We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better out there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Continental Melaka
Ranked #125 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is old, tired & needs to be refurbished. The room is very much the same. The location is not central its inconvenient to get to jonker street or anywhere worth visiting at least. Parking is limited and always an issue here over the weekends & highly likely that you will end up parking on the main road after you return from dinner.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 119 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

you can find, this place is only to be used as a complete last resort.
Cockroaches in the room, based on that I didn't eat here on the two night stay- pre paid unfortunately. The little hawker centre on the motorway side of the hotel was a good place to eat.
On a supposedly non smoking floor people were puffing away furiously in the corridors.
I lost my mobile charger on my trip and had had no problems getting someone to charge my phone but here they were distinctly unhelpful especially a I could see that a phone the same as mine was on a charger at the desk.
The only positive was the dhoby shop almost opposite where I got my laundry done for next to nothing compared to the hotel rates.
do yourself a favour- just dont stay here

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Room in very bad condition, pathetic I would said
Run down bathroom and wall tile. The bathtub reglazing enamel had even came off
Found door rubber gasket lying in our room upon check in
The extra pillow in the wardrobe had oily stain on it
Sound proof was bad, can even listen to next door people chatting

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melodychichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When I reach to this hotel, it's recall me on my previous trip at Damai Desaru Beach Resort. Oh no, i will face one more nightmare?? (My first though). The hotel is old. When the first time im entered the room, i look up to the ceiling. Great, no leakage!! Then I open the fridge, okay not bad. Then i switch on the tv. Not much channel but still better because got astro.
Aircond, so far, for me, it's okay. I have no problem with it. I comfortable with the temperature (for me cold is better). Food, not much choice, but i still can stand on it. At lease we feel like we ate at hotel and not feel like we ate at street stall. I just not satisfy with their swimming pool. Borings and not well maintenance. Just I wonder. Where is my newspaper? Not provided?

Room Tip: Location is strategic. I choose this place because it's nearby town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloe_Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed on this hotel early oct 2012. It's an old hotel, not so far from the dutch square (city main attraction). It was quite cheap for a 3 stars hotel. However the service was pretty bad. They don't have any plug adapters to lend. Staffs were not friendly except for a few ones. Overall it was not satisfying, but quite cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

this hotel is absolutely awful.stayed there for 2 nights in february 2012.dirty,poor equipment.the pictures on the website do not match what the hotel actually is.you think you are going to stay in a great hotel when it s actually the reverse.the actual place is falling apart.the pool was dirty,no sun loungers just a few broken chairs,no towels,cigarette butts in the corridor ,cockroaches.vileplace

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Overall stay was ok other than the fact that this hotel really needs a full make-over.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AddyDmitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
0.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#57 of 168 in Melaka
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#106 of 168 in Melaka
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
641 reviews
1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Melaka

Address: No 20 Jalan Tun, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $22 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We had just completed major room renovations and are proud to present the all new Executive Rooms and the existing refurbished Deluxe and Superior rooms at affordable prices. Newly added facilities are the WIFI services in all rooms & Banquest Halls and rain showers in all Deluxe and Executive rooms. Expect warm and friendly service being rendered by our staff and hoping that you'll have a great holiday in Melaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Grand Continental Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Melaka Hotel Melaka
Grand Continental Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing