previous stay, i was made to wait 1.5hr for a room to be ready. Shouldn't there be a flexibility.
Service was just getting worse, reception staff wasn't polite & seems unsure. Best service i got was from the valets only.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Trip_Stars,

Greetings! We appreciate you taking time out to review your stay. We appreciate the positive comment towards our valet service as well as the balanced constructive suggestions you have put forward.

There are times when variable volume in arrivals can create bottlenecks in service. This may have contributed to your wait for the rooms to be ready and also the unintentional pro-longed administrative check in process. We will definitely try to do better.

Lastly, please accept our unreserved apologies for this annoyance as well as our assurances that we will continue to improve in these areas.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Checked in late at 7pm on 25 nov11, eve of PH. Next day morning received call fm reception fm the staff saying" my manager want me to inform u to check out latest at 12.30pm". Hearing this, seems doesnt look gd on the hotel services. When we checked out, we requested to have our car parked slightly late till 3pm so we can bring our kids nearby for lunch. Again the staff mention need to call the manager to seek approval. As usual the reply was my manager said latest till 1.30pm and per hour charged at Rm $10. Never had such experience before and we are not paying super low price for a night stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Denmel,

Greetings from all of us! Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectation.

We value your business, and would like to address your concerns as quickly as possible.
I understand your frustration especially on this unwelcome call to your room, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.

Please know that we will definitely do something about this especially in training all of our team members on how to communicate more professionally to all our valued guests.

It is our goal to restore your confidence in our hotel by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. I can be contacted at info@fenixinn.com, if you wish to email me privately until this issue is resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you again, for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#52 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing