We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect too much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
“Dont expect too much.”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I find the superior room, king size bed,the soft type pillows,and the quit-cover type of blanklet suitable for my needs. The bath area is spacious and clean,but water pressure is not strong and water not hot enough.Aircon must down down to the lowest temp if not room feels very warm. However my room is facing the sewage plant, not smelly though. I like the view and is able to see which directions to go and explore the places nearby.There is a tasty noodle and porridge coffeeshop which I think is good and inexpensive.Must try a cafe serving yummy "thousand layer cakes" There is quite a few other coffeeshops serving japanese and nonya food for those on a budget and dont care to go and hunt for delicious food.

However the free breakfast looks pathetic but taste ok. Alot of small details like table setting,the utensils,napkins and menu looks old and dirty. The staff got too friendly and ask alot of personal details which make my friend uncomfortable while we was eating.Never get too friendly with the staffs,they seem unable to respect guest privacy.

Walking distance to MAHKOTA & PALAWAN shopping mall, the newton food centre ok for
drinks only,food dont look good. In the evening, take a nice walk to the famous Christchurch,shipwreck and jonker walk is very dead and quiet in the weekdays.

Overall, location is very good,but not for those who wants to cozy up in the hotel room most of the time.Book thru the internet and skip the breakfast for better rates.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOREAMONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    39
    19
    19
See reviews for
41
32
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was worried when i made the booking for this hotel as i read the reviews from tripadvisor and its ransk 77/100 .. but when i check in on Friday i was given a suprise.. the room is ok and spacious and no as bad as what the rest mentioned... the location is great and is within walking distance to all areas... need not worry about makan as there are losta restuarant outside the hotel... the staff are friendly and breakfast was alright... btw what do u expect?? its those standard breakfast found in malaysai hotels ... nasi lemak.. fried egg.. hot dogs etc...
i will recommend this hotel to my friends....

cheers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The hotel is in a great location between the shopping malls, food courts and the cultural centre. At night there is a street market nearby. However, the hotel cannot compare with the location. Staff are friendly but service is definately more akin to local standards as are the facilities. The rooms are on the smaller side and initially look quite pleasant but you soon realise the lack of lighting hides rather worn and basic decor. Cleanliness is not great and things only feel worse when you realise the sheets are not big enough to cover the whole mattress. Wood floors in the room look nice but you soon realise they are not cleaned very well and they can cause huge amounts of impact sound from the floor above. Breakfast is not great with a small, not particularly tasty range of dishes. People should note that a lot of the guests were local travellers who did not have a lot of consideration for others as they yell from room to room and talk only at maximum volume. Smokers may celebrate but non-smokers should beware there is no distinction between smoking and non-smoking rooms. Price is not good costing 200-250ringgit per night. My advice, walk 5-10 mins further out from the main centre and book yourself into a decent 4* hotel for only a little more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, so i guess the grey thin sheets, sandy toilet floor is somehow quite acceptable.
But I just have one thing to comment on. Don't 'walk-in' to this hotel. book it online 1st, as it's quite expensive for the 'walk-in' price we paid @ RM225!
Not worth for the condition of the room.
The breakfast sucks big time! don't bother having it eventhough it's free!
Just go out to the shops nearby & have Roti Canai instead..good & cheap!
But i can't deny the location is great for sightseeing & shopping! All being walking distance.
Pros & Cons for this hotel. Would i stay there again? Maybe so if other hotels are not available..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mataharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farrer Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I have been to Melaka a number of times and this was the first time I stayed at Seri Costa. The room pics on the website looks goods (guess this was taken perhaps 5 years back when they just open cos the actual room and lobby were different). Anyway, thought just try for a short visit...mistake... When we stepped into the lobby...phew..toilet kind of smell, and along the corridor to our rooms..poo smell (bad ventilation), floor was dusty, bedsheets looks grey instead of white, bathroom nothing to talk about, room lightings bad, hair dryer didn't work. My hubby was like scratching the whole night..bed got dust mites I guess. Bed is made of wood including headboard and upon closer look has got a lot of dust. The first and the last time I will be staying here. No more...no more...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greygoose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago in an twin superior room and I had a good impression to its location and also clean room. However, it fully disappointed me when I stayed there last week for my Malacca trip.

Firstly, we rent a family room for 4 and when we stepped into the room, the room was quite clean. When we go nearer to our beds, we found that the bedsheets, blankets are extremely dirty.

Then, the conditions of the bathroom also not very good, eg. the leaking tab, not properly cleaned floor.

The most serious part was when we sleep in the night, Malacca experienced a heavily rain pour and water leaked into our room. (quite serious just like our room also raining). This waked us up and complained to the management. This really make us very unhappy since we paid so expensive and dint get a room with good condition.

Then, the choice of breakfast was very limited, in addition of the food was not warm. The half boiled eggs overcook like hard boiled egg (LOL).

Last but not least, the staffs were not friendly at all. When we came back from jonker street, a staff questioned us what was our room number, not in a polite manner. During check out, I was not clear to the amount charge and asked them to confirm again, they also replied in the unpolite manner.

So, for those who plan to have a stay at this hotel, I recommend you all stay at other hotel although this hotel have a good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunflowerfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Basic hotel don't expect much. Not our kinda hotel we would stay-in but due to last minute travel plan changed, we have the opportunity to try them. We had a very bad driving experience 5 hours on the road from KL-Malacca.(massive jam)Too tired to walk-around, way to many people,stuffy and noisy. We decided to leave Malacca right after breakfast at 8.30am.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KmlMf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#32 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#53 of 166 in Melaka
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#120 of 166 in Melaka
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#36 of 166 in Melaka
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#98 of 166 in Melaka
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#54 of 166 in Melaka
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seri Costa Hotel-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Costa Hotel-Resort

Property: Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Address: Hotel Seri Costa Jalan Pm 8, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seri Costa Hotel-Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Seri Costa Hotel-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Costa Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing