We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service, Bad Management & No Responsibility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden City Melaka Service Apartments
Ranked #89 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
KL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Bad Management & No Responsibility”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have 2 cars travel to Melaka on 04/06/2011. Around 3pm, we check-in at Garden City Melaka Service Apartments counter, and then enter to apartment. When the 1st car is reach the barrier machine, the barrier is open, then the 1st car just cross it. After the 1st car cross, the barrier still open, but when the 2nd car cross the barrier machine, the barrier suddenly get down & knock on the rear of car. We stop and check the car immediately, but the Malay Fat Guard stand there and blame us. Hey, there are no one informs us need to do gate pass when reach to barrier machine, additional that the barrier is open when we cross, what wrong with us!? The guard already knows the barrier machine got problem, why not just lock it as open situation?

Around 11pm, when we waiting another car back to apartment at barrier machine, notice that the machine will not automatic close after the 1st car cross, 2nd car can cross without do gate pass, but the 3rd car will get knock if they do not do gate pass.

Already make a complaint when check out, but no any use at all, their management service is very bad & no any responsibility at all....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My sister's family, husband, wife and two young kids aged 9 and 7, and our family of three, my son, daughter-in-law and I decided to go to Melaka on a day trip. There was just so much to see and experience. The historical architecture, the sights and sound attracted attracted both the adults as well as the kids. The plethora of food is an absolute adventure for the palate. Lost in this wonderful wonderland we lost track of time. After a sumptuous dinner as we sanguinely sipped cool coconut water enjoying the balmy air, the kids suggested that we stay over in Melaka. It being a Saturday the adults did not argue and agreed. As it was an impromptu decision, we were not booked into any accommodation. We drove around Melaka Raya and stumbled upon the Garden City Melaka Serviced Apartments.

Although booked out, the receptionist was courteous and most kind, going out of her way to help. She checked her register, made a few phone calls to housekeeping and advised that we were lucky as one of the units had just come available due to an early check out of the guest. The receptionist apologized that it might take a while for the unit to be cleaned and readied. Having spied a swimming pool we decided to shop for some essentials including swimming gear. Good thing the shops open to late in Melaka.

When we returned the apartment was ready and we gratefully took the keys and drove over to Crystal Tower. Some children were enjoying themselves in the swimming pool and we made a mental note that we must go for a dip in the morning before we leave. The seven of us cramped into the lift but was too tired to notice the cement rendered corridor.

When we entered the unit, the kids were ecstatic with the spaciousness of the 3 bed room unit. Exploring and investigating each room they chose the one with the most windows. The unit was airy and clean. The linen was freshly laundered and the beds were neatly turned down. The furnishing was a bit dated but was clean and well maintained. The comfortable couch was heaven to put our feet up after a busy day.

The next morning we could not wait to go for a dip in the pool. From our balcony we could see the inviting shimmering waters modestly fringed by foliage. The kids were wowed by the hanging bridge and water fall and quite an adventure playing in and out of the water. The water was clear and the pool was big enough to share with five other guests. Kids free the adults enjoyed a good soak and swim.

Sadly all too soon it was time to pack up and check out. Thank you Garden City Melaka Serviced Apartments for your courteous and pleasant hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly look forward to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooldudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were a little desperate - it was the weekend of the KL demos, and Melaka was booked out. We like apartments as it gives a bit more room, 'we' being grandmother, mother and pre-teen daughter. This one is presented as 'holiday home stay' and 'holiday apartments' - which is a good ruse for disguising what it actually is, which is an old tired and poorly maintained condo.
Good points - it's not TOO far away from the action (next to Bandar Hilir police station), it has a nice pool area, it is clean, parking galore and the owner was very sweet.
Bad points - it is TOO far away from the action to walk. The owner wanted CASH when we arrived, which I didn't have (and would have refused anyway). We walked to the office and used my Visa. The shower is in the toilet/bathroom combo, which means it's usually very wet underfoot, and while it has a wee kitchen, there is NOTHING in it - no toaster or cereal bowls or even a knife.
Things we could live with - shabby furniture, threadbare sheets and rather desperate lift - and with earplugs the noise from the stairwells (children shrieking and a drummer) was tolerable from the smaller bedroom.
Oh - and did I mention it was RM640 for only two nights? We felt totally ripped off, and I felt really embarrassed at taking my mum to this third rate property :-(
Lessons: BEWARE of accommo options with bland titles like 'perfect homestay' and 'holiday apartment hotel' - some are bad condos masquerading as serviced apartments. Get the actual NAME of the property and do some homework (wish I had - but was too short of time to do a proper job :-( ) You don't find out until you're there - at which time it is toooooooooooo late to change.
Also I think they're running a racket, the internet paperwork said we were in one apartment, however we were shown to another. On reflection I should have jumped up and down a bit more, however bit hard en famille with one's mother and daughter in tow!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Well, not too much to say about this place. Booked it on-line and suffered the consequences. Pictures of the apartment looked great, BUT, they must have been taken a long, long time ago, or they have a show apartment somewhere in the complex. Got to have been the worst place I have stayed in for a long time - fortunately it was for only one night. Basically this is a condo block where people have bought apartments and are renting them out for holiday stays.

Had a two bedroom apartment. Some sort of air conditioning in each room, but nothing in the lounge area. Minimal bedding or towels, and even if you used the towels they where so thin you would have taken a long time to dry yourself.

Bathroom/shower was a toilet seat and a house with a shower head - suggest you put the toilet paper somewhere were it won't get wet before you have a shower. It's also en-suite to the master bedroom, so anybody wanting to use the toilet has to walk thru the master bedroom to get to it.

Kitchenette was interesting but I am guessing used little. Fridge/freezer was switched off but would have been off little use anyway as the door didn't close.

Had a TV in the lounge, however it was older than the building itself, so couldn't even plug our kids portable DVD player into it.

Room Tip: Don't bother, look somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Receptions VERY2 rude.. No manners when talking.. apartment ok…broken air-conditioning without repairing until check out..4days staying.. Moved out and stay city centre near HOLIDAY INN for 5rooms new apartment only for 350MYR! VERY GOOOOOD DEAL!!! Freak traveler….

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glimrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Children will certainly enjoy and love the pool here.
Easy place to find.
Near the city of Melaka.
Room with Aircondition.....hall with no aircond..but still cold at night.
Reception....very helpful and smile.
We went in large Family..about 40 people. Rent 3room @2unit and 2room@1unit.
Will come and visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdhakimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Children enjoy the pool. Living room no air-cond, but enough of air-conds at work and in the car, so at night open all windows and doors, very breezy, some family members need to put on blanket at dawn. Walking against the traffic, can find Newton with all local food. Will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heeyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malacca Hotel Apartment
Malacca Hotel Apartment
#83 of 131 in Melaka
18 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jetty Suites Apartments
Jetty Suites Apartments
#3 of 131 in Melaka
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#8 of 166 in Melaka
1,833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#31 of 166 in Melaka
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden City Melaka Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden City Melaka Service Apartments

Property: Garden City Melaka Service Apartments
Address: Suites 1, Penthouse, Bangunan, Draland, 9, Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden City Melaka Service Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Garden City Melaka Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden City Melaka Service Apartments Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing