We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, peaceful accomodation”
Review of QuaySide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
QuaySide Hotel
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, peaceful accomodation”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We checked in on 19th Oct and it was a smooth one.

Overall very good, the cleanliness, the surroundings, the service and the breakfast.

However only one thing we would like to comment.

The "beef soup noodle" at Halia Inc restaurant need a tremendous improvement because it taste like plain water with noodles, beef and that's it. They should cook the beef broth for long hours to get the finest beef taste like the ones in Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanni_ariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    92
    49
    27
    26
See reviews for
52
94
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SIngapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chanced upon this cite new establishment on the internet and decided to book it. Converted from an old Port Customs House, the hotel is an incredibly stylish place and rooms are beautifully decorated with modernist furniture. It's easily the most chic hotel in Melaka, superbly located next to the Joker street and right next to the river. Having said all that, the establishment is suffering from some teething problems as a new hotel. On eh our book it, it is impossible go contact them via emails for any queries. The front desk is also understaffed and checking in and out can be a hassle. The acoustics are not well treated in the place as we can hear the foot traffic slightly. The bathroom also floods during the shower because they don't have glass partition or shower curtains. Having said all that- we still enjoyed our stay and love the superb location. It is so convenient that we literally walked around the old town and we would certainly return- our only wish is that the hotel management would improve by the time we return.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would probably be quieter. We stayed on the ground floor and could hear footsteps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First of all, booking was relatively easy as i preferred to deal with the hotel direct for most of my trip rather than thru agents/website. Called in to book the room, as it was during peak period and so CC details was required to secure the booking. Do take note u need to place a refundable RM$50 deposit during check-in.

Checked in at 2pm. Was given Room 201 which is a Premium Unit with a balcony and riverview. Room is clean, decent size. Towels, shower caps, iron + ironing board, toothbrush, shampoos is provided. Only downside is that the shower area isnt separated and so when you take a shower, the whole bathroom would be wet. Not much of an issue to me anyway. But those with elderly needs to be careful.

Love the balcony which faces the river, very windy and a pretty nice place to chill out with ur friends or loved ones with a beer at night. The live band opposite at Casa isnt much of a headache(Nt that loud).

Food at Halia Inc next door is decent(Tasty Nasi Lemak set), service is pretty good. Drop by 2 nights for a tea and cake session at night after all the Jonker Street stuff. Breakfast provided is decent. Porridge, nasi lemak, fried beehoon/noodle is quite tasty. They have bread as well.

Location is great. Minutes walk from most tourist location.Parking wise for those who are driving is very limited.

Price wise i find it acceptable(RM$526 for 2 nights, travelled on 12th to 14th Oct).

Room Tip: Like they say, get a premium room on level 2 where u have your own balcony and a great view facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of those places that I'm really torn reviewing. In many ways, it should be a clear "excellent" hotel. However, they still need to get some of the basics right first in order for that to happen. In the meantime, they are starting to be borderline "average".
I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife while traveling through Malaysia this summer. We booked directly through their website, quaysidehotel.com.my, because we couldn't find them on any of the main booking website such as Booking.com. However, we didn't have any problems with contacting them directly. When it comes to the hotel itself, two things struck me as really nice about it - the location and the style. The location is hard to beat. It's on the river and literally just around the corner from the Jonker street and most other sights in Malacca. The facilities themselves are new (around 1 year old), and it has that edgy "warehouse turned boutique hotel" feel that is really refreshing. It really is like the pictures you see online. It is generally clean (more about that later), and the staff was also mostly friendly (also more later). Breakfast was a buffet on the weekend with a lot of variety. However, during the week, when I think less people were staying there, it was only a selection between "Local" or "Western". The later of which consisted of eggs, toast, beans, spinach, etc. and a coffee plus juice. The weekend buffet was better in my opinion.
The disappointing points of this hotel were a bit unexpected and are the following.
1) The deposit: During check-in, the staff at the front desk had a bit of trouble explaining to us that there was a 50 MYR deposit on the room. Be prepared for that. After a bit of discussion, they were finally accommodating enough to let us give it to them the next day after we had been to a bank. Upfront information on this would have been appreciated. Also when you leave, be sure to have the receipt on the deposit ready. Otherwise they won't give you the money back!
2) The shower: There is no curtain or anything to keep the water from splashing around the bathroom or puddling the entire floor. Maybe this is regionally normal or just something specific to this hotel. I am not sure. In any case, I would have preferred a shower that didn't flood the bathroom.
3) The electronic key-card: For some reason, this had to re-coded for us daily. It never seemed to keep the coding for our room for more than one use a day.
4) There's no internet in the business center, so it's not possible to print out something on their computer.
5) And finally, the cleaning crew! This was definitely the most annoying part of our stay. After our first night, we were surprised to see that our room hadn't been made up nor the towels changed. I had purposely left my on the floor because I had seen a spot on it. Not wanting to make a big deal out of it, I chased someone down in the hallway and got us fresh towels. The next day, however, our room was AGAIN not cleaned! This time we talked to one of the managers. He was the nicest and most accommodating persons on site. He apologized and moved us from one of the rooms overlooking the street to a "fresh" room across the lobby with a balcony overlooking the river. This was an appreciated response, and we did enjoy that evening drinking and snacking on the balcony. For future reference, though, the cleaning crew should know to make up each room being occupied - even if there isn't a "Please make up my room" sign on the door.
I had really looked forward to staying at this hotel and would still recommend it to someone else going to Malacca. However, I hope to hear from following reviewers that they have worked out the above mentioned issues so that it can be an overall "excellent" experience for others.

Room Tip: Take a Premium room facing the water - the ones with a balcony. The "Superior" rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Please look for more parking for in house guest.. Need improve? When we call the reservation take long hour to pick up the phone. Food for breakfast need verity...Stayed here for one night on the 14th. The Good: - Excellent location, right next to jonker and along the water. Couldn't get better - Rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraFirdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quayside H, Manager at QuaySide Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi ZaraFirdaus,

First of all, thank you for staying with and reviewing Quayside Hotel and/or our cafe Halia Inc.

The fact you found our location to be excellent and that the rooms couldn't get any better is great to hear!

We have to respectfully disagree that our breakfast has lacks variety. When serving Ala Carte Breakfast, we offer more than 8 choices along with juice/tea/coffee. For our Buffet, there are usually 6-7 hot dishes, breads, cereals, drinks, sweets and fruits. Given the size of the Hotel and the room rate, we think this is very reasonable.

Unfortunately, being a city-centre hotel in a converted Warehouse, our parking is very limited. We are engaged in ongoing negotiations with nearby car parks and hope to improve this aspect of our service soon. We advise people if possible to visit Melaka during non-peak periods when there is ample parking for all (and smaller queues for chicken rice!).

We hope that on reflection you rethink your rating of us and return again soon.

Cheers,
Stuart Dalrymple
Quayside Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 14th. Made the booking direct with the hotel and got an email confirmation saying that its confirmed.

The Good:
- Excellent location, right next to jonker and along the water. Couldn't get better
- Rooms were quite large with a good bed with clean sheets
- Breakfast was very good, although not much variety but good was tasty. ( no juice though)
- Service from Shah was excellent, very good service recovery.
- TV had really good channels, quite a wide selection of cable.

The Bad
- NO parking or rather super limited parking (3 spots for the whole hotel) and I also got a ticket which they said they will help take care off
- Walls were quite thin, and road noice was quite bad (we stayed at the superior as our premium room was overbooked)
- Toilets are very small and bare. (think Genting Toilets)
- No lifts which could potentially be hard for some people.

The Worst
- Their booking system is horrible. Upon check in, told us they were fully booked. Another group of people we met at the lobby were in the same situation (they booked through Agoda). In the end, we had to settle for the superior room, which although was alright, I chose that hotel for the balcony over looking the water. So they need to improve their booking engine desperately.
- Front office service is pretty bad. Except for a few staff. Something needs to get done about this ASAP.


Conclusion:
When you make a booking, make sure that you call and call to re-confirm the booking. Ideally if you are looking for a room with a view, you want a premium room on the 2nd floor. Not sure about the suites.

Hotel has lots of potential.

Room Tip: Chose premium rooms on the 2nd floor. Re-confirm your booking at least once !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulianKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first thing that will come into our mind when walking in this hotel is how luxurious this place is & how little money you paid relatively to stay here! We stayed at Premium room, with balcony, facing fantastic view of the Malacca river. Very modern & stylish. Breakfast spread was good, mixture of western & local cuisine @ Halia Inc Restaurant & Coffee Bar. The reception staff was very helpful & friendly. Great location, near to Jonker Walk, Christ Church just next to it, Hard Rock Cafe etc etc. We will both definitely recommend the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#18 of 166 in Melaka
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#51 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#31 of 166 in Melaka
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QuaySide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QuaySide Hotel

Property: QuaySide Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan Merdeka | Quayside Heritage Centre, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — QuaySide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived at Quayside Hotel. A Customs Warehouse renovation 3-star Boutique Hotel.Located on the banks of Melaka River in the heart of the tourist hub, you're within walking distance to everything you want to see in Melaka. Do you stay and relax, or go exploring? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your QuaySide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing