We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Settlement Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Settlement Hotel
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A wonderful hotel. Been to Melaka many times and spent the night in many hotels over there, but the Settlement Hotel beats all of them hands down!

PROS: Large and clean bedroom, bathroom with lovely sunken bath. And a good buffet breakfast. Plus complimentary beverages. Good Customer Care.

CONS: A bit away from the city centre and the air conditioner did actually fail to cool the room even though we had it on at 18* C.

All in all, a wonderful stay. Wish we could have spent more time over there. Will definitely be staying at this hotel the next time around as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovebirdsKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Your beautiful comments calling us "A Gem" humbled us.
We thank you passionately for your kindness and generosity;
this will certainly help all of us to always give our best to our guests.
We thank you passionately and look forward in welcoming you back soon.
Do take good care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    177
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
131
167
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stay in this hotel for 1 night,

PROS
- very friendly staff, providing some good information for the interest place in malacca,
- clean and tidy.
- Good location.

CONS
- the room aircond is not cold enough even i already put in on 18 deg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful comments.

With regards to air conditioning system in the room; we have just serviced the system
to cater for the busy May/June holidays season.
The cold air is flowing and system are generally working well.
The Melaka's weather is currently on a heat wave; it caused much discomfort to
some of our guests.
We will take note on your comment; we thank you.
We will ensure that all our rooms are "cooled" before our guests checked in.
We look forward in welcoming you back soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

因为是新开的,No smoking in entire hotel premises.Along Ujong Pasir main road but no noise heard in rooms.房间超干净,特别还有浴缸,超棒,员工亲切,还附送一支笔和一个笔记本,There is a good selection for the buffet breakfast both Western and local.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liulangzhecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for your beautiful comments about our hotel and our services.
It is deeply appreciated. This will help to motivate us to work harder and better to
serve all our guests & friends arriving.

We hope your stay with us set you a beautiful tale of travel to share with your family
members and friends. We also hope our stories we have shared will remain at your
hearts for a long time to come. We passionately awaiting your revisit soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

New hotel ( 6 months old ) next to Portuguese settlement.Hotel is set in Balinese style and environment.No smoking in entire hotel premises.Has chalets as well.Along Ujong Pasir main road but no noise heard in rooms.Very clean room and entire premises is clean and peaceful with ample areas set for relaxation.There is also a SPA and a small pool.
Good and polite English and Mandarin speaking staff.
Good WiFi connections .Tv has local & international channels in English,Mandarin & local languages.Iron & ironing board available.On check in,you are provided 2 sodas and 2 bottles of water free.Thereafter you get 2 bottles of water free daily..
Walking distance to Portuguese settlement and 8 mins by car to town center , heritage area and popular grill fish ( ikan bakar ) outlets by sea.20 mins by car to tourists attractions at Ayer Keroh where zoo, crocodile farm etc located.
Walking ( 3 mins ) distance of hotel : supermarket,food courts/outlets and local fruit and fresh fish stalls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louis899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and beautiful comments about our hotel and our team.
Your kindness will certainly help us to do even better for the many guests and friends
visiting us and this beautiful World UNESCO Heritage sites city from all over the world.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward in welcoming you back again
soon in the future.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had been staying at The Settlement for almost a week since together with my friend. I would like to specially thanks to the manager named 'Lim' who attend us for the whole week when we were there. We can see him everywhere in the hotel. He just make our stay a very great one!

Besides, million thanks to him for draft us the must visit places and also the places of interest in Malacca. It helps us a lot as we won't have to crack our head thinking of where to go. We went to all the places he recommended. It was Fantastic! Good job!

Will surely be back again.

Room Tip: Room bed was good! Service is beyong the hospitality market can offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank severn04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
We thank you for spending a week with us.
We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us like your home in Malaysia.
We hope we have helped to capture some of your small but special moments of your
holidays in Malaysia. We hope we will help freeze them in your heart to share these beautiful moments with your loved ones and friends back home.

We will certainly convey your appreciation to Lim.
Your kind words will help him and all of us in honoring the fine tradition of hotel industry.

Please come back and visit us again soon.
We wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel is clean and tastefully decorated. There is a good selection for the buffet breakfast both Western and local. The cakes are delicious. The suite is comfortable and spacious and the bathroom is clean and spacious with a nice bath to soak in after a long day in the heat and sun. Staff are friendly and accomodating. You do need a car although there are shuttle buses provided into the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCChye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you Mr Chye for your kind and generous words on the hotel.
It humbled us. These beautiful words will help and support us in doing better
in honoring the fine tradition of hotel hospitality.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward in welcoming you back again
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for only a night… It has a nice fresh feel with some unique service ‘touches’ that we didn’t receive elsewhere. I’ll break it down:

PROS: Being given a warm refresher towel to wipe our face/hands as we arrived, the friendly lady at reception who warmly greeted us and took us to our room, the beautiful pen and notebook we received as a complementary souvenir, the furnishing of the room and bathroom fixtures, the landscaping and openness downstairs between inside and outside spaces, the pool, complementary breakfast, proximity to restaurants and sights, the filled bath we came home to complete with bubble bath and flower petals scattered on the surface (really romantic touch!), the price… $260RM a night

CONS: They only gave us one room key card, which you inserted into a slot by the door to activate power – the problem with this was that the air-con and mini bar automatically switched off when we left because we naturally took our card with us to access the room when returning. This resulted in a hot room we had to return to on the two or three times we left, and each time required a good 20-25 min or so of blasting the air con before it started to cool down. The other con was that when we left the next day the man at the service desk wasn’t very helpful in organizing transport for us from Melaka to KL airport. We had just missed the last charter bus, and asked him to organize a taxi which he said would be around $300RM … he didn’t let us know how long it would be or indeed that he had made the call for a taxi (we assumed so since he picked up the phone after our request and was speaking Malay)… after 15 minutes with no further words from the service desk man, we were surprised that no taxi had come and losing patience my partner went out to the street and hailed one instantly who quoted $200RM. It wasn’t the best finish to our stay, but if these are the only two faults I can find, then it shows you that everything else was excellent and great value. We would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdrum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Settlement_Hotel, General Manager at The Settlement Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind and beautiful words on our property humbled us.
Your kind words mean a lot to us. It will help us to do better in honoring the
fine tradition of hotel hospitality.
Taxi service:
I) RM300 is the standard price for a ride from Melaka Hotel to KLIA.
ii) We will only use our list of taxi drivers, recommended and approved by
the Taxi Association, for safety and security assurance.
We thank you again for staying with us. We look forward in welcoming you
back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#6 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Settlement Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Settlement Hotel

Property: The Settlement Hotel
Address: No 63 Jalan Ujong Pasir | World Unesco Heritage City, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Settlement Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury, romantic and trendy boutique hotel built on the premise of tracing Melaka roots and influences. It seeks to capture and preserve Melaka illustrious history, and to immerse our guests through an evolution of cultures and hospitality. Our hospitality is all about services. We warmly welcome you ~ Check-in as honored guest and check-out as our cherished friend. Selamat Datang (Welcome).Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Settlement Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing