We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Fenix Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fenix Inn
Ranked #15 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was here for a quick stop in Malacca to visit my very ill grandmother. It was an emergency and lucky i got rooms to stay here. It was quite cheap and the rooms are very clean. The amneties are decent, not luxurious, but the location in the heart of commercial Malacca is good!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear boodyboy,

Greetings! We hope your grandmother is fit & healthy by now. Thanks for taking time to write this short and precise review. We were honoured to have you here with us.

We do appreciate your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you to Fenix Inn Melaka again in the not distant future.

Take care and have a fruitful week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    244
    142
    12
    14
See reviews for
136
96
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The room is not as what we have seen in the photos showed in the various internet websites. My major disappointment is that no windows in most of the rooms (as explained when we ask the hotel staff). This really make us feel being 'misled'.

However the rooms are clean and the hotel staff are friendly. Lastly, the loacation is good as is near to the 'tourist attractions'.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear KM S,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us why part of our service failed to meet your expectations.

We value your business, and would like to address your disappointment / concerns as quickly as possible. We understand your frustration, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you.

For your kind information, this issue will be resolved completely in year 2012. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fenix Inn Melaka again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Fenix inn is conveniently located adjacent to Dataran Pahlawan mall, and a mere short drive to jonker street. It was comfortable and clean. But I could not sleep at all, as the room I got was at the block behind, on the first floor. I could here the aircon vent, the next door hawker stall cooking till wee nights, uncle talking loudly, children screaming. It was a bad sleepless night.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor and rooms at the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jTwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear jTwT,

Thank you for sharing your review. We sincerely apologize for the recently disturbance that occurred while staying with us.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this disturbance. Please feel free to let us know how we can further assist you. Your patience and understanding is greatly appreciated and as always, thank you for choosing Fenix Inn Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel from 17 sep to 18 sep. I must say this hotel has past my expectation of a 2 star hotel. First of all, the friendly valet staff took great care of my car without incident during my stay there. Parking was free and car was safe. Secondly, the reception staff was very friendly and helpful and was not stingy in offering information about the nearby attractions. Thirdly, the location of the hotel was excellent. it is very near to a couple of shopping malls, and going to jonker street, St Paul's church was within reach via foot. There are a number of restaurants around the hotel as well. Fourthly, the room was excellent value for money, it is comfortable and offered what it was suppose to deliver. Overall excellent value for money. kudos to fenix inn.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing away from the main street as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Diviva,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. It’s great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your review again has reinforced our confidence & strengths, and we definitely love to welcome you back to Fenix Inn again.

Your continued patronage means a lot to us. Thank you & see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quisinequeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

+POSITIVES
*The rooms are clean and staff clean them well daily (no bedbugs here)
*The staff are friendly and reasonably helpful (for Asia)
*There are 2 large shopping complexes nearby
*Rooms are spacious and could easily fit several extra beds if required
*Hotel is under renos so hopefully rooms will get a face-lift too! (Don't worry... no noise or disturbances because of this).
*Clean towels replenished daily

-NEGATIVES
*In my judgement, it is not good value for the money (and I got a promotional deal... so at regular price... absolutely not worth the money... at least until they upgrade the rooms). *The rooms (of course) are not as nice as advertised... or at least, mine wasn't. For example, hole in ceramic of toilet... slanting laminate flooring, walls in desperate need of paint, etc.
*Though the staff was friendly, as a solo female traveler I did not enjoy getting hit on daily by a staff member who works at the hotel.
*Use of the computers in the business center is extra and will run you 6 ringet/hour. There is only one other choice for internet in the area and it is primarily used by locals for gaming (fyi: don't expect to use skype there as it is way to noisy.)
*No hand soap provided (there is a soap dispenser in the shower though)
*A lot of families with very young children stay here (large asian families when I was here). They were extremely noisy every morning and because of the lack of insulation between walls it can be hard to sleep if your neighbors aren't courteous.
*Check in time is 2 pm (though as a positive, the hotel will safely hold your luggage until then)

RECOMMENDATIONS
*If you are looking to be in the thick of the action, if you are a solo and/or budget traveler... save your money and head to the China town area. It is quite lovely there and there are plenty of places to eat (I personally recommend the Geographer's Cafe down Jonker's Walk if you are in need of some healthy and yummy food)
*Do attempt to get a deal at this hotel (if you're really set on it)... or try to see the room before you agree to stay. I have a feeling they vary quite a bit, especially since they are completing renovations.
*Be wary of Agoda (a popular online site to book asian accommodation. Often times it works out to be more expensive then booking straight from the site... so check your options first!)

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. This hotel consists of 2 different buildings, one is on the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quisinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear quisinequeen,

Warmest greetings!

First & foremost, we would like to thank you to take the time to evaluate our services & share with us your valued comments & feedback regarding your last stay at Fenix Inn.

It appears that we have failed to meet your some of your expectations in matter of room amenities & services during this stay. I had personally already forwarded your constructive observations to the management so that immediate action can be expertise to avoid such situation happens in the future.

On behalf of the team and the management of Fenix Inn, I would like to apology to you for the inconvenience met during this time.

Last but not least, thanks for your genuine feedback and if you have any further queries about this comment then I would be more than happy to respond to any email sent to me at: -----. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The best part, they even tried to mail me the money that I overpaid! This would tell you the most that they are different from the rest of the hotels.. =)

I would love it even more if they provide breakfast/ safe(for passport in reception) and a small fright.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty cosily and just nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adesmond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear adesmond2,

Greetings from all of us! Thank you for taking time out to review your stay. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the suggestions you have put forward. We will note these remarks for our next room upgrading.

For your information, we do provide safety box for in house guest's usage at the reception counter as currently there isn't any in-room safe.

Once again, thank you for the honest feedback and we wish you every success in your business & personal endeavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I and my friends have make the reservation thru with hotel reservation, there is no different prices if you make online or phone reservation.

You may easier to find the hotel because this hotel just near by all the attraction places of Melaka, like Mahkota Parade, Dataran Pahlawan, A Famosa. Jonker Walks and etc...

We have 2 rooms (double room and twin room), after reached the hotel, car jorkey will help you park your car and let us check-in. We get different block for this 2 rooms but it's fine for us because we know there is peak periond on that day.

The receptionist was nice and helpful (sorry to say forgot her name but is malay ladies), after check-in, we step in to our room (twin room), the room actually is small like a budget hotel, toilet small as well but we don't mind because we just stay 1 night and that is enough for us as long as have the comfort bed and clean toilet. (For my opinion, the new block room are bigger than old block)

We were no drive for the whole day, because we can walk to the places like Jonker Walk and Satay Culup Shops. This is the reason why i choice for this hotel, no need think about traffic jam, car park, parking fees etc....

If i come to Melaka again, i will stay in same hotel and will recomend to my friends...

Room Tip: Get the new block room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolkoh, Manager at Fenix Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear nonog18,

Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

As we are dedicated to provide you with the genuine personal service in your travel experience, we are happy to hear about your experience with us.

Last but not least, thank you for your commendation. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the not distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#59 of 166 in Melaka
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 166 in Melaka
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Inn

Property: Fenix Inn
Address: 156 Jalan Merdeka | Taman Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fenix Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a break with the best value added promotion in the market to cater your accommodation and business needs! Looking for a convenient, comfortable, clean and affordable place to stay? Then Fenix Inn is your choice! Enjoy comfortable accommodation and get to know Melaka inside-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing