We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heeren House”
Review of Heeren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren House
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Fremantle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heeren House”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here in 2007 (I realise thats a few years ago now) and really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. I wouldn't put it in the "boutique hotel" category, but they do everything very well. The owners were lovely and very helpful and the little cafe area at the front is a nice spot to relax. From memory the bathrooms were pretty basic, but the price of the room was very reasonable and the location is probably the best aspect of this hotel. Right in the heart of town and close to all the beautiful little streets lined with traditional shop houses. Thoroughly recommend a vist to Charles Cham's gallery too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    35
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
105
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Heeren House is in a great location. We took the local bus from the bus station and got off at Stadhuis. It was only a 5 minute walk to the hotel from the bus stop. The room was nice with a firm bed, but the bathroom was dated. The shower section is very old and the toilet did not flush properly. Internet is available in the common room but it is quite slow. The breakfast was fine. All major attractions in Malacca are within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Heeren House is a boutique mini-hotel in the heart of the old town. The location of the hotel is perfect; you reach Jonker Street after a 2 minute walk.

Heeren House is a heritage building that has undergone many changes over the years. From being a warehouse to a typical Chinese coffee shop and family home… With just six rooms all overlooking the river, the Heeren House makes for a memorable stay in Melaka. Since Heeren House is so small, you'll quickly get to know the staff who provide personalized service and will cook you a full English breakfast in the morning.

We stayed in the Family room (named “Laksamana”) with a double bed & two single beds (full river view) for one night (Check in 21 July 2012) and paid RM230.00 nett. Rates included breakfast for three adults. Our room was spacious, thoughtfully decorated with Peranakan antiques and colonial furniture like canopied beds though unfortunately they're not always that comfortable for sleeping. But we really loved how the place was decorated. All rooms are air-conditioned with en-suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities.

Cafe and craftshop are downstairs. The service was perfect and morning breakfast is absolutely delicious! I think, best English breakfast in town…

P.S. The “Laksamana” is a position within the armed forces, similar to the position of admiral in Malay sultanates. The Laksamana in the Malacca Sultanate was in charge for the sea security of the Sultanate, and most importantly, the China-India trade route within the Straits of Malacca.

Room Tip: Ask for Family room with a double bed & two single beds (full river view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

When I arrived, almost room in Melaka were fulled, we try to reach the hotel in central Melaka. And the owner offers us a available room. It's ok with window can see street. VEry neer to Chirst Church, just across the corner. In the night market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed, for the second time, in February 2013. This is a little gem, being right in the heart of the tourist part of Melaka, with windows overlooking the river. It only has a few rooms, so you need to book well in advance. Staff are very helpful, and even loaned us umbrellas because it was raining. Breakfasts are very adequate, but the little cafe rarely seems to operate outside of breakfast.
Beds are comfortable, and the rooms are a good size. They are in need of some updating now and hopefully this will be done before long. Cleanliness was not up to the standard of our previous visit, and this also needs to be attended to. The bathrooms have deteriorated somewhat.
For the price, however, it is still a great place to stay, and it would be difficult to find a better location.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with full river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are looking for updated accommodations with no character, then you should go elsewhere. However, if you are looking for the best location in the historic district, then you have found the place. From the unfinished wall board ceiling to the ancient light fixture to a worn out bathroom in dire need of a re-do, you will think you have stepped back in time but not in a good way. Decorated in original Peranaka furniture, which does not necessarily mean comfort, the wooden rustic floors and staircase remain.
The river view is wonderful, located just one street over from Jonker Walk, this is the ideal location.
One of the few guesthouses in town with windows. The breakfast is hot, cooked to order, but with limited choices. The internet is sporadic. The tiny 11 inch TV set receives two stations, occasionally in English.
The building is sorely in need of modernization and the current manager informed us the owners are currently working on a project across the street which will contain 23 units. When that is completed, perhaps two years, then Heeren House will be updated. Until that is finished do not expect any improvements to the bathrooms which are the main eyesore.
If you want luxury and much higher prices go next door to Casa del Rio but if you want a taste of Melakan lifestyle then book room 2 for a great view of the river and activities. Melaka is a great city to visit with an abundance of history.

Room Tip: Room 2 has great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TazjnMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Firstly, have to say that Marcie and Henry are lovely, very gracious hosts, and very helpful. And the breakfast certainly better than some places we have stayed in within Malaysia.

BUT. To say the place needs some work is an understatement. Our first room (3) was awful, big damp stains in the ceiling, dripping water from the AC , a troubling sewage smell, dirty sheets, and the shower absolutely vile. We then had to move room into a family room for 2 nights due to other bookings (this seems to be a recurring issue reading some of the other reviews), this was better (as it should be for an extra 110 MYR per night), it still had grubby bedding, and an awful shower (a crack in the floor of the basin that leaked brown liquid if you stepped on it......).

For the money they charge (a premium vs other local options we discovered) it simply is not good enough, had it not been Christmas and full everywhere else we we would have moved .......

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#48 of 166 in Melaka
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#33 of 166 in Melaka
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
5 Heeren Museum Residence
5 Heeren Museum Residence
#25 of 166 in Melaka
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heeren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren House

Property: Heeren House
Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage guesthouse and cafe right in the heart of historical Melaka city. Everything and anything that is interesting in the city centre (UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE) is within walking distance. Each room has window views of the Melaka River and city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing