We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Ranked #67 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The elevators were down in the morning during peak season. A lot of guests were forced to take the emergency stairs. My friends and I were told that we could book a taxi trough the receptionist, but when we wanna depart, the middle-aged female staff in the receptionist suddenly told me that the taxi is not available and there was nothing that she could do to help us. She even told us to look for our own taxis OUTSIDE the hotel when it was raining. What kind of logic is that? Definitely not going to have a second stay here.
The room was okay tho. The hotel is 15 minutes away from Jonker Street :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofumilk15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We hope that your stay in Melaka was pleasant aside from the Taxi incident. Your feedback has been channeled to the Front Office Manager to ensure such an incident is not repeated. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

When i check-in into this hotel, the reception staff is friendly and gave us our room when we arrive early. When we got into our room, we are really disappointed as they gave us a view that is not a city view and the view is facing the housing area and also cemetary.. to me its really unacceptable. The worst part is that the toilet is smelly with Urine smell!!!! I quickly request for another room change, and unfortunately they say that all double rooms are unavailable. Then next i requested for someone to clean up the toilet. Waited for long 30 mins and no one came up. called a few times and still no one came up until my husband went down to the reception to check why is the housekeeping taking such a long time to come over to our room. finally waited for 40 mins and the housekeeping came and clean the toilet. Then the Urine Smell is still there. They couldn't find where is the problem, and we have to bear with the Urine smell the whole night even after we close the toilet doors... I'm definately won't be coming back to this hotel again after having such an unpleasant night with them.

Room Tip: Do get city view room, or else you will be facing a housing areas and also cemetary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Daphne
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that the matter was not immediately rectified during your stay and rest assured that we have taken the necessary corrective measures to address the leak which caused the damp smell. Once again we apologise for the discomfort and look forward to an opportunity to be of better service to you in future.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel was good for an overnight stay near to the historic area of Melacca. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. We had problems with the room safe and they were very slow sorting it out - in fact they failed to sort it out - and that wasted a lot of our time for visiting the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear about the "hiccup" on the safe deposit box and apologise for the inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we are glad that overall your stay with us was comfortable and hope that your visit to Historical Melaka was pleasant.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, and once you realise that, there should be no problem. The furniture and decor is dated (1980's) but is spotlessly clean. The lobby, however, is very nice and modern. My room was fine - comfortable bed, excellent air con that worked, lots of hot water, and good supply of free tea, coffee and mineral water. Bathroom was spotless. Limited TV channels, however. Food is adequate at breakfast. The staff, however, were wonderful - very helpful and polite and courteous and always smiling! (I can't say the same for some of the other guests in their attitude towards the staff - very impatient and impolite...). If you're looking for somewhere that's cheap and cheerful and within walking distance of the tourist spots of Melaka, then this hotel is fine

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is such a joy to receive your kind compliments and we shall convey your feedback to our staff. It is guests like you who make their day to day work life a gratifying experience.
Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Melaka during your next visit.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was rated 5 stars but ended up we could say it just worth for 2 stars. When we first entered the room, the coffee table provided even still had coffee stains and biscuit bits. It was disgusting and the room service is bad. The breakfast was not that satisfying and do not have many choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessy_ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will strive to improve in the areas concerned and look forward to being of better service to you in future.

Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

First night, we stayed at twin beds room. This room had unpleasant smell, some furniture are falling apart. After that we moved to Deluxe King Beds room, which is much better. The air-con is not very cold although we have set it below 20 degree. If not mistaken, we stayed at 10th floor.
No restriction for people who swim with full-dress or wear swimsuit. I saw some guests wore normal tshirt & pant when they swam, but no officer around. The foods are average, but coffee is much better compare i stay at Johor's hotel.
Go to Jonker street can take taxi or by walking. Taxi rate is about RM12-15.

Room Tip: Choose the king-bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliChng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We were having a glitch in the aircon system which has since been rectified. We look forward to being of service to you during your next stay. Do opt for our Deluxe Rooms on the 14th floor with Jacuzzi and Rainshower. We are certain it will meet your expectations.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We planned on a one-night trip to Melaka at the holiday period last minute with hotels we desired are not available. Basically, Bayview was one of the few which was available at this peak period. Looked up trip advisor for this hotel and reviews were not pleasant. However, we decided to give it a try since there are responses of service recovery with each review. Things might have improved, we thought.

The first team we approached was the concerige. The staff wore no smile as if they were forced to come back to work on a holiday. They were not professional in dealing with guests as well. There was no words of advice or information given when they handed over the key. When we approached them pissed off of the late check-in and asked if we were given a late check-out, the lady asked nonchalantly with no feeling of sorry, "you want what time?". Perhaps the mostly friendly and approachable staff whom we met was the bell captain who was willing to give us advice on good food and directions.

The aircon at our studio suite was fairly strong whereby we woke up with sweat. We had turned it with the lowest temperature and we barely felt the coolness. Pillows were flat as the moment we layed our head on them, they became deflated immediately. Bed was hard but still bearable. Room is considered clean but dated.

We had no comments with the location as there is a nice nyonya restaurant opposite right to hotel and 20 minutes of walk to the main tourist area is bearable for us. The jacuzzi in the bathroom is a small consolation for us.

Words of advice for the management: Please train the staff to deal with guests professionally and with sincerity. What we asked for is quite minimal. A smile and sincerity- the human touch.
And we hope that things really improve not just by responding online and actions are done to improve the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which are high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tng26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time to highlight the areas which need improvement and rest assured that re-training has been conducted. We hope that the rest of your stay in Melaka was pleasant and look forward to another chance to meet and exceed your expectations.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 168 in Melaka
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#106 of 168 in Melaka
274 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Melaka
Ibis Melaka
#18 of 168 in Melaka
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#102 of 168 in Melaka
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
174 reviews
1 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#36 of 168 in Melaka
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Melaka

Address: Bayview Hotel Melaka Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $31 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historical city, Bayview Hotel Melaka boasts 188 spacious guest rooms including luxurious suites with Jacuzzi and kitchenette, 6 dining and entertainment outlets including a dance club and KTV studio, a comprehensive range of recreational facilities from gym to spa pool and toddler's pool as well as complete meeting and convention facilities. For business or leisure, find it all at Bayview Hotel Melaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Bayview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing