We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selectstar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selectstar Hotel
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good budget hotel & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is clean and well maintained. Free wifi in all rooms. The location is very good, KCF and food stalls just around the corner (i think that's why no catering service is provided inside hotel). Friendly staffs as well. Recommended for low cost traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kh3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tawau, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My family stayed in Hotel Selectstar from 6th June to 12 June 2014. I booked directly with the Hotel via telephone without deposit, upon arrival we have no problem checking-in. The hotel is old but it is well maintained and managed, the hotel staff is helpful, responsive and friendly. I were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel room. It is about 30 mins walk to Jonker Street where the main tourist attractions are located or 10-15 mins if you go by taxi (RM15 - RM20 per trip to most places). The hotel room corridor is covered by CCTV. This hotel exceeded our expectation. Basic facilities but value for money with good hotel management. Not within normal walking distance to tourist attractions. No problem finding food around the hotel...hawkers, coffee shops, KFC, Mcdonald...etc. This hotel has car parks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GST_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay...everything in our room is working just fine.. water heater..air conditioning... tv..lighting..
Clean and comfy..
Parking space available...
Nearby to lots of food stalls..
Kfc located just opposite... also 7eleven right next to it..
Nearby jonker walk area..
A definite return for us next time..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Che Ku Noriah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night, on my trip to Melacca... Very very basic, and gives you exactly what they promise. Clean room, a good bed and a nice bathroom with running hot water. 2 bottles of water come in free as part of the room price.
A standard 2 star property, situated in a brilliant location... just a 5 minute ride to the famous Jonker street, or a 10-15 minute walk, depending on how fast you walk ;)
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there's a KFC open 24X7 just across the street (you can see it from the reception). Also, a number of street food options also in the same alley. Also, no swimming pool in the hotel...
Overall, a very good option for the budget traveller, or for an unplanned one (like us!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PrasunKundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chose this in a rush.its a long way from the unesco old town .taxi ride seems to be 15 rm for most journeys.it seems more like a cheap business hotel .staff are helpful but the place is a little shabby but for the money represents reasonable value as our room had ac tv and en suite.hotel is right on a busy road and there does appear to be some bag theft in the area so taxis better at night.If you want low budget but with some inconvenience ...fine.if your main plan is to visit the old town taxi fares will soon mount up so would suggest you get closer to honkers road.

Room Tip: Back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisetrav_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had gone to Melaka & stayed at Selectstar for my birthday weekend in Dec 2012. Had booked this hotel at the last minute.

Rooms are spacious & clean. Bathroom is clean, decent sized, with good, non-leaky fixtures. Beds are very comfortable. But room came without breakfast. Staff is helpful, comfortable with English & lent us umbrellas for our 2-days there without any fuss.

The hotel is behind the Jonker street / old city & about a 10-minute walk from the Heritage area. The walk from the hotel to the Heritage area is very nice as it passes through an old Hindu settlement & you can explore a few very pretty, non-touristy temples as you walk. The area is quiet as well so that you can sleep in peace.

For food - there is a supermarket right opposite the hotel. Plenty of local eateries around the hotel as well. My favourite - the vegetarian Chinese restaurant right below the hotel which serves finger-smackingly-good food!!

I would stay here again without a hitch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile


Its too late to continue our journey back to KL. BY USING TRIPADVISOR, we found this hotel within 5 minutes. 

Since this is an unplanned stay we keep our budget low. Our expectation towards the hotel as well.

To our surprise,  Selectstar hotel- as many recommended in this site- is a nice and clean place to stay in. 

Staff are very polite. 
Registration is simple and fast.
Car can park outside hotel. 

Highly recommend for low budget travelers and for those who just look for a nite stay. 

The hotel truly knows what business they are into and serving the right customers right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TetSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#107 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#47 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#36 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#62 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 3 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
#64 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Syaz Meridien Hotel
Syaz Meridien Hotel
#52 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selectstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selectstar Hotel

Property: Selectstar Hotel
Address: Hotel Selectstar 303 Jalan Gajah Berang, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Selectstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing