We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff should be more attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Ranked #40 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here during Christmas holiday for 1 night. There were 10 of us altogether. I booked the Quintet Room, Aldy Suite and Junior Suite. The rooms were all pretty spacious with basic amenities provided for. There was a small jacuzzi located at the rooftop and since no other guests were using it so we had much fun soaking ourselves in on a hot sunny day. From the rooftop you could enjoy the view of Melaka town.

Being a centrally located hotel in the heart of the town, it is very easy and convenient to visit places of interest on foot. Colourful trishaws pass by the lobby of this hotel every now and then where you could take a ride to most of the attractions nearby and enjoy the scenery. I have no further comments to make on this aspect as it was as per expected.

However I would like to comment on the attentiveness of the staff. I stayed in the Aldy Suite and having paid more for a good room, I do expect some quality service to be rendered. The aircon was rather faulty and we had to call the receptionist a few times at night but there was nothing he could do to help. We were just lucky that after a few attempts of switching the power supply on and off, the aircon worked just fine til morning. During breakfast the next day, my hubby left his ipad at the restaurant. And we only noticed this at about 2pm when we were about to head back to KL. I immediately called the FrontDesk to ask about this and lucky us, she said that the ipad is still in the restaurant. The thing that had me thinking until now is why didn't the resto staff informed the receptionist immediately when we left the gadget behind? The waiters/waitresses clearly know where we sat and who the ipad belonged to (us, of course) since we have provided the breakfast coupon with room number written upon placing orders. Furthermore there were only 3 tables occupied then.

I guess the management should give more training to the staff on hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinaSoepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Our 2 n 3 yrs old kids love their children beds. Although the toys provided were mostly spoilt, the kids still enjoy playing them using their imagination! The story books are new and my kids enjoyed them. The room also provide kids table, chairs and utensils. Very children friendly. However, it's an old hotel, don't expect carpet to be clean etc. The lift can be a bit scary. The room on the 3rd floor is quiet enough for a good night rest.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank CallyNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Aldy Hotel. We checked in late around 9 pm on a Friday night. Well checking in took 15 minutes despite us being the only ones checking in at that moment. Well the hotel's location is great no doubt. It has or 3 private parkings so if you're lucky you can park right in front of the hotel and not be troubled by having to purchase parking coupons. Well the hotel is a mixed bags of tricks... you get free breakfast but it depends on the room you book. Cheaper rooms get less variety to choose from the menu and the more expensive rooms get a greater selection. I found this weird. The receptionist are probably the coldest you could encounter. Not a smile. Now how much effort does that take? Water pressure and wifi are better if you stay on the 2nd floor compared to the 3rd floor.

Coming back to the location, its right next to the District Police Headquarters. It does evoke a sense of security. Lol! The hotel is located in between 2 main attractions. Exit hotel take left and in 1 minute you're at the Clock Tower, Christchurch area. Exit Hotel turn right and 2 minutes you're at the A'Formosa. Its 2 minutes from Jonkers Walk.

The location is the selling point of this place. Free WIFI all day is another selling point. So would d i stay again?????.

Well i would say most probably Yes, due to the location.

Hope my review helped.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road. Its noisy all the way till 12 midnight. Take the family triple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family had a very good stay during our stay. The location is excellent-all the attractions within walking distance. Very quite at night. Breakfast is ala-carte but the food is good.The environment of Bamboo Bistro is very comfortable and they have a live band every night.The colourful beca always roams and pass-by infront of the hotel.Thr frontdesk is very welcoming and helpful. Room and bathroom was clean and spacious enough for my family. Will come back to stay here for next trip to Malacca.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aziah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived from a long Trip that day late and Aldy was almost closing. Despite it all the Frontdesk was amazingly welcoming. When we entered our room it was like I WANT TO REST there was hairdryer just what I need for the night. The bathroom was clean and big and the room wow safe is there goods inside the ref was there nothing I need more.... When we checked around the hotel all attractions were just nearby everything was just walking distance Value for money indeed and BREAKFAST Damn good..... Just great Hotel Cant ask for more

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubyRoseRuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at Aldys throughout our short weekend family getaway to Malacca.

Rather than staying at the typical-family-friendly, pools-and-chandeliers style hotel/resorts, we decided to go more adventurous. Aldy's by far has the best location to explore Malacca town.

Pros;
Everything within walking distance; we enjoyed our early morning walks to the Stadthuys and late night walks along Jonker street. Malacca famous trishaw roams in front hotels doorstep.

Parking; Reserved Aldys parking space specially for guests in front of the hotel. Claim your parking the fee (1 receipt per day) if you parked elsewhere.

Average rooms. Rooms, bathroom and sheets are exceptionally spotless.

Cons;
Towels, not too clean.

Good place to truly experience Malacca. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Towels? bring your own..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoenixhan_4everfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a good stay here, the interior could use an update and the sheets and towels too, but it was relatively quiet. The restaurant was good and offered enough variety. The location was perfect. Apparently the rooftop hottub wasn't really all that, but we haven't tested it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drostof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#39 of 168 in Melaka
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#52 of 168 in Melaka
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heeren Inn
Heeren Inn
#51 of 168 in Melaka
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel Stadthuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel Stadthuys

Address: Aldy Hotel 27 Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $40 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldy Hotel Stadthuys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldy Hotel Stadthuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldy Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing