We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first trip to Melaka”
Review of Hotel Orkid Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orkid Melaka
Ranked #112 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 4, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orkid Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 51 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 3, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 29, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 22, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 12, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We arrived in Melaka and were shopping around for a place to stay. I went into the lobby (which looks nice) and asked how much for a 5 night stay and was quoted RM 130, and when he showed me a picture of the room I thought that was a really good price. Carried on shopping around but came bask to book. In the mean time they put the price up to RM 200 but we were getting tired so we took it anyway. Big Mistake!

Our room was on the 7th floor. It looked nothing like the picture. The room stank of stale cigarette smoke. The bathroom could be best described as dingy. However it appeared clean so we went out to enjoy the night market. Came back, went to bed, just settling in when I saw a cockroach moving towards me. Killed it and looked around for more; no dead ones but several dead ones which indicated that really the room was not being cleaned well at all. Also, there were wires hanging out of sockets on the electrical fittings, which wasn't as big a problem as the cockroaches but still didn't look good.

It was midnight but we went down to the concierge who was mortified at our cockroach discovery and moved us to the 9th floor. The room smelled a little better, the bathroom was even dingier and then I found two live cockroaches. We went back to our original room and checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eri1980B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 18, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#88 of 167 in Melaka
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#94 of 167 in Melaka
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#37 of 167 in Melaka
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#39 of 167 in Melaka
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#91 of 167 in Melaka
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#121 of 167 in Melaka
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orkid Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orkid Melaka

Address: Hotel Orkid 138 Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $23 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Orkid Melaka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Melaka town within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Orkid Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing