We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Mimosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Hotel
Ranked #48 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed November 15, 2008

I wouldn't mind staying in this hotel again. My husband and I decided for a short getaway to Malacca last weekend and we didn't want to spend much money on accommodation.

I spent almost 2 days researching for a decent hotel because I know hotels in Malacca especially the ones near the towns are over priced. Once I stayed in Hotel Puri, which had very good reviews. Although it was clean, the room itself were small & stuffy and for the price of RM230++ per night, I felt cheated.

So this time, I tried to book Aldy's but it was fully booked. My second choice was Mimosa Hotel. The hotel itself was ok.

Lots of other members commented on different things, so here's a summary of what I have observed during my stay, having read their reviews before staying there.

Lift - smells old, but I wasn't bothered. I have been to 4 stars hotels in Thailand that doesn't have lifts. Plus, I booked the room, not the lift, so nothing much to complain about it here.

Wifi - was available from my room (2nd floor) and it was not near the lift. Reception was good. And it is free.

Breakfast - was just enough, though limited, and it is buffet. And it was tasty! I enjoyed the nasi lemak sambal they served on Sunday morning. Coffee was GOOD!

Room - spacious and clean. No comforter though, air cond was in good condition (in fact I had to shut down in the middle of the night as it was getting too cold). Mini fridge, coffee/tea making facilities available.

Bathroom - Does give away the age of the hotel, has a bathtub though not too inviting. Just nice to get a quick hot shower and get ready.

Location - walking distance to most of the historical sites, Jonker walk. Jalan Bunga Raya is one of the little known places in Malacca where you can buy cheap cloth, shoes and jeans. So walk around a bit. Madam King's is a supermarket which is right next door (right of the hotel).

Parking - limited during the weekends. If you're driving, try to reserve your weekend nights for a good walk from the hotel, and leave your car at the hotel. Jonker walk is really in walking distance.

Booking was made through the Hotel website (the cheapest rate on the net) and I paid RM138 nett (tax+breakfast for 2) per night. Parking is free if you're a guest. Daily newspaper are given free.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babblesbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

I wanted to stay in Malacca for a night over the weekend as I was told Jonker street has a night market only on weekends. It was a last minute decision and all of the boutique guesthouses/hotels smacked right in the city were all booked out. My colleague recommended mimosa, which her husband stays in whenever he/the family visits malacca. I tried emailing them but no reply. so i called the hotel directly and got a superior room.

We checked in around 2p.m. which was the check-in time stated on the website. The receptionist was friendly. There's no "non-smoking room" as all the rooms have windows. We carried the luggage up ourselves.

Upon reaching the room, we didn't get any wow experience, which wasn't surprising judging from the price we paid. We were only after a comfortable place to stay for the night, as long as there's a clean toilet (had a bathtub!), bedbug-free bed and tv that works (i heard and read of too many bad stories on tripadvisor!). The furniture looked a little aged, pillows were too soft, towels were thin, no toiletries like shampoo/soap provided like most hotels. however, a soap dispenser was provided so i'm not complaining. toilet bowl was clean. electric water kettle was provided. There are limited tv stations and the usual malaysian channels.

The only bad thing about the hotel is it's located beside a mosque. There were prayers going on at six-ish in the morning and the boyfriend and i were woken up. we dozed off to sleep right after though. So if you're a light sleeper, you might wanna think twice about staying there.

It's pretty near the city centre, where all the tourist attractions are, and the awesome shophouses selling good food. At the hotel entrance (facing the road) turn left and walk all the way down. It's about a fifteen minute walk. there's a coffeeshop selling yummy wanton mee at RM3 just opposite the hotel. there's a small cafe/pub inspired house at the end of the the same shophouse, else visit the pubs or cafes on jonker street if you're after some boozing or chill out time.

breakfast is provided, which we overslept so i can't comment on that. it ends at ten o'clock. my colleague told me not to waste my stomach space tho' because the breakfast is really normal. Just pop by any coffeeshop which sells cheap and authentic malaysian food.

The check-out time was 12p.m. We took cabs to and fro from the bus interchange. RM15 to the hotel. The receptionist was kind to call for a cab when we were leaving, which cost us RM12.

I would recommend the hotel if you're doing a last minute booking or if you want somwhere outta the town centre (but still relatively close). Do not expect too much or some out-of-the-world experience. We paid RM 138 for the superior room as it wasn't peak period, but they charge RM20 because it was over the weekend (normal price is RM118).

I would recommend you to book early especially if you want to stay somewhere in the town centre. Less walking and you can save money on cab fares because there's a town shuttle bus (i heard it costs less than RM2 for a trip). Hop on the bus from the bus interchange, and the same bus takes you town centre, the shopping malls, which is much more convenient and money saving and nearer to everything!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heelsaremeant4models
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Booked through Hotel Website for a Deluxe on 10th May 2008. Two double beds at RM252 nett.

Had stayed here a few times with my wife, since 1997, when it opened new recently, at that time. The impression then, was that it was a no-nonsense, clean, strictly value for money hotel. Thinking that these would also apply after so many years with two kids, and a bigger room, was one of the biggest mistake ever.

Carparks as before was limited, but there was no hassle in getting one. The carpark attendants was helpful and responsive.

The lobby, remains as we rememebered. The only lift however, was way too run down and carries a whiff of unpleasantness.

The deluxe, though big it might be, was not tastefully furnished, and carrying a smell suggesting that it was seldom used and cleaned .With very old bedding, old one piece sofa bed, and a terrbile toilet to boot. The toilet bowl was clogged after only a few usage, causing the whole family to use the guest toilets at the lobby. Only one vent for air conditioning works, which is inadequate for hot days, as the room was facing the sun.

We never had tried the breakfast till now. Not sure about the standards then, but I could get better food, at the rate they are charging. 10RM for adults and RM8 for kids.

The area, surrounding the Hotel too, was no the area we knew, as it was practically dead the whole day except for constant traffic passing by Bunga Raya.

We are frequent travellers to Melaka, and will definitely give this Hotel a miss in future, until some form of renovation is done.

Do not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MELAKABAGUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Mimosa is good value. Location is convenient to walking to most of the sites & old neighborhoods - even the street around the hotel is fairly picturesque. Breakfast buffet is not bad.

One flaw though is, like other hotels in Melaka, there's not enough parking for the amount of cars that come. Another is the hotel doesn't guarantee bookings if you are going to arrive after 5pm. (Fortunately our room was still there when we arrived about 11pm, but they could make a more reassuring policy).

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We stayed at the Mimosa over the weekend recently. Location was good as it was within walking distance to Jonker Walk, historical area and shops. Room was generally clean, and beds were sufficiently firm.

On the negative side, the breakfast was below par. Located next to a mosque, guests, especially those staying in rooms facing the right side of the hotel, can expect an early morning wake-up call! Also, this must be one of the few hotels around that imposes a charge for an additional blanket. However, at RM130 per night there should not be much reason to complain.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelbugJPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

If you are looking for a place to stay in Malacca, then Mimosa Hotel can be a good choice. It is affortable ( less than RM 130 for a room per night ) and walking distance to some interesting tourst attractions ( St. Paul's Hill , Jonker Street , A Famosa ).

The only issue I have with this hotel is that the parking is quite limited and early booking is needed as it is usually fully booked on weekends and peak seasons.

Other than that, it is a fine place to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stormwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Malaysia
12
Reviewed November 4, 2005

A very great location for visitors to get a stroll of walk at the night market,food and shopping.Quiet at night and there is no disturbance.Bed was comfortable and clean.Friendly staff but the cafe is not so good.Upgrade it.Surprisingly i always stays here.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#66 of 168 in Melaka
195 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#41 of 168 in Melaka
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Explorer Hotel
The Explorer Hotel
#42 of 168 in Melaka
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#22 of 168 in Melaka
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.9 mi away
Supreme Hotel Melaka
Supreme Hotel Melaka
#116 of 168 in Melaka
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Hotel

Address: Mimosa Hotel 108 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $20 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mimosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mimosa Hotel Melaka strategically located in the heart of China town , Melaka and within walking distance to historical landmarks , business & shopping districts like Jonker Walk ,the antique enthusiast's haven and eateries. Well-appointed spacious rooms complete with a spectacular view of Chinatown to make your stay pleasant and memorable . We offer the very best in comfort,warmth ,quality service and great value . Step into our lobby and you will find the set-up layout animates a feeling of warmth and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing