We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potentially excellent hotel once it's worked out all the kinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of QuaySide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
QuaySide Hotel
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potentially excellent hotel once it's worked out all the kinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is one of those places that I'm really torn reviewing. In many ways, it should be a clear "excellent" hotel. However, they still need to get some of the basics right first in order for that to happen. In the meantime, they are starting to be borderline "average".
I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife while traveling through Malaysia this summer. We booked directly through their website, quaysidehotel.com.my, because we couldn't find them on any of the main booking website such as Booking.com. However, we didn't have any problems with contacting them directly. When it comes to the hotel itself, two things struck me as really nice about it - the location and the style. The location is hard to beat. It's on the river and literally just around the corner from the Jonker street and most other sights in Malacca. The facilities themselves are new (around 1 year old), and it has that edgy "warehouse turned boutique hotel" feel that is really refreshing. It really is like the pictures you see online. It is generally clean (more about that later), and the staff was also mostly friendly (also more later). Breakfast was a buffet on the weekend with a lot of variety. However, during the week, when I think less people were staying there, it was only a selection between "Local" or "Western". The later of which consisted of eggs, toast, beans, spinach, etc. and a coffee plus juice. The weekend buffet was better in my opinion.
The disappointing points of this hotel were a bit unexpected and are the following.
1) The deposit: During check-in, the staff at the front desk had a bit of trouble explaining to us that there was a 50 MYR deposit on the room. Be prepared for that. After a bit of discussion, they were finally accommodating enough to let us give it to them the next day after we had been to a bank. Upfront information on this would have been appreciated. Also when you leave, be sure to have the receipt on the deposit ready. Otherwise they won't give you the money back!
2) The shower: There is no curtain or anything to keep the water from splashing around the bathroom or puddling the entire floor. Maybe this is regionally normal or just something specific to this hotel. I am not sure. In any case, I would have preferred a shower that didn't flood the bathroom.
3) The electronic key-card: For some reason, this had to re-coded for us daily. It never seemed to keep the coding for our room for more than one use a day.
4) There's no internet in the business center, so it's not possible to print out something on their computer.
5) And finally, the cleaning crew! This was definitely the most annoying part of our stay. After our first night, we were surprised to see that our room hadn't been made up nor the towels changed. I had purposely left my on the floor because I had seen a spot on it. Not wanting to make a big deal out of it, I chased someone down in the hallway and got us fresh towels. The next day, however, our room was AGAIN not cleaned! This time we talked to one of the managers. He was the nicest and most accommodating persons on site. He apologized and moved us from one of the rooms overlooking the street to a "fresh" room across the lobby with a balcony overlooking the river. This was an appreciated response, and we did enjoy that evening drinking and snacking on the balcony. For future reference, though, the cleaning crew should know to make up each room being occupied - even if there isn't a "Please make up my room" sign on the door.
I had really looked forward to staying at this hotel and would still recommend it to someone else going to Malacca. However, I hope to hear from following reviewers that they have worked out the above mentioned issues so that it can be an overall "excellent" experience for others.

Room Tip: Take a Premium room facing the water - the ones with a balcony. The "Superior" rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dontri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    90
    45
    27
    24
See reviews for
49
90
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Please look for more parking for in house guest.. Need improve? When we call the reservation take long hour to pick up the phone. Food for breakfast need verity...Stayed here for one night on the 14th. The Good: - Excellent location, right next to jonker and along the water. Couldn't get better - Rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraFirdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quayside H, Manager at QuaySide Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi ZaraFirdaus,

First of all, thank you for staying with and reviewing Quayside Hotel and/or our cafe Halia Inc.

The fact you found our location to be excellent and that the rooms couldn't get any better is great to hear!

We have to respectfully disagree that our breakfast has lacks variety. When serving Ala Carte Breakfast, we offer more than 8 choices along with juice/tea/coffee. For our Buffet, there are usually 6-7 hot dishes, breads, cereals, drinks, sweets and fruits. Given the size of the Hotel and the room rate, we think this is very reasonable.

Unfortunately, being a city-centre hotel in a converted Warehouse, our parking is very limited. We are engaged in ongoing negotiations with nearby car parks and hope to improve this aspect of our service soon. We advise people if possible to visit Melaka during non-peak periods when there is ample parking for all (and smaller queues for chicken rice!).

We hope that on reflection you rethink your rating of us and return again soon.

Cheers,
Stuart Dalrymple
Quayside Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 14th. Made the booking direct with the hotel and got an email confirmation saying that its confirmed.

The Good:
- Excellent location, right next to jonker and along the water. Couldn't get better
- Rooms were quite large with a good bed with clean sheets
- Breakfast was very good, although not much variety but good was tasty. ( no juice though)
- Service from Shah was excellent, very good service recovery.
- TV had really good channels, quite a wide selection of cable.

The Bad
- NO parking or rather super limited parking (3 spots for the whole hotel) and I also got a ticket which they said they will help take care off
- Walls were quite thin, and road noice was quite bad (we stayed at the superior as our premium room was overbooked)
- Toilets are very small and bare. (think Genting Toilets)
- No lifts which could potentially be hard for some people.

The Worst
- Their booking system is horrible. Upon check in, told us they were fully booked. Another group of people we met at the lobby were in the same situation (they booked through Agoda). In the end, we had to settle for the superior room, which although was alright, I chose that hotel for the balcony over looking the water. So they need to improve their booking engine desperately.
- Front office service is pretty bad. Except for a few staff. Something needs to get done about this ASAP.


Conclusion:
When you make a booking, make sure that you call and call to re-confirm the booking. Ideally if you are looking for a room with a view, you want a premium room on the 2nd floor. Not sure about the suites.

Hotel has lots of potential.

Room Tip: Chose premium rooms on the 2nd floor. Re-confirm your booking at least once !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulianKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The first thing that will come into our mind when walking in this hotel is how luxurious this place is & how little money you paid relatively to stay here! We stayed at Premium room, with balcony, facing fantastic view of the Malacca river. Very modern & stylish. Breakfast spread was good, mixture of western & local cuisine @ Halia Inc Restaurant & Coffee Bar. The reception staff was very helpful & friendly. Great location, near to Jonker Walk, Christ Church just next to it, Hard Rock Cafe etc etc. We will both definitely recommend the hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinadeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went for wedding function. Stay for 2 nights.Outstanding staff!! Very helpful and accommodating, esp en.shah.
Room is very clean, deco like european boutique hostel. Good for backpacker n family
Food is nice. Location is fantastic! Centre of tourism spot.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drdto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is still new, thus management wise might still need time to improve. Overall my whole family enjoyed the stay at the hotel. The staff were really friendly and has tried their best in providing their service. Location wise is the best. The balcony with the Melacca river view is unforgettable. The design concept of the hotel and the restaurant is interesting and unique. Beds were clean and pillows comfortable. I like their unique bedside lamp too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank augustpungkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I always fond of a hotel room with a private balcony, facing a magnificent landscape. I got that here at the Quayside Hotel, Melaka. Although the size of the premium room is quite small and a bit pricey comparatively to other premium room of other 4-5-star hotel, it was cozy and really cut the deal since I got a great view of the Melaka river! Services were average but the lobby interior, minimally awesome! A truly designer hotel, over the top! Kudos to the interior designer of this awesome hotel! I was told by the staff, the concept of this hotel is Art gallery-Hotel. Truly unique and artistic! Overall, Quayside Hotel is a young-designer-art gallery hotel that needs to be experienced by all.

Room Tip: Be sure to book for the Premium Room with private balcony facing the Melaka River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adyazman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#44 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#15 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QuaySide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QuaySide Hotel

Property: QuaySide Hotel
Address: 1 Jalan Merdeka | Quayside Heritage Centre, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — QuaySide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived at Quayside Hotel. A Customs Warehouse renovation 3-star Boutique Hotel.Located on the banks of Melaka River in the heart of the tourist hub, you're within walking distance to everything you want to see in Melaka. Do you stay and relax, or go exploring? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your QuaySide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing