We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$55
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
95
105
36
24
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
95
105
36
24
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 271 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

A pleasant heritage building with a rustic & homely feel situated beside the Melaka river. It's proximity to the river does make it rather noisy with the tourist boats running early until late at night by your window. Lovely wooden floors & stairs, rooms are small size & could do with some upgrading. On further investigation, the Heeren is rather more expensive than most heritage guest houses. It was pleasant to sit out the front & watch the changing lights & traffic go past, many people wandering about absorbing the atmosphere of Malaka town. A pleasant stay, but also remember that hotels charge more on the Friday night as it is holiday ''day''...& we were put in a rather pokey room on the Friday due to another prior booking. Be warned to book in advance...& we did, but obviously not enough to stay in our first room.

Room tip: We booked a double room, but found there were double rooms with queen sized beds, which is what we would expect( King beds are most common in Asia).Check this first as double beds are very small, & there was no mention when booking on-line.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank residentw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had stayed at Heeren House some years ago when it was run by Liz and Bernard. Now it is under the supervision of Marcia and Henry who are gracious hosts. The rooms are still basic and have had nothing done to themsince but they are comfortable. The position is right next to the river and you can easily walk to all attractions within minutes. The street is really interesting with antique shops and lots of restaurants. We had the downstairs twin room with a very basic TV which we did not bother with and the bathroom really needs a new shower curtain so the floor does not flood.. The hotel has been sold and I really hope that the new owners do the right thing and keep it as a BNB but seriously spend some funds on its refurb. I love this BNB. It is my favorite in Melaka. Breakfast was fine nothing to rave about. For the money it is very good but if you want something more upmarket go to the hotel that has been built behind with the pool. Cant remember the name of it though.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Heeren house is a converted Godown (Warehouse) right next to the river in the centre of Melaka. It is around 300 yrs old and the conversion has been done very sensitively. Rooms are not massive but are spotless and comfortable and excellent value. However, the real bonus of staying here is the owners Marcia and Henry. What they don't know about Melaka isn't worth knowing and they could not be more helpfu. They will do everything they can to make sure that you get the best out of your stay in this fascinating city. Breakfast is great and, if you are interested in local food, Marcia runs a restaurant just outside the city centre which does fantastic Baba/ Nyonya food ( most of the recipes provided by Marcia's Mum). You may find cheaper places in Melaka but quite honestly a stay here is worth every ringitt.

Room tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Captainkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for four nights in July while touring SE Asia. Room was basic, as expected, in charming old shophouse. A/C worked just fine; not always the case with older hotels. River view was great but river odor was not. Easy walk to Jonkers Street. Tasty breakfast included.
Marcia and Henry are excellent hosts and went out of their way to help when a medical problem arose on the first day of our stay. They found me a specialist, set up an appointment, drove me to the MDs office, and provided written directions to return to the hotel. Well beyond the service norm and much appreciated.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This lovely old house is right on the river and is full of atmosphere as well as being very well located. When the temperature rose too high we could nip back 'home' for half an hour's rest in the air-conditioning. Marcia and Henry are great hosts and very helpful. Excellent breakfasts are included in the cost of the rooms. The little shop is an additional bonus!

Room tip: A room with a good river view is best
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews