We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would have been excellent but for...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heeren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren House
Ranked #22 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would have been excellent but for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

A friend had come to the Heeren House before and we had seen his photos on Facebook. After checking with him, we decided to book for a 4D3N stay with the 3 kids for a variety of reasons. Firstly, because of its location in the heart of historical Malacca, within 5-15 min walking distance to most eateries and tourist sights. Secondly, its spacious family room could accommodate the 5 of us. Third, the opportunity, of course, to live in an authentic, albeit restored, Malaccan shophouse near the river, was something not to be missed.

We were received by very friendly hosts who take time to have a chat and give quite good pointers. The downstairs breakfast/reception area is bright and the strong wi-fi is commendable. Daily breakfast was a simple English breakfast with fruit, kept light - which was useful because of all the local eateries around. The family room was spacious - apart from the beds, we had room for 3 tables and 5 chairs! It was well-stocked with VCDs that were useful for keeping the kids entertained, in between our jaunts to the Jonkers/Makhota districts. Beds were comfortable - we had 1 double bed and 3 single beds - and the air-conditioning strong.

The main issue why my experience was not 5-stars was the bed-bug bites that I received over my 2nd and 3rd nights. At last count, I had over 30 bites on my legs, feet, hands and arms, including 13 on my neck and chest. Thankfully, the kids and missus were spared. Our hosts were receptive to my feedback on the 3rd morning and had "sprayed" the room while we were out, but I still had about 10 fresh bites on the 3rd evening, unfortunately; pointing possibly to a need for more extensive/regular cleaning/fumigation of the beds and cracks in the wooden flooring especially.

Finally, a minor quibble would be the condition of the ensuite bathroom, which while clean, might be due for some repairs to the shower stall door etc.

Generally, the Heeren House is very good value for a family stay although I could have done without being a blood-meal for bed-bugs

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    92
    32
    19
    9
See reviews for
41
101
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This perfect boutique hotel is ideally situated in a converted shophouse in the historic centre of Melaka. The architect has deftly blended the traditional with the modern. Each room is different, spacious and well-equipped. The lobby is a pleasant place to rest from the heat of the town. More character than any of the chain hotels might possess. Highly recommended, and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It has the perfect location, in Chinatown on the river, steps from Jonker St., Stadhuys, the tourist info center, museums, but just off the main streets enough to offer some respite from all the action. In a charming, lovingly furnished historic building, with rooms that are basic but comfortable. Full English breakfast with fresh fruit is included in the price, and parking available just out front. Tip: ask to pull a chair out onto the river walkway to sit and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The smallish guest house is perfectly located in central Melaka and does a good (English!) breakfast plus fab sarnies for your onward journey. You can easily walk to all central attractions and the hostess is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The shower areas in the rooms could probably do with a bit of a refurb but its basically clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in a room right on the side road near the river. No problems with noise though even though i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I understand the mixed reviews on this hotel. The owners are very personable. The location, in the old district, is excellent. All hotel areas, except the shower, were clean. As to the shower, it was in need of bleach, to kill the mildew, and some work on the door and plumbing. The room was quite large, because it was the "family" room. The others, I glanced into, looked quite small. The breakfast was poor. We have learned not to expect much, for a continental breakfast in Malaysia, but this still was below average. As an example, the "sausage" was an over microwaved hot dog, and the coffee had been sitting on the hot plate too long. I might add, you need an up to date GPS, or taxi, to find this place. In my opinion, its quaintness just does not off set the drawbacks.

Room Tip: If you stay here, really consider the family room, for the spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The Heeren is a charming example of old town Melaka heritage buildings. The wooden furnishings and interior have been kept in great condition. The owners have a passion for their towns heritage and have great tips for places to see and of course dining suggestions. This was a last minute walk in pick and what an excellent choice it was.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulG_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travelling with my 7 year old daughter, she refused to use the shower because it looked awful, lots of silicone gap filler and lots of mould. Then in the morning I spotted a bed bug right where she's been sleeping, in the middle of the bed, and we both had bites that were suddenly explained. I've never seen or experienced them before so was pretty horrified. Malacca itself was great - nice food, a little river cruise, fun riding in a trishaw. And the staff at Heeren House were lovely - just a shame about the bedbugs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salbrown74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#27 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#39 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heeren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren House

Property: Heeren House
Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage guesthouse and cafe right in the heart of historical Melaka city. Everything and anything that is interesting in the city centre (UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE) is within walking distance. Each room has window views of the Melaka River and city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing