We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orkid Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Orkid Melaka
Ranked #74 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

We arrived in Melaka and were shopping around for a place to stay. I went into the lobby (which looks nice) and asked how much for a 5 night stay and was quoted RM 130, and when he showed me a picture of the room I thought that was a really good price. Carried on shopping around but came bask to book. In the mean time they put the price up to RM 200 but we were getting tired so we took it anyway. Big Mistake!

Our room was on the 7th floor. It looked nothing like the picture. The room stank of stale cigarette smoke. The bathroom could be best described as dingy. However it appeared clean so we went out to enjoy the night market. Came back, went to bed, just settling in when I saw a cockroach moving towards me. Killed it and looked around for more; no dead ones but several dead ones which indicated that really the room was not being cleaned well at all. Also, there were wires hanging out of sockets on the electrical fittings, which wasn't as big a problem as the cockroaches but still didn't look good.

It was midnight but we went down to the concierge who was mortified at our cockroach discovery and moved us to the 9th floor. The room smelled a little better, the bathroom was even dingier and then I found two live cockroaches. We went back to our original room and checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eri1980B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
9
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our trip to Melaka was spontaneous, so we didn't make any reservations. Arrived on a Saturday and went around every hotel around Melaka town. Only Orkid had a vacant room. Was feeling skeptical, thinking there was something wrong with the hotel since it was the only one not fully booked. Paid about RM180 for the Deluxe Twin. Room was on the 8th or 9th floor, with a view of the Taming Sari revolving tower. Room was relatively clean. Toilet was a bit small and dark. Our mini bar did not work. The whole room was satisfactory, although it did seem a bit old. A/C, water heater all worked well. The breakfast had mstly asian food like nasi lemak, roti canai, chicken curry, fried noodles. not many choice for those looking for western food, they only had sausages and toast when we were there.
The only thing we found quite inconvenient was its location. About 10 minutes walk to Jonker street and the stadhuys. However, we took this as an opportunity to take in the hidden culture & sights of melaka.
Overall a good stay, wouldnt mind coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang Bah Kut Teh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

I'm coming back to stay at this hotel again during the recent school holiday trip.... This time, I managed to book 2 rooms side by side which can be accessed through the door inside the room.... I already book the rooms 1 week before this trip and by the time I reach the hotel around 12:30pm, I was told that my room is ready eventhough the check-in time is 2:00pm... Thumbs up for their housekeeping!!! Rooms is comfortable and we have a nice view of Malacca town... Nothing much I can comment about the hotel rooms... As always happened, the car park is definitely full as there are limited parking space in the hotel so the hotel staff are friendly enough to guide us to another public parking space opposite the hotel or you can choose to park at Renaissance Hotel which is also just opposite of Orkid Hotel and you can claim back the parking money when you check-out the next day...

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed in the family suite for 3 days 2 nights. The front counter staff are friendly and helpful. Our room situated on level 9 allows us to have a glimpse of Melaka. The room itself is rather old but the management has managed to keep it clean and tidy. I particularly love the lounge setting as it provides a working table for my 2 toddlers to do colouring and drawing. Just one thing though, since this is a family suite, there should be 2 wash rooms instead of just 1. Oh yes! this hotel is definitely not for fussy people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crookygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#67 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#92 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#57 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Angsana Hotel Melaka
Angsana Hotel Melaka
#45 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#91 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Selectstar Hotel
Selectstar Hotel
#87 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orkid Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orkid Melaka

Property: Hotel Orkid Melaka
Address: Hotel Orkid 138 Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Orkid Melaka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Melaka town within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orkid Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing