We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unique with Excellent Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Settlement Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Settlement Hotel to your Saves list
The Settlement Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Limited Time Only!
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unique with Excellent Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went there for business, to do site inspect for our company event/seminar next year. I chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews given. I agreed to what was posted previously. The distance away from the city centre or Jonker Street is not a problem as the hotel provide free transport to this place. For return trip to hotel, they charge a minimum of RM15 per room. You will fall in love with this hotel when you stay there. There is no mis representation of web photos you see. Go to the Settlement website at http://www.thesettlementhotel.com which gave you a clear picture of this hotel. There is a eatery opposite the hotel (3 mins walk away) on the right, operate only in the evening, have not tried the food there but it was crowded (crowded means food is good!). Few minutes away there is a big 7-eleven shop.

Excellent place!! Suitable for couples, family, friends, solo and business.

Room Tip: Note for those have may have problem climbing the bath tub over 50cm in height, you may want to cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We thank you passionately for your kind words and beautiful comments about our
humble hotel.
Your kindness and generosity will certainly help and motivate our team to work even
harder and better for all our customers.
To honor the fine tradition of the hospitality industry is our social role and treating
all guests arriving with respect, truth and sincerity is our duty as a Malaysian.
We thank you again and we look forward in welcoming you and your guests back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    175
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
125
160
20
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hi,

A few point to note about this hotel,

1) Good decorations in and the surrounding of the hotel.
2) Swimming pool extremely small, just slightly bigger then a jacuzzi tub.....:)
3) Wifi was good.
4) Room was good even though small, but well planned spaced and deco made it look cosy.
5) The food that came with the room package, no worst to describe how horrible it was, only the Nyona Laksa was edible.
6) Parking at open air ground floor, easy access to room.
7) Staffs were good.
8) Location is near to Portuguese Settlement Village, but by no means walking distance.
9) City is 10mins drive based on traffic condition.
10) Breakfast was average.

Overall stay here if you want to avoid the bustle and hustle of the city.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and inputs.
It is appreciated.
Our hotel is situated along the fringe of the Portuguese Settlement,
along the food trail of Jalan Ujung Pasir.
We can walk to the Portuguese Settlemet in 5 minutes.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice hotel with a tranquil environment, however the service and attention to the guest was lacking at times. This by no means is to imply that the staff were not friendly, however, don’t expect to get a glass of water or dessert after 10 pm. Having said that the rooms were absolutely gorgeous with all the mode-cons and amenities you would wish for. With our special offer, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful comments on our hotel.
We thank you for your kind words.
We regret the incident of the service level at our dining room.
This is certainly our regular service standards. We thank you for
your kindest feedback and we will ensure improvement in this area in
our weekly training schedule.
Thank you again and we look forward in welcoming you back.
Do take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A wonderful hotel. Been to Melaka many times and spent the night in many hotels over there, but the Settlement Hotel beats all of them hands down!

PROS: Large and clean bedroom, bathroom with lovely sunken bath. And a good buffet breakfast. Plus complimentary beverages. Good Customer Care.

CONS: A bit away from the city centre and the air conditioner did actually fail to cool the room even though we had it on at 18* C.

All in all, a wonderful stay. Wish we could have spent more time over there. Will definitely be staying at this hotel the next time around as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovebirdsKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Your beautiful comments calling us "A Gem" humbled us.
We thank you passionately for your kindness and generosity;
this will certainly help all of us to always give our best to our guests.
We thank you passionately and look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Do take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stay in this hotel for 1 night,

PROS
- very friendly staff, providing some good information for the interest place in malacca,
- clean and tidy.
- Good location.

CONS
- the room aircond is not cold enough even i already put in on 18 deg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful comments.

With regards to air conditioning system in the room; we have just serviced the system
to cater for the busy May/June holidays season.
The cold air is flowing and system are generally working well.
The Melaka's weather is currently on a heat wave; it caused much discomfort to
some of our guests.
We will take note on your comment; we thank you.
We will ensure that all our rooms are "cooled" before our guests checked in.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

因为是新开的,No smoking in entire hotel premises.Along Ujong Pasir main road but no noise heard in rooms.房间超干净,特别还有浴缸,超棒,员工亲切,还附送一支笔和一个笔记本,There is a good selection for the buffet breakfast both Western and local.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liulangzhecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for your beautiful comments about our hotel and our services.
It is deeply appreciated. This will help to motivate us to work harder and better to
serve all our guests & friends arriving.

We hope your stay with us set you a beautiful tale of travel to share with your family
members and friends. We also hope our stories we have shared will remain at your
hearts for a long time to come. We passionately awaiting your revisit soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

New hotel ( 6 months old ) next to Portuguese settlement.Hotel is set in Balinese style and environment.No smoking in entire hotel premises.Has chalets as well.Along Ujong Pasir main road but no noise heard in rooms.Very clean room and entire premises is clean and peaceful with ample areas set for relaxation.There is also a SPA and a small pool.
Good and polite English and Mandarin speaking staff.
Good WiFi connections .Tv has local & international channels in English,Mandarin & local languages.Iron & ironing board available.On check in,you are provided 2 sodas and 2 bottles of water free.Thereafter you get 2 bottles of water free daily..
Walking distance to Portuguese settlement and 8 mins by car to town center , heritage area and popular grill fish ( ikan bakar ) outlets by sea.20 mins by car to tourists attractions at Ayer Keroh where zoo, crocodile farm etc located.
Walking ( 3 mins ) distance of hotel : supermarket,food courts/outlets and local fruit and fresh fish stalls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louis899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and beautiful comments about our hotel and our team.
Your kindness will certainly help us to do even better for the many guests and friends
visiting us and this beautiful World UNESCO Heritage sites city from all over the world.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back again
soon in the future.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing