We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Ranked #67 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel lobby looked huge and clean but the room looked old.
Toilet faucet faulty,stained shower curtain, shower area looked very old and in need of major renovation. Have to wait for 30mins to checked in, staff not friendly, unapproachable and unprofessional.
The TV is so outdated and small. Could hardly see any shows clearly and reception not fantastic.
Breakfast buffet is so blend not much variety and most of it tasted salty! The weakest and bad point is that wifi is chargeable and can be only use by one mobile/electronic each time. This is so riduculous!!
Need to travel far to tourist attraction and not suitable for family with small kids to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelvakumarC, Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at Bayview during my recent business trip to Malacca. As it is the nearby hotel to my office, I booked the room for 2 nights.
During the first night, after shower, I would like to use the hair dryer but after a few seconds when I switched it on, it ran out of order. I tried to pull out the switch and re-connected back to the socket but failed. I called up the reception and they immediately sent one maintenance to come over. He looked at the hair dryer and told me that it was too hot. I looked at him and told him that I just switched it on for few seconds. He checked, checked, checked and checked, somehow, it worked after that. The maintenance left my room and I tried to use the hairdryer again. Still, the same thing happened. It was not working. I have no choice but to call the reception again to inform her the problem I encountered. She told me that she will change another one for me. After a while, the same maintenance guy came with a slightly old hair dryer which looks like it has not been used for ages. I just took the hairdryer and placed it in the drawer.
The air-conditioner was relatively warm even I switched it to high. It was like no air-con at all. Since it was warm and my slept was not well, I was awaken at 2.30am in the morning by the construction work that was carrying out 24 hours just beside the hotel. The sound was too loud that made me couldn't sleep well.
The next day, I went to the cafe for breakfast. The variety is limited but I just need to grab some food for the day. When I was back to the hotel in the evening, I called the reception to check on my room air-con and asked her whether I can change my room because it was too noisy. The maintenance guy came and checked on the air-con and told me that the air-con pipe was having some problem. The maintenance told me that he will inform the front office so that they can arrange another room for me. I switched it to another room which was on the other side and thanks God that my slept was much better as I was not interrupted by the construction noise but the air-con still very weak.
Overall, I think the cleanliness of the room is okay but really need a major improvement in terms of the room setup, furniture, fittings such as air-con, TV.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjwa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelvakumarC, Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a run-down, not terribly clean property in a fairly average location with little to recommend it beyond a very nice bellhop. The room was poorly air-conditioned and felt vaguely damp; the best was hard and the pillows were foam; the TV was wonky and showed the same sports station on three of the 12 channels it received. For the price it was offered ($100/night), the a/c should have at least been decent.

Fortunately, a kind bellhop took pity when we returned from our original room (no a/c, broken tv) and arranged for another. I appreciate that kind of service, no matter what star-level rating. In any case, he's a 5-star bellhop.

This level of hotel is available in Malacca for less money. Significantly better is available for 50% more. Stay if nothing else is available and you're not keen on a hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel definitely need some improvement to their in room facilities, for short stay it is OK. Location wise, it is pretty much accessible to get your meals as there are nearby coffee shop and convenience stores.
Staffs are really helpful when ask for services and directions to place of interest or for food.
Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtej2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room for 2 nights. Room was quite spacious and clean. The furnishings were a bit tired but overall we were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The service of the hotel staff could have been better. Check-in was relatively smooth, but a little more courtesy from the reception staff would have been appreciated. Check-out was a nightmare. There were 2 staff at reception, but only 1 ready to do the check-out despite the line of people waiting to check-out. check-out took 40 mins, so plan accordingly. This level of service seems to be pervasive throughout the staff of the hotel. None of the staff we encountered during our stay made us feel either pleasant or welcome.
Location of the hotel is ok. It's a 12-15 mins walk to the main attractions. As the city is best explored on foot, this was not really a problem. There is a 7-11 just opposite the hotel which was convenient. Not many options for restaurants close to the hotel. The room service menu for the hotel is quite limited. We ordered room service twice and were dissapointed with the food both times.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in Aug-12. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Parking is free at the hotel, even for members of the public. There isn't any barrier or gantry to enter the sheltered carpark. Complimentary newspaper is given in the morning but only in Chinese. Apart from the illegal street racing at night and the sound of ambulance sirens (hotel is located next to a hospital), this hotel provides travellers a comfortable place to rest. The hotel charges RM41 for buffet breakfast but the variety is not impressive.

Location-wise, it is about 20mins walk to Jonker Street. There is a nearby coffee shop which is 5mins walk from the hotel where you can grab a bite to eat. If you are intending to get to Mahkota shopping mall, it is not advisable to walk as it is way too far from the hotel. There isnt any shuttle bus service from the hotel to any shopping malls so you got to take a cab (if u can find one in Malacca) or drive yourself there.

Overall, my stay at Bayview Hotel Malacca was comfortable and acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celestar989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed there several times and were hoping to get a comfortable and pleasant stay. Using their special membership package, we booked 2 rooms and were told that we could use the voucher to upgrade to a Deluxe room at a price. Since we were planning to spend most of our time visiting relatives & shopping & dining, we decided not to upgrade. However after one night's stay, we were totally disappointed. The bathroom had many unacceptable flaws, leaking faucet, broken toilet bowl cover and choked sink. We then went to see the front desk staff to request an upgrade; preparing to pay for it at the member's rate. We were informed that we were "not entitled" as our rooms wer complimentary. Imagine our surprise as we had paid quite a sum to join as members and we could have gotten two nights' stay with many more perks at another more prestigious hotel. Fortunately the Duty Manager managed to resolve that and we spent the rest of our stay in the Deluxe room ( at a price of course) and it was much much better.. So if you wish to have a comfortable and pleasant stay, don't book the Superior room. Also, don't expect great service as they apparently cater more for group tours and are not great with personalized service. Location is ok and breakfast is above average.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Choose the Deluxe Room or if you have 4 persons, book the 2-bedroom suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrislye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 168 in Melaka
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#106 of 168 in Melaka
274 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Melaka
Ibis Melaka
#18 of 168 in Melaka
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#102 of 168 in Melaka
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 168 in Melaka
174 reviews
1 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#36 of 168 in Melaka
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Melaka

Address: Bayview Hotel Melaka Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $31 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historical city, Bayview Hotel Melaka boasts 188 spacious guest rooms including luxurious suites with Jacuzzi and kitchenette, 6 dining and entertainment outlets including a dance club and KTV studio, a comprehensive range of recreational facilities from gym to spa pool and toddler's pool as well as complete meeting and convention facilities. For business or leisure, find it all at Bayview Hotel Melaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Bayview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing