We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Night Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jonker Street

Jonker Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Day Trip to Historical Malacca from Kuala Lumpur with River Cruise and Lunch
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Night Market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The road is so alive with the lights and the buzzing of people, it s a buzy night market selling variety of things from street foods, fresh fruits, sotong bakar (grilled squid), to souvenirs like tshirts, handycrafts, toys, etc.

At the other end of the road they would have live performance entertaining all the road side diners.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ciska_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    1,983
    936
    150
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,558 reviews
485 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,269 helpful votes
“Good weekend night market!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We did a day trip to Melaka from KL and one of our main reasons for visiting was to see this night market. The driver we used was Gopi and his tel no is 016 635 3884 or 010 274 5771.
Email is gopi1571@yahoo.com

As mentioned by one of the previous reviewers its was very hot in Melaka this time of year.

The Market started at 6 pm and has a great selection of local food and various market items such as
clothing and handcrafts for sale. There are many eateries along Jonker Street and a few lovely spots to sit down and enjoy a beer.

Definitely worth visiting this market even if its just to taste the cheap local food prepared fresh in front of you at the market.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

we visited on a week end so there were lots of tourists.The central area with the dutch buildings were nice.But we found the jonker street a dull affair.Street food was quite average in taste and the variety was limited price of the souvenirs were relatively high.On our second day we found very nice eating places away from the jonker street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank malik044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

i love acient streets, the River Cruise is really awesome ( 15 MYR for 30 minutes on boat), it gives me peaceful feelings and I wished I could stay more:) I will definitely come back again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Must visit place in Melaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit. Especially the night market on week end.
A lot of nice food to try.
But the weather was very hot.

Helpful?
1 Thank FlemingC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonker Street also viewed

 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Jonker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing