We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but dingy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Ranked #34 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of a tour and were impressed with the location (right in the midst of the historic part and near to Chinatown). However, the lack of natural light in the room was the biggest problem, as was the poor selection of food for breakfast. They were replacing the much moaned about carpets, during our stay (so our experience was enlivened by being high on the pervasive stench of carpet glue!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed at Aldy Hotel during a weekend trip. It was pretty cheap for a huge room, the suite, at SGD$140. Bedroom comes with an old but usable massage chair, a pantry and jacuzzi. As we stayed in suite room at level 2, just above the restaurant below, both my partner and I were irritated by the clattering of plates in the morning. It started to get noisy at about 7am in the morning which kind of interrupted our sleep. Thus, I'm not sure if its possible, but do request for a room not in the second level.

The location of Aldy was fantastic. It's only 7 minutes walk from Jonker street. If anyone is driving there, they do have 2 lots for hotel guest. Should they run out of lots, they will always allow you to park right infront of the hotel.

The Bamboo Bar at the hotel is a relatively good place for drinks, entertained by this guy who sings and plays the guitar. One of the waiters was extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the second level.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller-tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The exterior of this red hotel is sweet and easy to identify. However the location may take some time to find and the bus transport was very inconvenient in Melaka. Transportation is messy and shabby, there's no definite bus to specific places and they kept changing as they like. For your info it is located near the George street and behind Christ Church Melaka.

Hotels in Melaka are expensive especially this one. I spent more than SGD120/night during my stay but luckily only for 1 night. 2 days are enough to eat and walk around George Town since there aren't much to see in Melaka. I would suggest travellers not to waste money on other activities like zoo or swimming pool as it is not worthy and you are likely to be lost. (We were lost in Melaka while going to a local swimming pool and that was the most unforgettable desperate moment in my life. There are no taxi at all and the bus took a long time to our rescue. Not every buses stopped by!)

The room are quite spacious and cozy. I read others' negative reviews about the dirty rooms but mine was clean fortunately. The staff were neither very friendly nor helpful.

Please take note that though there is a swimming pool on top of the roof but it is not swimmable! The pool was very dirty and no one bothers to clean. It was meant for commercial purpose to attract tourists to stay.

Breakfast was normal but satisfactory. Food in George street are cheap and nice! However I believe you will have better hotel choice than this definitely.

Room Tip: try other hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uglybutadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in a family room. Location just above the cafe downstairs. Wthe whole hotel was very worn, only the bathroom was nice and modern and clean. The set breakfast in het cafe downstairs was very basic with little choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irenere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was there with my family for a short trip. Here are the points:

Reservation : Pretty easy and response was quick also.

Staff : Not friendly during check in and check out.

Location : Good. Everything's in walking distance.

Parking : Is a problem cos it's only reserved 4 parking bay and its first come first serve basis.

Room rate : Its too expensive for weekday (almost RM200.00) for a superior room with basic amenities (NO toothbrush, hand soap and toothpaste). Room is narrow, just like a standard room size. We stayed in Mimosa Melaka few months ago, also 3 stars but a lot more better. At least they have everything in the toilet, quiet, comfortable to stay and its only RM128.00 nett for superior room.

THE MOST IMPORTANT IS THE AIR-COND COMPRESSOR IS VERY LOUD. WE CAN'T SLEEP AT ALL...

Air-conditioning :Old fashion type

Room main door : No access card. ONLY USE 1 KEY TO OPEN AND IT IS WOODEN DOOR. IS JUST LIKE NORMAL AND MOST CHEAPEST TYPE OF DOOR. ITS LOOKS DANGEROUS.

Water heater : Needs to "ON" the heater switch 15mins before shower (THIS IS NOT A 3 STARS HOTEL STANDARD)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skinigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We booked this hotel for three days.We arrived early but our room was ready.

Reception staff were very pleasant and our room was adequate and as expected.The thing that disappointed me most about this hotel was the carpets around the halls and leading to the rooms were dirty and shabby. Which was a shame as it was a lovely authentic hotel. Breakfast was fine
The hotel is very close to the church and everything is within easy walking distance. One thing to be aware of is the trishaw drivers ride around outside until quite late, but I rather enjoyed listening to and watching them.

If you can live with dirty carpets in the reception areas then you may enjoy this hotel mainly for it's fabulous location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puggydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Located at the center of most places of interest - just a few steps away from Christ Church, a 5-minute walk to Jonker Street, a 10-minute walk to the malls. Clean and free breakfast provided was substantial.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bts1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#57 of 167 in Melaka
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#51 of 167 in Melaka
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldy Hotel Stadthuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel Stadthuys

Address: 27 Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldy Hotel Stadthuys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldy Hotel Stadthuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldy Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing